Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet

Sunny View Retirement Community

Large community·Licensed for 190·Cupertino, California

Licensed since 2003Licence #435201317
  • Care approvals on fileWheelchair · BedriddenState licensing record · September 27, 2026
  • Estimated starting rate$3,900 a monthCovelight estimate · likely $3,000–$4,950
  • Home sizeLicensed for 190Large care community · a licensed care home (RCFE)
  • Room at the last state visit120 of 190 beds occupiedSeptember 30, 2025 · not a current opening
  • Ways to payAsk the homeMedi-Cal ALW participation not on file
  • Last state visitAugust 12, 2026CDSS inspection record
  • Licence holderFront Porch Communities and ServicesSince 2003 · 15 licensed homes

Sunny View Retirement Community is a large care community in Cupertino — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 190 residents since 2003. Dementia care and hospice care are not on file.

Built from CDSS public records · September 27, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.

Quick answers and the state record

A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.

Quick answers about Sunny View Retirement Community

Is Sunny View Retirement Community licensed?

The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.

How many residents is Sunny View Retirement Community licensed for?

190 residents — a large community, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.

Has Sunny View Retirement Community been cited?

0 Type A and 0 Type B citations since 2003, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. Those records count 15 state visits over the same years.

Is Sunny View Retirement Community still open?

This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.

What does Sunny View Retirement Community cost?

$3,900 a month to start is a Covelight estimate, likely $3,000–$4,950. This home’s own rate is not on file. Ask: “What is the all-in monthly rate, and what would push it higher?”

Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 9 communities with 50 or more beds within 5 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.

Among 33 other homes of a similar licensed size across Santa Clara County that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $4,469 to $6,496 a month, and the middle figure is $5,237 (n = 33 other homes publishing a starting rate).

Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.

A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.

The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.

A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.

Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out.

Does Sunny View Retirement Community take Medi-Cal?

On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.

Who holds the license?

The license is held by Front Porch Communities and Services, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. See the homes licensed to Front Porch Communities and Services — at least 15 on the state roster.

Is there a hospital nearby?

El Camino Health is 3.3 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.

Can Sunny View Retirement Community keep a resident on hospice?

Not on file — the state’s record does not list hospice care on this license. Ask: “Can a resident stay here on hospice, and under what conditions?”

Sunny View Retirement Community license and inspection record

  • Name on the license: “SUNNY VIEW RETIREMENT COMMUNITY”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
  • License #435201317. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • Licensed for 190 residents — a large community, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • Licensed to Front Porch Communities and Services, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • First licensed in 2003, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • 15 state inspection visits since 2003, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • 0 Type A and 0 Type B citations on file since 2003, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. The same records count 15 state visits in that period.
  • 2 complaints and 0 substantiated allegations on file since 2003, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
  • The most recent state visit on file is August 12, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
Type A citationa violation that poses an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights if it is not correctedType B citationa violation that could become a risk if not corrected, or one involving records, resources or required services

California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗

See the state’s own record

Can they support the care needed?

California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.

  • Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved · covers up to 150 residents
  • Dementia / memory careNot on file · ask the home
  • Hospice careNot on file · ask the home
  • BedriddenApproved by the state

State licensing record · September 27, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.

Read the state’s own wording
A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY (CCRC), LICENSED TO SERVE 190 RESIDENTS, AGES 60 AND OVER. CLEARANCE GRANTED FOR 150 NON-AMBULATORY AND 20 BEDRIDDEN, SUBJECT TO TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF WAIVERS FOR DEMENTIA AND HOSPICE CARE FOR 12. CHANGE OF FACILITY NAME EFF. 3/28/16

938 - CONTINUE CARE CONTRACT (CCC)

CDSS record, verbatim · September 27, 2026

As needs change

5 questions to ask the home — nothing on file yet
  • Two-person transfers or a lift

    Not on file

    Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”

  • Someone awake overnight

    Not on file

    Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”

  • Medicines

    Not on file

    Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”

  • Staying through hospice

    Hospice waiver not on file

    Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”

  • If memory loss develops

    Dementia-care designation not on file

    Ask: “If memory loss develops, what would change — and when would a move be needed?”

Care & day-to-day support

These are the home’s own statements about its day-to-day practice — they are not part of the state licensing record, and the state has not approved or reviewed them.

  • Respite / short-term stays

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Help with bathing or showering

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Assistance with transfers

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Medication management

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Therapies availablePhysical therapy

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Diabetic / carbohydrate-controlled diet

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Parkinson's care experience

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Incontinence care

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Help with dressing and grooming

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Building is wheelchair accessible

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Works with residents’ own health care providers

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Diabetes care

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

Nights & staffing

  • 24-hour supervision claimed

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Emergency call system

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

What it costs here

Covelight estimate

$3,900a month to start

Likely $3,000–$4,950

From 9 nearby homes that publish rates · this home’s rate is not on file

Likely monthly total

$3,900a month

Likely $3,000–$5,150

With a studio and basic help.

An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.

See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · how this estimate works
Room
Daily care
Sharing the room

Memory care is not priced here: a dementia-care designation is not on file for this home. Ask the home.

  • Starting monthly rate$3,900likely $3,000–$4,950

    Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 9 communities with 50 or more beds within 5 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.

  • Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600

    Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).

  • One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000

    Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.

Likely monthly totalLikely $3,000–$5,150
$3,900
First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $3,700–$8,250
$5,900
How people payPrivate pay, Medi-Cal waiver, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
  • Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
  • Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
  • SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
  • VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
  • Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
  • MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
If the money runs out, what Medi-Cal covers
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
  • The care level

    Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.

  • What is billed separately

    Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.

  • Move-in costs

    A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.

  • Increases

    California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.

  • What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
  • What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
  • What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
  • Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWithin 25% for 7 in 10 homes in testing

Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 9 communities with 50 or more beds within 5 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.

9 homes like this within 5 miles publish starting rates mostly between $4,150–$8,750.

  • Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
  • Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
  • Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
  • Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
  • We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
  • It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 9 nearby homes behind this estimate

Where it is

  • 22445 Cupertino Road, Cupertino, CA 95014Address from the public record · September 27, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.

Opening the neighborhood map…

The state record

California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.

Since 2022, the state has filed 15 documents for this home, and its records count 15 visits since 2003. The most recent is a facility evaluation report, dated August 12, 2026.

On file since
2022
State visits
15
Most recent visit
August 12, 2026
Occupied · September 30, 2025 visit
120 of 190 bedsa count on that day, not an opening

We hold 2 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated February 20, 2024 to September 30, 2025. 2 of the 2 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Unsubstantiated” (2). 2 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 2 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.

Beside homes the same size

  • Type A citations0typical 0
  • Type B citations0typical 1
  • Substantiated allegations0typical 2
  • Total complaints2typical 6

“Typical” is the statewide median across the 1,354 licensed larger communities (16+ beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 2003.

Year by year
YearVisitsDocumentsSubstantiated20264402025440202434020231102022220

The last 36 months — 12 of 15 documents

20264 state visits · 4 documents
Aug 12, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Other

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Simi Rai conducted an unannounced case management visit to follow up on the case management visit conducted on 04/07/2026 and 05/07/2026. LPA Rai met with Health Services Director, Rubina Banwait and stated the purpose of today's visit. On 04/01/2026, the Department received a report regarding two residents at the facility. Per report, it was reported on behalf of resident R1's family that resident R1 was being abused by resident R2 at the facility. On 04/07/2026, LPA Rai conducted a visit to follow up on the report received on 04/01/2026. LPA Rai interviewed Administrator (ADM) Bradley Burgoyne and Director of Health Services (DHS) Adriana De La O. ADM stated they spoke with resident R1 and R2 and both residents reported there are no concerns of abuse. DHS has checked in with resident R1 multiple times since the incident was reported and resident R1 has not reported any health, safety or personal rights concerns. ADM and DHS stated they will continue to supervise both resident R1 and R2 and ensure the health, safety and personal rights risks are addressed. LPA Rai was not able to interview resident R1 and resident R2. On 05/07/2026, LPA Rai conducted a visit to follow up and LPA Rai was not able to interview R1 & R2 as resident were out of the community and did not want to speak with LPA Rai. During today's visit, LPA Rai interviewed resident R1. R1 stated he/she was safe at the facility and they were not abused by residents or staff at the facility. R1 is aware of their Personal Rights and they are aware they can inform the facility staff if they have any concerns about their safety in the facility. Continuation on LIC 809-C, Page 1 of 2. Page 2 of 2. The Department has completed the investigation of the above incident. The Department has found that the allegation of resident being abused at the facility and staff are not addressing resident's abuse, as UNFOUNDED, meaning that the allegation were false, could not have happened and/or are without a reasonable basis. No deficiencies were cited at this time as per California Code of Regulations, Title 22. This report was reviewed with Health Services Director, Rubina Banwait and a copy of this report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Aug 12, 2026
May 21, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Simi Rai conducted an unannounced Required 1 Year visit. LPA Rai met with Administrator (ADM) Bradley Burgoyne and Director of Health Services (DHS) Adriana De La O and stated the purpose of today's visit. During visit, LPA Rai toured the inside and outside of the facility. When touring the outside area of the facility, the exits were cleared of obstruction. LPA Rai toured the facility kitchen and observed food supply of at least 2 days of perishable food and at least 7 days of nonperishable food. Sharps and medications were locked in secured areas. LPA observed additional food supply areas and secured areas for cleaning supplies and laundry detergents. LPA Rai toured the facility to include but not limited to at random 5 resident rooms, common areas, dining room and kitchen. 5 Out of 5 resident bedrooms had available bedding, drawers, and functioning lights. The resident bathroom had available soap, paper towels, and trash cans with lids. The hot water temperature in the bathroom sinks ranged from 114.2 - 117.8 degrees F. Fire extinguisher was observed and inspected on 03/05/2026. Facility smoke detectors and sprinkler system was inspected by third party vendor on 03/11/2026 & 02/27/2026 and the reports stated the inspection was passed. The last disaster drills were conducted on 04/27/2026 & 03/05/2026. LPA Rai observed a complete first aid kit at the facility. Continuation on LIC 809-C, Page 1 of 2. Page 2 of 2. LPA Rai reviewed facility records for 10 staff and 10 residents. LPA Rai reviewed at random 5 residents' medications and central stored medication records. No deficiencies were cited per California Code of Regulations, Title 22. This report was reviewed with Director of Health Services (DHS) Adriana De La O and a copy of the report was provided. LIC 858 and LIC 859 were provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 21, 2026
May 7, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Incident

Licensing Program Analyst Simi Rai conducted an unannounced case management to follow up on an report submitted by the facility to the Department on 04/01/2026 and visit was conducted on 04/07/2026. LPA met with Administrator (ADM) Bradley Burgoyne explained the purpose of the visit. On 04/01/2026, the Department received a report regarding two residents at the facility. Per report, it was reported on behalf of resident R1's family that resident R1 was being abused by resident R2 at the facility. During today's visit, LPA Rai interviewed Administrator (ADM) Bradley Burgoyne. ADM stated they had a meeting with both Resident R1 & R2 as well as their responsible parties. ADM stated the facility staff will continue to check in with the residents and continue to ensure resident's Personal Rights are not violated. During today's visit, LPA Rai was not able to interview R1 & R2 as resident were out of the community and did not want to speak with LPA Rai. At this time, this case in under review and the Department will conduct a follow up visit, if warranted. No deficiencies were cited during today's case management visit and copy of the report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 7, 2026
Apr 7, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Incident

Licensing Program Analyst Simi Rai conducted an unannounced case management to follow up on an report submitted by the facility to the Department on 04/01/2026. LPA met with Administrator Bradley Burgoyne explained the purpose of the visit. On 04/01/2026, the Department received a report regarding two residents at the facility. Per report, it was reported on behalf of resident R1's family that resident R1 was being abused by resident R2 at the facility. During today's visit, LPA Rai interviewed Administrator (ADM) Bradley Burgoyne and Director of Health Services (DHS) Adriana De La O. ADM stated they spoke with resident R1 and R2 and both residents reported there are no concerns of abuse. DHS has checked in with resident R1 multiple times since the incident was reported and resident R1 has not reported any health, safety or personal rights concerns. ADM and DHS stated they will continue to supervise both resident R1 and R2 and ensure the health, safety and personal rights risks are addressed. During today's visit, LPA Rai obtained the following documents but not limited to R1 & R2's Physician's Report and R1's Appraisal/Needs and Services Plan. At this time, this case in under review and the Department will conduct a follow up visit, if warranted. No deficiencies were cited during today's case management visit and copy of the report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Apr 7, 2026
20254 state visits · 4 documents
Sep 30, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated

Allegation investigated: Facility staff is not addressing resident's right to be free from emotional and sexual abuse.

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Manuel Monter conducted an unannounced visit to conclude the complaint investigation. LPA met with the Director of Health Services Adriana Delao and stated the purpose of today’s visit. On January 3, 2025, the Department received a complaint with the above allegation. On January 7, 2025, the Department conducted an initial investigation at the facility. It was alleged that the facility staff are not addressing resident R1 from receiving emotional and sexual abuse from another resident R2. Page 1 Out of 3. Unsubstantiated On January 7, 2025, the Department interviewed 3 staff (S1-S3). 3 out of 3 staff (S1-S3) stated they have not seen or heard of resident R2 emotionally or sexually abusing resident R1. 3 out of 3 staff (S1-S3) stated the facility staff will observe R1 and R2 in the common areas, such as the front lobby or dining room and they have not seen the residents upset or have concerns about abuse. 3 out of 3 staff (S1-S3) stated R1 is supervised 24 hours/7 days a week with a 1:1 companion in addition to facility staff conducting safety checks. 3 out of 3 staff (S1-S3) stated R1 has not brought up any concerns to facility staff. S2 stated they personally asked R1 if R2 has been emotional and/or sexually abusing the resident and R1 has refused the allegations. LPA Rai interviewed Administrator (ADM) Bradley Burgoyne. ADM stated R1 and R2 are friends and spend time with each other. ADM stated R1 is capable of making his/her own decisions and wants to hand out with R2. ADM stated R1 has a 1 on 1 care giver, so any instances where they come into contact would be supervised. On 8/22/2025, LPA Rai interviewed R1. R1 stated the emotional and sexual abuse allegations are false. R1 stated he/she feels safe in the community. R1 stated staff and residents, including R2, are not emotional or sexually abusing him/her. R1 stated he/she does not know how the allegations are true when R1 is fond of R2 and feels safe with R2. On September 12 and 23, 2025, LPA Monter interviewed residents R1-R8. 5 Out of 8 residents, (R1, R4, R5, R6, R7) stated they haven’t seen or heard residents speaking to each other in a negative or inappropriate way. R2 stated he/she hasn’t heard any inappropriate comments being made to other residents. R2 stated he/she has heard residents making mean comments, like saying “here comes trouble.” R2 stated in response he/she will make a mean comment back, regarding his/her weight. R3 stated R2 will make inappropriate comments to R3, but in response, R3 will make inappropriate comments to R2. R8 stated he/she hasn’t heard any inappropriate comments from residents or resident R2. R8 stated he/she heard that R2 was bossing around R1, but he/she didn’t witness this event. Page 2 Out of 3. 5 Out of 8 residents interviewed, (R1, R4, R5, R6, R7) stated they haven’t seen or heard residents touching other residents in an inappropriate manner. R2 stated he/she doesn’t touch other residents without their consent. R2 stated he/she hasn’t seen other residents who touch others in inappropriate manner. R3 stated he/she hasn’t personally seen R2 put arms around a resident/ touching resident, making them feel uncomfortable. R3 stated he/she has heard about this from other residents. R8 stated in terms of the inappropriateness, R2 will sometimes put his/her arm around you. On September 12 and 23, 2025, LPA Monter interviewed staff S4-S10. 7 Out of 7 Staff interviewed stated they haven’t seen residents speaking or touching other residents in an inappropriate manner. Based on review of R1 and R2’s facility file, there are zero incidents reported regarding R1 and R2 being involved in sexual/emotional/physical abuse. Based on investigation, records reviewed, and interviews conducted, the Department found that the above allegations are UNSUBSTANTIATED. An unsubstantiated finding indicates that although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove that the allegations did or did not occur. No deficiencies cited from California Code of Regulations, Title 22. Exit interview conducted with Director of Health Services Adriana Delao and a copy of the report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 30, 2025 · control 26-AS-20250103091538
Sep 12, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Other

Licensing Program Analyst Manuel Monter conducted an unannounced case management to amend a Complaint investigation, LIC9099 and LIC9099-D issued on August 22, 2025. LPA met with Administrator Bradley Burgoyne explained the purpose of the visit. The complaint investigation closed on August 22, 2025 is being amended and re-opened due to new information provided to the Department. No deficiencies cited during todays visit. This Report was reviewed with Administrator Bradley Burgoyne. A signed copy was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 12, 2025
Jun 6, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Annual Continuation

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Simi Rai conducted an unannounced continuation of the Required 1 Year visit from 5/30/2025. LPA Rai met with Executive Director, Bradley Burgoyne and stated the purpose of today's visit. During visit, LPA Rai toured the inside and outside of the facility. LPA Rai toured the facility kitchen and observed food supply of at least 2 days of perishable food and at least 7 days of nonperishable food. Sharps and medications were locked in secured areas. LPA observed additional food supply areas and secured areas for cleaning supplies and laundry detergents. LPA Rai toured the facility to include 5 resident rooms, dining room, activity room, kitchen and memory care unit. 5 Out of 5 resident bedrooms had available bedding, drawers, and functioning lights. The facility bathroom had available soap, paper towels, and trash cans with lids. The hot water temperature in the bathroom sinks ranged from 111.6 - 113.7 degrees F. LPA Rai observed 1 prescription medication located in the bathroom mirror cabinet wall mounted above the sink in Resident R5's Room. Staff (S1) stated the medication should not be present in R5's room and R5's medications should be locked and inaccessible to resident. Based on review of R1's LIC 602A Physician's Report 3/6/2025, R1 has neurocognitive disorder and R1 is not able to administer own prescription medications, and not able to store own medications. Continuation on LIC 809-C, Page 1 of 2. Page 2 of 2. Facility smoke detectors, sprinkler system and delayed egress doors were inspected by a third party vendor on 10/15/2024. The last disaster drills were conducted on 2/28/2025 and 3/5/2025. LPA Rai reviewed resident medications and central stored medication records. Deficiencies were cited per California Code of Regulations, Title 22, please see LIC 809-D. Failure to correct the cited deficiency(ies), on or before the Plan of Correction (POC) due date, may result in a civil penalty assessment. LPA Rai informed Executive Director, Bradley Burgoyne about the Department’s Technical Support Program (TSP) and provided the website: Community Care Licensing Division (CCLD) website www.cdss.ca.gov. LPA Rai requested an updated LIC 500 to update the information on the current Administrator as Bradley Burgoyne. Executive Director agreed and understood. This report was reviewed with Executive Director, Bradley Burgoyne. A copy of the report was provided. Appeal Rights were provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jun 6, 2025

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type A · Section cited: CCR 87465(h)(2) · Plan of correction due date: Jun 7, 2025

87465 Incidental Medical and Dental Care (h)(2) Centrally stored medicines shall be kept in a safe and locked place that is not accessible to persons other than employees responsible for the supervision of the centrally stored medication. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on observation and record review, Resident R5's prescription medication were accessible to R5 in the bathroom cabinet wherein R5 is not able to store or administer their own medication which poses/posed an immediate Health, Safety, or Personal Rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jun 6, 2025

Plan of correction: Executive Director stated to submit a written plan of action understanding regulation and will ensure in-service training is provided to staff responsible for administrating medication by POC due date. Executive Director agreed and understood.

May 30, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Simi Rai conducted an unannounced Required 1 Year visit. LPA Rai met with Director of Health Services, Adriana De La O and stated the purpose of today's visit. During visit, LPA Rai toured the inside and outside of the facility. When touring the outside area of the facility, the exits were cleared of obstruction. Fire extinguisher was observed and inspected on 03/07/2025. LPA Rai reviewed facility records for 5 staff and 5 residents. LPA Rai will return another day to complete annual inspection. This report was reviewed with Director of Health Services, Adriana De La O and a copy of the report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 30, 2025
20243 state visits · 4 documents
May 24, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Annual Continuation

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Simi Rai arrived unannounced to conduct a continuation of the annual inspection from 5/22/2024 and met with Director of Health Services, Adriana De La O and Administrator Ryan Golze. During today's visit, LPA Rai continued to review 10 resident files and 8 staff files. LPA Rai reviewed at random resident's Centrally Stored Medication Log and centrally stored medications in the Medroom. LPA Rai reviewed Resident #11's medication #1 the number of tablets in the bottle did not match the Central Stored Medication Record. Medication #1 should have 149 tablets in the bottle, LPA and Director of Health Services, Adriana De La O observed 155 tablets, which meant there were 6 extra tablets in the bottle. LPA Rai re-counted the medication with Staff S1 as well and the medication count in the bottle was 155. 87411 Personnel Requirements - General is being cited during today's visit. LPA Rai would like to clarify the facility personnel being in sufficient in numbers is not the concern, however the facility personnel's actions and documentation observed in Medroom are not competent to provide the services necessary to meet the resident's needs. Deficiencies were cited per California Code of Regulations, Title 22, please see LIC 809-D. This report was reviewed with Director of Health Services, Adriana De La O and Administrator Ryan Golze. A copy of the report was provided. Appeal Rights were provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 24, 2024

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type A · Section cited: CCR 87411(a) · Plan of correction due date: May 25, 2024

87411 Personnel Requirements - General (a) Facility personnel shall at all times be sufficient in numbers, and competent to provide the services necessary to meet resident needs. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on record review, interview and observation R11's medication #1 was not administered to R11 which poses an immediate Health, Safety, or Personal Rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 24, 2024

Plan of correction: Administrator stated to submit a written plan on understanding regulations, ensure staff administer medication as prescribed by the physician and schedule in-services training by POC date. Administrator agreed and understood.

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type A · Section cited: CCR87207 · Plan of correction due date: May 25, 2024

87207 False Claims No licensee, officer or employee of a licensee shall make or disseminate any false or misleading statement regarding the facility or any of the services provided by the facility. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on record review, interview and observation, R11's MARs noted medications administered but 6 addititonal tablets were in medication bottle, which poses an immediate Health, Safety, or Personal Rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 24, 2024

Plan of correction: Administrator stated to submit a written plan on understanding regulations, ensure staff administer medication as prescribed by the physician and schedule in-services training by POC date. Administrator agreed and understood.

May 22, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Simi Rai conducted an unannounced Required 1 Year visit and met with Administrator, Ryan Golze and Director of Health Services, Adriana De La O and stated the purpose of today's visit. During visit, LPA Rai toured the inside and outside of the facility. When touring the outside area of the facility, the exits were cleared of obstruction. LPA Rai toured the facility kitchen and observed food supply of at least 2 days of perishable food and at least 7 days of nonperishable food. Sharps and medications were locked in secured areas. LPA observed additional food supply areas and secured areas for cleaning supplies and laundry detergents. LPA Rai randomly toured 10 resident bedrooms. 10 out of 10 resident bedrooms had available bedding, drawers, and functioning lights. The resident bathrooms had available soap, paper towels, and trash cans with lids. The water temperature in the bathroom sinks ranged from 109.6 degrees F - 113.1 degrees F. Fire extinguisher was observed and inspected on 3/5/2024. Facility fire system was inspected by third party vendor on 3/11/2024. Facility fire sprinklers were inspected by third party vendor on 3/7/2024. Facility had 1 carbon monoxide detector next to the gas fireplace and the detector was in working condition. The last disaster drill was conducted on 5/6/2024. LPA Rai will return another day to complete annual inspection. This report was reviewed with Administrator, Ryan Golze and Director of Health Services, Adriana De La O and a copy of the report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 22, 2024
Feb 20, 2024Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated

Allegation investigated: Facility did not ensure resident safety, resulting in resident sustaining an injury.

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Simi Rai conducted an unannounced visit to conclude the complaint investigation. LPA Rai met with LVN Residential Manager, Fidel Manuel and stated the purpose of the visit. On 8/10/2023, the Department received a complaint regarding facility not ensuring resident’s safety which resulting in resident sustaining an injury. On 8/7/2023 at about 6am, resident (R1) was found in the bedroom with half his/her body hanging off of the bed and leaning on his/her right side. R1 was repositioned and per staff, R1 did not complain of pain. Around “lunch time” same day, R1 was sliding towards the edge of his/her wheelchair in the activity room. When staff repositioned R1 on the wheelchair, R1 sustained a skin tear on the right wrist. At that time, R1 complained of leg pain to the staff and facility sent R1 to the hospital around 1:45pm. Continuation on LIC 9099-C, Page 1 of 3. Unsubstantiated Page 2 of 3. On 8/7/2023, from about 2am - 6am, R1 had 2 (two) unwitnessed falls in his/her room, where R1 was found on the floor or sliding off the bed. On 8/14/2023, the Department received an Incident Report dated 8/7/2023, stating at about 6:00am staff observed half of R1’s body hanging off the bed, leaning on the right side. R1 was repositioned in bed and R1 did not have any pain. On 8/21/2023, the Department received an addendum to the Incident Report for 8/7/2023 stating R1 was observed at about 2:00am on the floor next to his/her bed in a sitting position during safety check rounds. Staff did not observe any injury and 2 staff assisted R1 back to bed. Report stated staff did not document the incident and the facility conducted in-service training on 8/19/2023. Based on record review of R1’s file, R1 has a history of falls which have been sustained before and after being admitted to the facility. Based on Physician’s Report dated 6/17/2022, R1’s other conditions were listed as “repeat falls” per physician’s notes. R1’s Services Plan dated 5/10/2023, R1 had a history of 9 falls within the year 2022 and episodes of increased confusion, hallucinations, and weakness. R1 requires daily dress/undressing, bathroom twice a week, routine bathroom assistance, and wheelchair escort. The Services Plan does not address R1’s fall-risk behaviors. Based on interviews conducted on 8/16/2023 with 4 staff (S1-S4), 4 out of 4 staff stated R1 had a history of falls and needed 2 person assistance for Activities of Daily Living (ADL), which included bathing, dressing, and toileting. 4 out of 4 staff stated R1 needs bed rails to help assist with falls. Based on an interview with Resident Services Director (RSD) on 8/17/2023, R1 did not need fall prevention precautions but R1 would benefit from them. Per RSD, R1 used a half-bed rail and R1 is on 2-hour safety checks conducted by staff. After the incident occurred on 8/7/2023, R1 was admitted to the hospital from 8/7/2023 through 8/11/2023. Based on R1’s hospital notes, the reports stated the hospital conducted X-rays of R1's knees and ankles. The impressions of the knee discovered a “comminuted distal femur fracture above the right knee prosthesis. The impression of the ankles were “chronic appearing and severe degenerative changes throughout the ankle. No gross fracture”. Per discussion of the hospital physicians, based R1's advance dementia and prior low level of function, surgery was not appropriate. Based on review of R1’s interdisciplinary Notes, R1’s responsible party updated facility of R1’s condition, stated R1 sustained a fracture in R1’s knee, R1 would not return to his/her normal baseline and R1 would become bed bound. Page 3 of 3. Based on the interviews conducted with clients and staff and based on observation and records review, although the allegations may have happened or are valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove that the above allegations did or did not occur, therefore the allegations are UNSUBSTANTIATED. No deficiencies cited from California Code of Regulations, Title 22. Exit interview conducted with LVN Residential Manager, Fidel Manuel and a copy of the report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Feb 20, 2024 · control 26-AS-20230810125235
Feb 20, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Other

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Simi Rai conducted an case management visit to address information obtained during the complaint investigation 8/10/2023. LPA Rai met with LVN Residential Manager, Fidel Manuel and stated the purpose of the visit. During investigation, it was disclosed that the resident (R1) did not have a physician's order to use bed rails. Resident Service Director (RSD) stated he/she was not aware of the regulation and did not have a physician's order on R1's file for using bed rails. RSD confirmed R1 was not receiving hospice services at the time of using the bed rails. During review of documents obtained during investigation, R1's has a history of falls, but Need and Services Plan did not state how facility will meet R1's fall-risk behavior. Based on review of R1's Appraisal dated 5/10/2023 stated R1 had a 9 episodes of fall in the past year. Based on review of R1's Physician's Report dated 6/17/2022, R1's physician has noted under "Other Conditions" as repeated falls. R1's Service Plan dated 5/10/2023 did mention the history of falls but it did not address R1's needs and how the facility would address this 'Physical/Health" concern. Deficiencies were cited per California Code of Regulations, Title 22, please see LIC 809-D. This report was reviewed with LVN Residential Manager, Fidel Manuel. A copy of the report and Appeal Rights were provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Feb 20, 2024

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87463(a) · Plan of correction due date: Feb 27, 2024

87463 Reappraisals (a) The pre-admission appraisal shall be updated, in writing as frequently as necessary to note significant changes and to keep the appraisal accurate. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on interview and record review, R1's Service Plan did not address R1's history of falls which did not keep the appraisal accurrate which poses/posed a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Feb 20, 2024

Plan of correction: LVN Residential Manager stated facility will submit a written plan of action on updating resident's appraisals accurately and understanding the regulations by POC due date.

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR87608(a)(3) · Plan of correction due date: Feb 27, 2024

87608 Postural Supports (a)(3) A written order from a physician indicating the need for the postural support shall be maintained in the resident’s record. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on interview and record review, R1 did not have a written order from a physician for the bed rail which was in use which poses/posed a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Feb 20, 2024

Plan of correction: LVN Residential Manager stated facility will submit a written plan of action on ensuring written order from a physician is maintained in resident's file who require a bed rail and understanding the regulations by POC due date.

What the state’s words mean
Substantiatedthe state found the allegation more likely true than notUnsubstantiatedthere was not enough evidence to prove a violation occurred — not a finding of wrongdoingUnfoundedthe evidence showed the allegation was false, could not have happened, or had no reasonable basisType A citationa violation that poses an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights if it is not correctedType B citationa violation that could become a risk if not corrected, or one involving records, resources or required services

CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗

An “unsubstantiated” complaint is not a finding of wrongdoing — it means the state investigated and could not confirm the allegation. Outcome words are the state’s own; we never grade, score, or color a record, and we publish no reviews — the state’s dated documents and the questions below stand in their place.

Who holds the licence

Front Porch Communities and Services, licensed since 2003, operates 15 licensed homes in California. Running more than one home is common and is neither good nor bad on its own.

Life here

Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.

Find a detail about life at this home.

Rooms & the spaces they will use

  • Private bathroom

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Outdoor spaceOutdoor common space · Garden · Walking paths

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Rooms come furnished

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Common areasGrill · Cafe · Dining room · Fitness room · Business room · Library · and 5 more

    Grill · Cafe · Dining room · Fitness room · Business room · Library · Arts room · Activity room · Movie theater · Game room · Spa / sauna / wellness room — reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Wifi in resident rooms

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • LaundryDone by staff

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Air conditioning in the room

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Visitor parking

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Cable or satellite TV

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • AmenitiesPiano · Fireplace · Concierge · Move-in coordination

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Kitchenette in the unit

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Housekeeping

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

Meals, preferences & familiar food

  • Dining styleRestaurant style

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Food allergy management

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • All-day or flexible dining

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Meals provided

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Professional chef

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Organic food

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

Activities & the rhythm of a day

  • Activity types offeredMusic programs · Scheduled daily activities · Movie nights · Outdoor programs

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Resident-run activities

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Religious services at the home

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Religious services off site

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

Faith, culture & language

  • Languages spoken by caregiversEnglish · Spanish · Hindi · Mandarin · Tagalog

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

Pets, routines & independence

  • Residents may bring a pet

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Pet types allowedDogs · Cats

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

Visiting & staying involved

  • Support services for families

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

  • Transportation

    Reported on seniorly.com · source dated August 24, 2026.

Before you call

Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.

  1. What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
  2. Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
  3. Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
  4. What could change whether someone can stay here?
  5. Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?

Other homes nearby

The nearest licensed homes in Santa Clara County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.

Explore Santa Clara County