Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet
The Redwoods
Large community·Licensed for 150·Mill Valley, California
- Care approvals on fileWheelchair · Dementia · HospiceState licensing record · September 13, 2026
- Estimated starting rate$5,850 a monthCovelight estimate · likely $4,550–$7,450
- Home sizeLicensed for 150Large care community · a licensed care home (RCFE)
- Room at the last state visit110 of 150 beds occupiedMarch 18, 2025 · not a current opening
- Ways to payAsk the homeMedi-Cal ALW participation not on file
- Last state visitJuly 22, 2026CDSS inspection record
The Redwoods is a large care community in Mill Valley — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 150 residents since 1980. Bedridden care is not on file.
Built from CDSS public records · September 13, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.
Quick answers and the state record
A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.
Quick answers about The Redwoods
Is The Redwoods licensed?
The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
How many residents is The Redwoods licensed for?
150 residents — a large community, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Has The Redwoods been cited?
1 Type A and 0 Type B citation since 1980, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. Those records count 15 state visits over the same years.
Is The Redwoods still open?
This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.
What does The Redwoods cost?
$5,850 a month to start is a Covelight estimate, likely $4,550–$7,450. This home’s own rate is not on file. Ask: “What is the all-in monthly rate, and what would push it higher?”
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 15 communities with 50 or more beds within 10 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
Among 10 other homes of a similar licensed size across Marin County that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $5,600 to $7,370 a month, and the middle figure is $6,571 (n = 10 other homes publishing a starting rate).
Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.
A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.
The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.
A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.
Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
Does The Redwoods take Medi-Cal?
On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
Who holds the license?
The license is held by Community Church Retirement Center, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Is there a hospital nearby?
Marinhealth Medical Center is 3.7 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.
Can The Redwoods keep a resident on hospice?
Hospice care is approved on this license, covering up to 8 residents, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
The Redwoods license and inspection record
- Name on the license: “REDWOODS, THE”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
- License #210102866. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- Licensed for 150 residents — a large community, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- Licensed to Community Church Retirement Center, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- First licensed in 1980, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- 15 state inspection visits since 1980, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- 1 Type A and 0 Type B citation on file since 1980, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. The same records count 15 state visits in that period.
- 3 complaints and 1 substantiated allegation on file since 1980, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
- The most recent state visit on file is July 22, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗
Can they support the care needed?
California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.
- Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved · covers up to 35 residents
- Dementia / memory careApproved by the state
- Hospice careApproved · covers up to 8 residents
- BedriddenNot on file · ask the home
State licensing record · September 13, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.
Read the state’s own wording
35 NON-AMBULATORY. HOSPICE WAIVER FOR 8.
983 - RCFE / DEMENTIA
CDSS record, verbatim · September 13, 2026
As needs change
- Staying through hospice
Hospice waiver on file · covers up to 8 — care may continue at the end of life
Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”
State licensing record · September 13, 2026
- If memory loss develops
Dementia-care designation on file
Ask: “Can we read the dementia care disclosure and discuss how daily support works?”
State licensing record · September 13, 2026
3 more questions to ask the home
- Two-person transfers or a lift
Not on file
Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”
- Someone awake overnight
Not on file
Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”
- Medicines
Not on file
Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”
What it costs here
Covelight estimate
$5,850a month to start
Likely $4,550–$7,450
From 15 nearby homes that publish rates · this home’s rate is not on file
Likely monthly total
$5,850a month
Likely $4,550–$7,600
With a studio and basic help.
An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.
See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · how this estimate works
Starting monthly rate$5,850likely $4,550–$7,450
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 15 communities with 50 or more beds within 10 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600
Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).
One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000
Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.
- Likely monthly totalLikely $4,550–$7,600
- $5,850
- First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $5,450–$10,500
- $7,850
How people payPrivate pay, Medi-Cal waiver, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
- Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
- Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
- SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
- VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
- Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
- MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
- The care level
Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.
- What is billed separately
Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.
- Move-in costs
A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.
- Increases
California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.
- What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
- What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
- What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
- Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWithin 25% for 7 in 10 homes in testing
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 15 communities with 50 or more beds within 10 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
15 homes like this within 10 miles publish starting rates mostly between $5,600–$7,850.
- Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
- Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
- Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
- Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
- We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
- It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 15 nearby homes behind this estimate
- Aegis Living Corte MaderaCorte Madera · 2.2 mi · Large community$6,150Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Windchime of MarinKentfield · 4.6 mi · Large community$7,370Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- AlderslySan Rafael · 5.5 mi · Large community$5,510Listed on A Place for Mom · seen September 9, 2026
- Aegis Living San RafaelSan Rafael · 5.6 mi · Large community$6,992Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Drake TerraceSan Rafael · 7.4 mi · Large community$7,500Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Almavia of San RafaelSan Rafael · 7.4 mi · Large community$5,750Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Heritage on the MarinaSan Francisco · 8.3 mi · Large community$4,525Listed on Seniorly · assisted living studio · seen September 9, 2026
- Sagebrook Senior Living at San FranciscoSan Francisco · 8.9 mi · Large community$7,095Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Rhoda Goldman PlazaSan Francisco · 9.1 mi · Large community$7,200Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Kokoro Assisted LivingSan Francisco · 9.2 mi · Large community$6,559Listed on Seniorly · assisted living studio · seen September 9, 2026
- Ivy Park at Cathedral HillSan Francisco · 9.3 mi · Large community$7,395Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- The Carlisle-Ivy Signature LivingSan Francisco · 9.3 mi · Large community$8,695Listed on A Place for Mom · seen September 9, 2026
- Victorian ManorSan Francisco · 9.5 mi · Large community$6,000Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Coterie Cathedral HillSan Francisco · 9.5 mi · Large community$9,900Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- The Ivy at Golden GateSan Francisco · 9.9 mi · Large community$8,595Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
Where it is
- 40 Camino Alto, Mill Valley, CA 94941Address from the public record · September 13, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.
Opening the neighborhood map…
The state record
California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.
Since 2021, the state has filed 16 documents for this home, and its records count 15 visits since 1980. The most recent is a facility evaluation report, dated September 25, 2025.
- On file since
- 2021
- State visits
- 15
- Most recent visit
- July 22, 2026
- Occupied · March 18, 2025 visit
- 110 of 150 bedsa count on that day, not an opening
We hold 3 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated September 12, 2022 to March 18, 2025. 3 of the 3 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Substantiated” (1), “Unfounded” (1), “Unsubstantiated” (1). 3 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 3 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.
Beside homes the same size
- Type A citations1typical 0
- Type B citations0typical 1
- Substantiated allegations1typical 2
- Total complaints3typical 6
“Typical” is the statewide median across the 1,354 licensed larger communities (16+ beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 1980.
Year by year
The last 36 months — 9 of 16 documents
Sep 25, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Annual Continuation
License Program Analyst (LPA) Shannan Hansen arrived unnanounced at approximately 9:00 AM to complete an annual inspection that started on 9/23/2025. LPA met with Elena Davidenko, COO/ Administrator & Will Orellana, facility director. There is a total of 112 residents. LPA and facility director conducted inspections of 12 residents apartments, retesting bathroom faucets finding hot water temperatures measured between 99.5 degrees F and 130.6 degrees F falling out of Title 22 acceptable regulation of 105 to 120 degrees F in 6 of 12 resident’s bathroom faucets, 3 of which in memory care unit, while touring facility on 9/25/2025 at 9:30 AM (see LIC809D). Although bathroom showers have required grab bars and some have mats and chairs, most showers do not have slip resistant flooring as observed by LPA and facility director. Facility director indicated will work on solution to keep residents safe from harm (see LIC9102TA). A sample review of ten resident & six staff records was conducted. LPA reviewed resident’s files at 10:30 AM on 9/25/2025 and learned that 10 out of 10 residents have an updated reappraisal/needs & care plan on file as well as medical assessments at this time as required by Title 22 Regulation. Medications were centrally stored in a locked medication cart in the facility medication room and in locked medication cart in Memory Care Unit nurses station. Medications and the process were reviewed and inspected. The facility uses electronic medication administration. LPA conducted a sample reviewed of staff records at 11:45 AM on 9/25/2025 and learned that all facility staff and other individuals who require caregiver background checks have received criminal record clearances or exemptions. In addition, Direct care staff have received the additional training requirements as per Title 22 Regulations and H&S Code. Continue on LIC809C Continued from LIC809 LPA was presented with proof of CPR & 1st Aid certification for all staff although staff (S1) did not have proof of 1st Aid (see LIC 809D). Record review also revealed 3 staff (S2, S3, & S4) did not have TB results and S3 & S4 did not have health screening (see LIC809D). Disaster Drills are conducted quarterly with the last one being conducted on 9/10/2025. Facility has full cite emergency generator. Elena Davidenko Administrator Certificate #7008072740 expires on 5/15/2027. Appeal of Rights Given. The following deficiencies were observed (see LIC 809D) and cited from the California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 6 of California Regulation. Failure to correct the deficiency and/or repeat deficiencies within a 12 month period may result in civil penalties. Exit interview conducted and appeal of rights provided. LPA Hansen is requesting Licensee to update the following documents and submit to CCL by 10/17/2025: LIC 308 Designated LIC 309 Administrative Organization LIC 500 Personnel Summary LIC 610 Emergency Disaster Plan (if changes) LIC 9020 Register of Facility Resident’s Copy of Administrator Certificate Copy of Certificate of Liability Insurancethe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 25, 2025
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type A · Section cited: CCR 87303(e)(2) · Plan of correction due date: Sep 26, 2025
87303(e)(2) Maintenance & Operation. Hot water provided for the use of resident shall be maintained between 105 and 120 degrees F. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on observation the facility did not have hot water temperature between 105 &.. .. 120 degrees F in 6 of 12 resident's bathroom faucets ( 3 in memory care at 128 and up) which poses an immediate Health and Safety risk for residents in care. LPA & facility dir. at retesting observed hot water temperature between 99.5 (1) & 120.9 and up in 5 others. degrees F.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 25, 2025
Plan of correction: Facility to ensure hot water temperature is maintainted within regulation - 105 to 120 F. Facility to submit a LIC 9098 self certification that hot water has been adjusted within regulation by POC date 9/26/2025 along with plumbing receipt & begin monitoring for the next 10 days. Administrator/facility director to submit a 10 day log taken from the residnet's bathrooms to CCL by 10/6/2025. ***Faility adjusted hot water during the visit.
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR87411(c) · Plan of correction due date: Oct 3, 2025
87411(C)(1) Personell Requirements, General- All RCFE staff who assist residents with personal activities of daily living shall receive initial and annual training as specified in Health and Safety Code sections 1569.625 and 1569.69. Staff providing care shall receive appropriate training in first aid from persons qualified by such agencies as the American Red Cross. Based on LPA's staff record reviews, staff S1 lack required first aid certification, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above in [1] out of [3], which poses/posed a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 25, 2025
Plan of correction: Licensee/Administrator to ensure staff S1 obtain required first aid certification. Submit proof of first aid certification no later than 10/3/25 to clear citation.
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87411(f) · Plan of correction due date: Oct 3, 2025
87411(f)Personnel Requirements – General All personnel, including the licensee and administrator, shall be in good health, and physically and mentally capable of performing assigned tasks. Good physical health shall be verified by a health screening, including a chest x-ray or an intradermal test, performed by a physician not more than six (6) months prior to or seven (7) days after employment or licensure. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on review of records, Staff S3 & S4 did not have a health screening report, including TB test and results & S2 did not have TB results. the licensee did not comply with the section cited above, which poses/posed a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 25, 2025
Plan of correction: Licensee/administrator to schedueld staff S3 & S4 to obtain a health screening, and including S2 including a TB test, and results. Licensee to submit copies of the documents by POC due 10/3/25 to LPA. If there are complications Licensee to contact LPA.
Sep 23, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
License Program Analyst (LPA) Hansen arrived unannounced to conduct annual inspection visit of the facility. LPA was welcomed by CEO Kyle Ruth-Islas, Administrator Elena Davidenko arrived shortly after. Facility’s fire clearance granted by Southern Marin Fire Department on 6/6/2025 for 150 residents 35 nonambulatory, 12 of which in new memory care unit, also cleared for 2 exterior areas of memory care unit, each with egress doors and Noc Box for fire department. Facility approved for Hospice waiver of 8. There is a total of 112 residents, 13 of which have dementia diagnosis. There are 3 residents currently on Hospice. LPA toured the facility on 9/23/2025 at 10:30 AM with Administrator, CEO and Will Orellana,facility director; facility was found to be clean and at a comfortable temperature with all exits free from obstruction. Fire Extinguishers were found to be last charged on 1/24/2025 at the time of the visit. Facility hallway smoke detectors are hard wired and sound directly to fire station. Smoke detectors, carbon monoxide, and fire sprinklers are inspected, and inspection records are current, with the last being conducted on 8/4/2025. There are emergency lights in many of the fixtures in the common areas of the facility that come on should a power outage occur. Hot water temperature measured between 104.3 degrees F and 124.8 degrees F falling out of Title 22 acceptable regulation of 105 to 120 degrees F in 5 of 12 resident’s faucet bathrooms while touring facility. Although LPA was informed plumber was on site working on water heaters and when reinspected most were in range. Will recheck at return visit. There was a sufficient supply of both perishable and nonperishable foods as required by Title 22 Regulations. Food stored in the kitchen refrigerator were properly stored as per regulations at the time of the visit, covered, labeled, and dated. LPA toured kitchen area and learned that there are provisions made for individuals/residents with special dietary needs. Food is available for residents any time of the day. There is a daily activity schedule for residents. Toxins are stored in locked housekeeping rooms. There was a supply of cleaners, hygiene products and paper products available for residents. Continue on LIC 809-C Continued from LIC809 Bathrooms were equipped with necessary grab bars, and slip-resistant mats, strips, or flooring in all bathtub and shower floors as required by Title 22 regulations. A sample of twelve resident’s bedrooms was conducted, and bedrooms inspected have lighting & appropriate furnishing. LPA initiated a file review of ten resident files and seven personnel files but were unable to complete. LPA was also unable to review medication and will return at a later date to complete annual inspection. No deficiencies cited during today's inspection.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 23, 2025
Jun 25, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Other
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Loera, arrived unannounced to conduct a Case Management and met with Kyle Ruth-Salas, Executive Director. The purpose of the visit is to confirm an Order to Individual for Immediate Exclusion. The Department received an "immediate exclusion" notice on 06/24/2025. Per notice, Staff Member (S1) cannot be allowed to work, be present and/or live in a CCL licensed facility, or have contact with residents in any residential facility or child day care licensed by the California Department of Social Services. Therefore, the Department orders the facility to remove S1 from any contact with residents and not allow this employee to be physically present in the facility. Executive informed LPA that S1 was removed from the facility and from the facility's staff roster on 06/24/2025 after receiving the notice. No Deficiencies Cited during visit. Exit interview conducted. Copy of report and LIC811 (Confidential Names) discussed and provided to Executive Director. Signature on form confirms receipt of documents.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jun 25, 2025
Jun 17, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Health Checks
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Hansen conducted an unannounced Health & Safety case management inspection and met with Kyle Ruth-Islas, Chief Executive Officer (CEO). The purpose of this case management is to conduct a walk through of the newly renovated building and grounds, Memory Care Unit of Building 7, consisting of 12 units, currently approved for 12 residents. There are no residents residing in this building at this moment. At approximately 9am tour of new memory care unit began with CEO & Director of Facilities, Taylor Kelly. LPA observed 12 apartments in this single-story building, having been recently remodeled, with dining/activity rooms, medication room, storage rooms with outdoor patios on each end of the unit. LPA toured 6 apartments which were found to be clean and at a comfortable temperature with all exits free from obstruction. All apartments have enclosed patios. All bedrooms were equipped with lighting/lamp, nightstand, and chest of drawers. Extra hygiene products and linens are available. Water temperature in sinks accessible to residents in care measured at 110.8 to 116.2 degrees F, within Title 22 regulations range of 105 to 120 degrees F. Resident bathrooms had required slip resistant flooring and grab bars. Smoke and carbon monoxide detectors observed to be operational. LPA observed cleaning supplies to be kept in locked laundry room across from nurses’ station, with dedicated staff 24/7. Nurses station also will contain centrally stored medications & med cart. There are pull cords in all bathrooms & next to beds that will announce to the nurses’ station and front lobby desk that is also occupied 24/7. Facility obtained 2 years ago commercial generator to supply entire premises should the power go out. Community Care Licensing (CCL) received STD850 form on 6/6/2025 approving fire clearance by The Southern Marin Fire Department for Building 7 Memory Care unit with egress doors and Noc Box for locked gate. Licensee has requested increase of Non-Am and 10 Bedridden, which is still under review by Fire Department. Facility is granted approval to occupy new memory care unit. No deficiencies cited during today’s inspection.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jun 17, 2025
Mar 18, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Staff are interfering with resident’s medical services.
On 03/18/2025, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Loera conducted an unannounced visit for the purpose of delivering complaint findings. LPA arrived and met with Administrator, Elena Davidenko and Executive DIrector, Kyle Ruth-Salas. During the investigation, LPA reviewed records, conducted interviews with staff and outside parties, and made observations. Compliant alleges, Staff are interfering with resident’s medical services. Based upon department interviews with staff, information provided was contradicting with a lack of corroborating evidence to support the allegation. Individual 1 (I1) was a contracted podiatrist for the facility. The facility decided to go a different route and sign a new contracted podiatrist. Medical services such as podiatrist are provided for all residents upon their request, as facility has a sign-up sheet provided at facilities front desk. continued on LIC9099-C Unsubstantiated Stated in the facilities “Statement of Residents’ Personal Rights” Appendix F section I. Health and Safety Code Section 15669.269 (20) To select their own physicians, pharmacies, privately paid personal assistants, hospice agency, and health care providers, in a manner that is consistent with the resident’s contract of admission or other rules of the facility, and in accordance with this act. LPA was provided information during the investigation that a signed memorandum of understanding (MOU) for podiatry services was signed and residents in the facility may chose who they prefer for services. Although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove the alleged violation(s) did or did not occur, therefore the allegation is unsubstantiated.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 18, 2025 · control 21-AS-20241226115209
Jan 29, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Incident
At approximately 9:45am, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Loera arrived unannounced to conduct a Case Management - Incident Visit and met with Administrator, Elena Davidenko and Executive Director, Kyle Ruth-Salas. The purpose of the visit was to follow up on a self-reported incident that was submitted to Community Care Licensing (CCL) on 12/26/2024. Incident report states on 12/25/2024 Resident 1 (R1) had pressed their emergency pendant in response to a fall to request staff assistance at approximately 2:49am. The security guard monitoring the system did not notify staff on duty of the alert and the call for assistance was not answered in a timely manner. (Deficiency Cited) Administrator conducted an in-service training on response protocols and training on pendant response. Deficiency was cleared during visit. Deficiencies are cited from the California Code of Regulations (CCRs), and/or the Health and Safety Code. Failure to correct the cited deficiency(ies), on or before the Plan of Correction (POC) due date, may result in a civil penalty assessment. Exit interview conducted. Copy of report, LIC809D (Deficiency Page), and Appeal Rights discussed and provided to Administrator.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jan 29, 2025
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87415(a)(5) · Plan of correction due date: Jan 29, 2025
87415 Night Supervision (a) The following persons providing night supervision from l0:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m...shall be available as indicated below to assist in caring for residents in the event of an emergency...(5) In facilities required to have a signal system, at least one night staff person shall be located to enable immediate response to the signal system. This requirement was not met as evidence by: Based on interview and document review, Administrator did not ensure that R1 was assististed in a timely manner.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jan 29, 2025
Plan of correction: Adminstrator conducted an in-service training on response protocols and training on pendant response. Deficiency was cleared during visit.
Sep 20, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
09/20/2024, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Loera conducted an unannounced Annual Required – 1 yr. inspection visit for this facility. Facility has an emergency disaster plan as required. Facility has an infection control plan as required. There are currently 108 residents in care. Facility approved/cleared for 35 non-ambulatory and hospice waiver for 8. At approximately 9:50am, LPA and Administrator toured the building and grounds. The facility was found to be at a comfortable temperature. LPA observed a 2 day supply of perishable and 7 day supply of non-perishable food. Refrigerated food was found to be stored in a safe manner being labeled and dated. LPA observed an emergency food supply. Medications were found to be centrally stored. All rooms were equipped with lighting, night stand, drawers. LPA observed an area of the facility to be under repair for future memory care use and is inaccessible to residents in care. Facility has scheduled activities for residents in care. Facility has residents with special dietary needs that are noted with resident’s names and their needs in the kitchen. Water temperature in sinks accessible to residents in care were measured at 119.4 and 118.4 degrees, within the range of 105 to 120 degrees F. Fire extinguishers were last inspected January, 2024. Smoke detectors, fire sprinklers, and carbon monoxide detectors located throughout the facility were last inspected June 11th, 2024. Toxins are stored in a locked housekeeping room. There was a supply of cleaners, hygiene products and paper products available for residents. LPA conducted spot medication count and found all prescription medication to be properly recorded on the Centrally Stored Medication Record. At approximately 11:20 am, LPA conducted review of eight staff records/training. Upon a review of staff records, LPA found all staff to have required annual and initial training as well as current 1st Aid & CPR certification on file. continued on LIC809-C At approximately 12:00 pm, LPA conducted a review of 8 resident records. All records had the required documentation. No deficiencies cited during today's inspection. Updated copies of the following documents were requested for facility file and are to be submitted to CCL within 30 days of this visit: LIC500- Personnel Report LIC308- Designation of Responsibility LIC610- Emergency Disaster Plan LIC9020- Register of Facility Client’s/Resident’s Copy of Certificate of Liability Insurance Exit interview conducted with Administrator and a copy of this report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 20, 2024
Jul 25, 2024Complaint investigation reportUnfounded
Allegation investigated: Facility staff is not allowing authorized representative to view resident's medical records
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Helena Rummonds arrived unannounced at approximately 9:30AM to deliver findings regarding the above allegation. LPA met with Administrator, Kyle Ruth-Islas. LPA and Administrator discussed the purpose of the visit. Throughout the course of the investigation, LPA conducted interviews and reviewed documents. Complaint alleges that facility staff are not allowing authorized representative to view resident's medical records. Based on documents reviewed, Resident 1 (R1) designated a specific individual as their Power of Attorney (POA), Health Care Agent, Trustee, and Executor of Will. Review of documents revealed that R1 and POA gave instructions to facility not to give out medical or personal information to an outside party, who was not authorized to view the documents they requested. Continued on LIC9099 Unfounded Continued from LIC9099 Based on review of documents and interviews conducted these allegations are UNFOUNDED. A finding that the complaint is UNFOUNDED means that the allegation is false, could not have happened, and/or is without a reasonable basis. Exit interview conducted. Copy of report discussed and provided to Administrator. Signature on form confirms receipt of documents.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jul 25, 2024 · control 21-AS-20240705102809
Jan 18, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Incident
At approximately 12:45PM Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Helena Rummonds arrived unannounced to conduct a case management inspection on an Incident Report that was received by Community Care Licensing (CCL) on 01/08/2024. LPA met with Administrator, Kyle Ruth-Islas, and discussed the purpose of the visit. Incident report states that Resident 1 (R1) has experienced multiple thefts that were not reported until 01/05/2024. Item #1 is a cashmere sweater valued at $600 that went missing in September of 2023. On December 29, 2023, R1 returned to their apartment and found their dresser drawers open and holiday trinkets were missing from open drawers. Items were not reported missing until 01/05/2024. On 1/05/2024, R1 and their family member was interviewed about the incident. R1's apartment was searched. Facility conducted an internal investigation with no findings. Facility contacted law enforcement to file a report. Facility has yet to review security footage. Administrator agreed to update LPA on any new information that is found when reviewing security footage. R1 has not reported any thefts since the incident. LPA requested R1's Physicians Report, which showed no diagnosis of Dementia or Mild Cognitive Impairment. LPA requested facilities internal investigation report. No deficiencies cited during inspection.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jan 18, 2024
What the state’s words mean
CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗
Life here
Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.
The home has not described daily life anywhere we have reviewed yet — that is the case for most small homes, and it says nothing about the home. These questions fill in the picture; keep the ones that matter to you.
Before you call
Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.
- What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
- Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
- Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
- What could change whether someone can stay here?
- Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?
Other homes nearby
The nearest licensed homes in Marin County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.
Marin Terrace
Mill Valley · Mid-size home · 0.7 mi away
$6,500 a month to start · Listed by the home
Aegis Living Corte Madera
Corte Madera · Large community · 2.2 mi away
$6,150 a month to start · Listed by the home
A Loving Touch Care Home II
Corte Madera · Small home · 2.6 mi away
$5,450 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Tamalpais
Greenbrae · Large community · 3.6 mi away
$5,150 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Windchime of Marin
Kentfield · Large community · 4.6 mi away
$7,370 a month to start · Listed by the home
Saint Michael's Extended Care
San Rafael · Mid-size home · 5.4 mi away
$5,300 a month to start · Covelight estimate