Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet

Rosewood Retirement Community

Large community·Licensed for 220·Bakersfield, California

Licensed since 1974Licence #150400536
  • Care approvals on fileWheelchair · HospiceState licensing record · September 13, 2026
  • Starting rate$2,613 a monthListed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026
  • Home sizeLicensed for 220Large care community · a licensed care home (RCFE)
  • Room at the last state visit154 of 220 beds occupiedJanuary 28, 2026 · not a current opening
  • Ways to payAsk the homeMedi-Cal ALW participation not on file
  • Last state visitApril 3, 2026CDSS inspection record
  • Licence holderHumangood & Humangood NorcalSince 1974 · 6 licensed homes

Rosewood Retirement Community is a large care community in Bakersfield — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 220 residents since 1974. Dementia care and bedridden care are not on file.

Built from CDSS public records · September 13, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.

Quick answers and the state record

A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.

Quick answers about Rosewood Retirement Community

Is Rosewood Retirement Community licensed?

The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.

How many residents is Rosewood Retirement Community licensed for?

220 residents — a large community, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.

Has Rosewood Retirement Community been cited?

2 Type A and 3 Type B citations since 1974, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. Those records count 20 state visits over the same years.

Is Rosewood Retirement Community still open?

This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.

What does Rosewood Retirement Community cost?

$2,613 a month to start — listed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026.

The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living studio, seen September 9, 2026.

Among 7 other homes of a similar licensed size in Bakersfield that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $3,400 to $4,620 a month, and the middle figure is $4,169 (n = 7 other homes publishing a starting rate).

Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.

A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.

The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.

A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.

Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out.

Does Rosewood Retirement Community take Medi-Cal?

On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.

Who holds the license?

The license is held by Humangood & Humangood Norcal, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. See the homes licensed to Humangood & Humangood Norcal — at least 6 on the state roster.

Is there a hospital nearby?

Encompass Health Rehabilitation Hospital of Bakersfield is 1.7 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.

Can Rosewood Retirement Community keep a resident on hospice?

Hospice care is approved on this license, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.

Rosewood Retirement Community license and inspection record

  • Name on the license: “ROSEWOOD RETIREMENT COMMUNITY”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
  • License #150400536. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • Licensed for 220 residents — a large community, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • Licensed to Humangood & Humangood Norcal, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • First licensed in 1974, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • 20 state inspection visits since 1974, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • 2 Type A and 3 Type B citations on file since 1974, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. The same records count 20 state visits in that period.
  • 7 complaints and 6 substantiated allegations on file since 1974, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
  • The most recent state visit on file is April 3, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Type A citationa violation that poses an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights if it is not correctedType B citationa violation that could become a risk if not corrected, or one involving records, resources or required services

California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗

See the state’s own record

Can they support the care needed?

California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.

  • Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved by the state
  • Dementia / memory careNot on file · ask the home
  • Hospice careApproved by the state
  • BedriddenNot on file · ask the home

State licensing record · September 13, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.

Read the state’s own wording
220 RESIDENTS AGE RANGE 60 AND OVER. 50 MAY BE NON-AMBULATORY. HOSPICE WAIVER GRANTED FOR 10.

938 - CONTINUE CARE CONTRACT (CCC)

CDSS record, verbatim · September 13, 2026

As needs change

  • Medicines

    Level of medication service: reminders only

    Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”

    caring.com · 2026-09-09

  • Staying through hospice

    Hospice waiver on file — care may continue at the end of life

    Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”

    State licensing record · September 13, 2026

3 more questions to ask the home
  • Two-person transfers or a lift

    Not on file

    Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”

  • Someone awake overnight

    Not on file

    Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”

  • If memory loss develops

    Dementia-care designation not on file

    Ask: “If memory loss develops, what would change — and when would a move be needed?”

Care & day-to-day support

These are the home’s own statements about its day-to-day practice — they are not part of the state licensing record, and the state has not approved or reviewed them.

  • Respite / short-term stays

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Level of medication serviceReminders only

    Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Diabetes care

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Incontinence care

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Works with hospice

    Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Medication management

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Nights & staffing

  • Nurse coverageNurse on Staff (Part time)

    Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.

What it costs here

This home’s starting rate

$2,613a month to start

Listed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026 · See listing

Likely monthly total

$2,613a month

Likely $2,613–$3,213

With a studio and basic help.

An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.

See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · where the price comes from
Room
Daily care
Sharing the room

Memory care is not priced here: a dementia-care designation is not on file for this home. Ask the home.

  • Starting monthly rate$2,613this home

    The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living studio, seen September 9, 2026.

  • Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600

    Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).

  • One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000

    Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.

Likely monthly totalLikely $2,613–$3,213
$2,613
First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $2,613–$6,750
$4,613
How people payPrivate pay, Medi-Cal waiver, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
  • Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
  • Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
  • SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
  • VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
  • Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
  • MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
If the money runs out, what Medi-Cal covers
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
  • The care level

    Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.

  • What is billed separately

    Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.

  • Move-in costs

    A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.

  • Increases

    California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.

  • What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
  • What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
  • What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
  • Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWhere this price comes from

The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living studio, seen September 9, 2026.

  • Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
  • Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
  • Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
  • Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
  • We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
  • It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 7 nearby homes that publish a rate

Where it is

  • 1301 New Stine Road, Bakersfield, CA 93309Address from the public record · September 13, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.

Opening the neighborhood map…

The state record

California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.

Since 2021, the state has filed 17 documents for this home, and its records count 20 visits since 1974. The most recent is a facility evaluation report, dated April 3, 2026.

On file since
2021
State visits
20
Most recent visit
April 3, 2026
Occupied · January 28, 2026 visit
154 of 220 bedsa count on that day, not an opening

We hold 5 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated October 18, 2021 to March 25, 2026. 5 of the 5 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Substantiated” (2), “Unfounded” (2), “Unsubstantiated” (1). 5 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 5 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.

Beside homes the same size

  • Type A citations2typical 0
  • Type B citations3typical 1
  • Substantiated allegations6typical 2
  • Total complaints7typical 6

“Typical” is the statewide median across the 1,354 licensed larger communities (16+ beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 1974.

Year by year
YearVisitsDocumentsSubstantiated202634020252202024110202333020222202021352

The last 36 months — 8 of 17 documents

20263 state visits · 4 documents
Apr 3, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analysts (LPAs) J. Duarte and M. Vega, arrived unannounced to conduct the Annual Inspection. LPAs met with and explained the reason for the visit with Administrator (AD) Rochelle Balaban. During this visit, LPAs toured the facility inside & out. Resident rooms and common areas were clean, in good repair and contained required equipment, furnishings and lighting. LPAs observed required items in bathrooms (including shower mats & grab bars) which were clean. The hot water measured between 105 and 114 degrees F. The kitchen was observed to be clean, in good repair, with necessary items and appliances. LPAs observed a two-day supply of perishable and a seven-day supply of nonperishable food, emergency food, water, and paper products. Refrigerator, freezers, prep stations and appliances were clean and organized with food properly stored and labeled. Medications are centrally stored in locked medication carts on each floor. Doors and passageways are unobstructed throughout the facility including outdoors. LPAs toured the outdoors to find the grounds well-kept with clear walkways, and seating available. The in ground pool was gated and locked as required. Fire extinguishers were serviced on 11/05/2025. Bakersfield Fire Department conducted fire safety, sprinkler system on 03/05/2026. A fire drill was conducted on 03/29/26, per staff records. Continued on LIC809-C Continued from LIC809. LPAs conducted resident and staff file reviews as well as a medication audit. Emergency/ Disaster and Infection Control procedures and requirements were reviewed during the inspection. LPAs observed eight out of 20 staff files reviewed had expired CPR/First Aid. The centrally stored log for R1 and R2 did not have a start date for some medications. Deficiencies were cited. See LIC 809-D. An exit interview was conducted and Plan of Correction (POC) developed. A signed copy of this report and Appeal Rights were provided. Community Care Licensing (CCL) is always striving to have facility files that reflect the most accurate & up to date information for your facility. In an effort to maintain your facility file, please submit the most current & complete forms &/or information as identified below: Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE): · LIC 308 Designation of Facility Responsibility · -as applicable: LIC 309 Administrative Organization · -as applicable: LIC 400 Affidavit Regarding Client/Resident Cash Resources · -as applicable: LIC 402 Surety Bond · LIC 500 Personnel Report · LIC 610E Emergency Disaster Plan For Residential Care Facilities For The Elderly · LIC 9020 Register of Facility Clients/Residents · Copy of current Liability Insurance · Copy of current Administrator Certificate · Alternate contact information including name, telephone number, & email address. Please submit the above forms/information to Fresno CCL by: 04/10/26the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Apr 3, 2026
Mar 25, 2026Complaint investigation reportUnfounded

Allegation investigated: Staff keep inappropriately sending resident to the emergency department Staff are not providing a safe environment for resident

On 03/25/2026, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) J. Duarte arrived unannounced to commence a complaint investigation. LPA introduced self, stated the purpose of the visit and met with Administrator Rochelle Balaban. Based on interviews and records review the resident in the complaint does not reside at this facility. This agency investigated the complaint alleging; staff keep inappropriately sending resident to the emergency department and staff are not providing a safe environment for resident, found that the complaint was UNFOUNDED, which means it could not have happened, and/or, it is without a reasonable basis; therefore, we have dismissed the complaint. An exit interview was conducted. A copy of this report was provided to Administrator Rochelle Balaban, whose signature confirms receipt of this document. Unfoundedthe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 25, 2026 · control 24-AS-20260323093918
Jan 28, 2026Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated

Allegation investigated: Staff do not maintain facility in good repair.

On 01/28/2026, an unannounced Complaint visit was conducted by Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) J. Duarte. LPA was met at the front by receptionist. LPA introduced self and stated purpose of visit.The receptionist contacted Administrator Rochelle Balaban and she arrived shortly after. During the visit, LPA conducted interviews, obtained records, and conducted a tour of the facility. Based on records review, observations, and interviews, the facility has an elevator that has been out of service since 11/25/25. The facility has contacted the elevator service provider they are contactracted with and the facility is waiting for the elevator service provider to obtain a part for the elevator to complete repairs needed. The facility has second elevator that was observed to be functioning and available for use. Although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove the alleged violation did or did not occur, therefore the allegation is unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted, and a copy of the report was provided to Administrator Rochelle Balaban. Unsubstantiatedthe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jan 28, 2026 · control 24-AS-20260127111350
Jan 28, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Deficiencies

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) J. Duarte arrived at the facility unannounced to conduct a complaint investigation. During the course of the investigation, LPA observed a deficiency. LPA conducted a Case Management to address the deficiency. LPA met with Administrator Rochelle Balaban. During the course of the investigation of complaint 24-AS-20260127111350, LPA interviewed staff and reviewed documentation. Documentation and interviews revealed following incidents were not reported to CCLD: On 11/07/2025, a resident was trapped in an elevator due to a power outage, on 11/11/25, the elevator was stuck between the third and fourth floor, and on 11/25/25, three residents were stuck in the elevator. Administrator stated that these incidents were not reported to CCLD due to no injury or need for further evaluation or medical care. A deficiency is being cited, please see attached LIC 809D. A copy of this report and appeal rights was provided to Administrator.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jan 28, 2026

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87211(a)(1)(D) · Plan of correction due date: Feb 4, 2026

87211 Reporting Requirements (a) Each licensee shall furnish to the licensing agency such reports as the Department may require, including, but not limited to, the following: (1) A written report shall be submitted to the licensing agency and to the person responsible for the resident within seven days of the occurrence of any of the events specified in (A) through (D) below. This report shall include the resident's name, age, sex and date of admission; date and nature of event; attending physician's name, findings, and treatment, if any; and disposition of the case. (D) Any incident which threatens the welfare, safety or health of any resident, such as psychological abuse of a resident by staff or other residents, or unexplained absence of any resident. Based on record review, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above which poses/posed a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care. Documentation and interviews revealed following incidents were not reported to CCLD: On 11/07/2025, resident trapped; elevators down due to outage, on 11/11/25, the elevator was stuck between the third and fourth floor, and on 11/25/25, three residents were stuck in the elevator.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jan 28, 2026

Plan of correction: Licensee agrees to review regulation 87211 Reporting Requirements to ensure compliance and submit incident reports. Licensee agrees to review the regulation with the team and provide documenation of topic discuseed and participants in training to CCLD by POC due date of 02/4/26

20252 state visits · 2 documents
May 29, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnfounded

Allegation investigated: Staff handled resident in a rough manner causing injury. Staff are not positioning resident in their bed according to physician's instructions.

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) J. Duarte and Shawna Doucette arrived at the facility unnounced to conduct a 10-day complaint investigation. LPAs met with administrator (AD) Rochelle Balaban. LPAs interviewed AD. LPAs reviewed and obtained copies of residents roster for assisted living and skilled nursing. Based on interviews and records review, R1 has never resided in the facility. This agency has investigated the complaint alleging; staff handled resident in a rough manner causing injury and that staff are not positioning resident in their bed according to physician's instructions, found that the complaint was UNFOUNDED, which means it could not have happened, and/or, it without a reasonable basis; therefore, we have dismissed the complaint. An exit interview was conducted with AD, and a copy of this report was provided. Unfoundedthe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 29, 2025 · control 24-AS-20250521123231
Mar 25, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analysts (LPAs) Katie Brown and Jimmy Duarte arrived unannounced to conduct the Annual Inspection. LPAs met with and explained the reason for the visit with Administrator (AD) Rochelle Balaban During this visit, LPAs toured the facility inside & out. Resident rooms and common areas were clean, in good repair and contained required equipment, furnishings and lighting. LPAs observed required items in bathrooms (including shower mats & grab bars) which were clean with hot water measuring between 105 and 108 degrees. LPAs observed hygiene items, paper products, towels, extra bedding, and linens which were stored and available for use. The kitchen was found to be clean, in good repair with necessary items and appliances. LPAs observed required food supply, emergency food, water, and paper products. Medications are centrally stored in locked medication carts on each floor. Doors and passageways are unobstructed throughout the facility including outdoors. First aid kits contained required items. LPAs walked the outdoors to find the grounds well-kept with clear walkways with sitting areas. The in ground pool was gated and locked as required. Fire extinguishers were charged and serviced on 3/5/25 by Independent Fire Co. Bakersfield Fire Department conducted fire safety, sprinkler system and boiler system inspection 1/25/25. LPAs conducted resident and staff file reviews as well as a medication audit. Emergency/ Disaster and Infection Control procedures and requirements were reviewed during the inspection. Deficiencies are being cited in accordance with California Code of Regulations on the attached LIC 809-D in the areas of: Hospice Care for Terminally Ill Residents, Incidental Medical and Dental Care, Oxygen Administration and Storage Space and Access - See LIC809C for continuation of this report Annual continuation: An exit interview was conducted and Plan of Correction (POC) developed. A signed copy of this report and Appeal Rights were provided. LPA requested the following updated forms faxed to CCLD by 4/15/25: Designation of Facility Responsibility (Lic308), Administrative Organization (Lic309), Personnel Report (LIC 500), Client Roster (LIC 9020) and Proof of current Liability Coverage.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 25, 2025
20241 state visit · 1 document
Mar 27, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Darius Williams conducted an unannounced Annual Inspection visit. LPA Williams met with Director Assisted Living Cille Caldwel, Nurse Manager, Jesse Hernandez, and Administrator Rochelle Balaban, and discussed the purpose of the visit. The facility is a nine story building; Assisted living on floors 2 and 3 and the rest of the floors are independent living. Each floor has two wings with a lobby separating them in the middle Tour began on the first floor. There is a library and meeting room that is used for activities and family visits. The main dining hall has seating to accommodate residents. LPA toured the kitchen where all food prep is completed. According to the Dining Director they receive two shipments of food a week through a contracted service. LPA observed active food prepping being completed and kitchen staff wearing personal protective equipment. There was a variety of perishable and non perishable food for the residents consumption. LPA observed a large walk in industrial refrigerator and freezer stocked with food. Additionally, LPA observed an emergency three day food supply. The Asssited Living floors, 2 and 3 were clean and in good repair. LPA toured 2 rooms and spoke with 2 residents who reported loving their living situation. The rooms were clean, good repair, and free of odor. Rooms had bed (with all required linens), dresser, night stand, working lights, chair, and other personalized items and furniture from the residents. Bathrooms are located in each room. Bathrooms were observed to be clean, good repair, and have grab bars and non slip mats. *Continued on LIC 809C* The 3rd floor housed another small dining room which has food catered from the kitchen on the 1st floor. The 4th through 9th floor are independent living and were all clean and in good repair. Thermostat temperature on the 8th and 9th floor Lounge room reflected 73 degrees Fahrenheit and each resident room has an individual thermostat. The memory care unit is on the 2nd floor. LPA observed 8 residents sitting at a table engaging in various activities. Each room had a personalized shadow box designed by the residents. The bathroom and kitchen were clean and in good repair. An activities calendar is available on each floor. There are two large activity rooms on facility grounds. LPA observed residents actively engaged in a yoga class. Pool on the premises had a locked gate. Chemicals, sharps, and medications were locked and inaccessible to residents. Smoke detectors, carbon monoxide detector, and fire extinguishers were present and operational. Due to insufficient time the LPA will have to return at a later date for an CONTINUATION ANNUAL INSPECTION. No deficiencies were cited during this visit. An exit interview was conducted and a copy of this report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 27, 2024
20231 state visit · 1 document
Sep 28, 2023Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Incident

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Darius Williams conducted an Case Management in response to two Incident Reports submitted by the faciity. LPA Williams met with Wellness Supervisor, Jesus Hernandez III and Administrator, Rochelle Balaban. Resident 1 resides in Independent Living and Resident 2 resides in the memory care unit. LPA Williams reviewed resident records. Based of discussion Administrator and Wellness Director reported they will be conducting an updated fall risk assessment on R1 and R2. No deficiency cited during the visit. An exit interview was conducted and a copy of this report will be provided via e-mail.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 28, 2023
What the state’s words mean
Substantiatedthe state found the allegation more likely true than notUnsubstantiatedthere was not enough evidence to prove a violation occurred — not a finding of wrongdoingUnfoundedthe evidence showed the allegation was false, could not have happened, or had no reasonable basisType A citationa violation that poses an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights if it is not correctedType B citationa violation that could become a risk if not corrected, or one involving records, resources or required services

CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗

An “unsubstantiated” complaint is not a finding of wrongdoing — it means the state investigated and could not confirm the allegation. Outcome words are the state’s own; we never grade, score, or color a record, and we publish no reviews — the state’s dated documents and the questions below stand in their place.

Who holds the licence

Humangood & Humangood Norcal, licensed since 1974, operates 6 licensed homes in California. Running more than one home is common and is neither good nor bad on its own.

Life here

Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.

Find a detail about life at this home.

Rooms & the spaces they will use

  • Room typesStudio · 1 Bedroom

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Outdoor spaceGarden

    Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Wifi

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Air conditioning in the room

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • LaundryDone by staff

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Kitchenette in the unit

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Visitor parking

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Ground-floor units

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • AmenitiesSpecial Dining Programs · Billiards Lounge · Swimming Pool · Jacuzzi · Fitness Center · Piano or Organ · and 1 more

    Special Dining Programs · Billiards Lounge · Swimming Pool · Jacuzzi · Fitness Center · Piano or Organ · Beautician — reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Housekeeping

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Salon or barber

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Meals, preferences & familiar food

  • Dining styleRestaurant style

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Vegetarian or vegan optionsVegetarian · Vegan

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Meals are cooked in the home's own kitchen

    Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Kosher foodKosher style

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Family may eat with the resident

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Meals provided

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Professional chef

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Residents can cook in their own unit

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Activities & the rhythm of a day

  • Trips outside the home

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Religious services at the home

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Religious services off site

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Faith, culture & language

  • Clergy or chaplain visits

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Languages spoken by caregiversFilipino · Spanish · English

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Pets, routines & independence

  • Residents may bring a pet

    Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Pet types allowedDogs · Cats

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Pet weight limit

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Visiting & staying involved

  • Transport for shopping and errands

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Public transit access claimed

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Transport for group outings

    Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Before you call

Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.

  1. What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
  2. Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
  3. Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
  4. What could change whether someone can stay here?
  5. Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?

Other homes nearby

The nearest licensed homes in Kern County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.

Explore Kern County