Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet
Casa De Castro II
Small home·Licensed for 6·San Diego, California
- Care approvals on fileWheelchair · DementiaState licensing record · September 27, 2026
- Estimated starting rate$3,950 a monthCovelight estimate · likely $3,250–$4,900
- Home sizeLicensed for 6Small care home · a licensed care home (RCFE)
- Room at the last state visit6 of 6 beds occupiedOctober 2, 2024 · not a current opening
- Ways to payAsk the homeMedi-Cal ALW participation not on file
- Last state visitApril 28, 2026CDSS inspection record
- Licence holderCheryl Montemayor CastroSince 2000 · 2 licensed homes
Casa De Castro II is a small care home in San Diego — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 6 residents since 2000. Hospice care and bedridden care are not on file.
Built from CDSS public records · September 27, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.
Quick answers and the state record
A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.
Quick answers about Casa De Castro II
Is Casa De Castro II licensed?
The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
How many residents is Casa De Castro II licensed for?
6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
Has Casa De Castro II been cited?
0 Type A and 0 Type B citations since 2000, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. Those records count 9 state visits over the same years.
Is Casa De Castro II still open?
This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.
What does Casa De Castro II cost?
$3,950 a month to start is a Covelight estimate, likely $3,250–$4,900. This home’s own rate is not on file. Ask: “What is the all-in monthly rate, and what would push it higher?”
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 10 small homes within 3 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
Among 49 other homes of a similar licensed size in San Diego that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $3,950 to $6,000 a month, and the middle figure is $5,000 (n = 49 other homes publishing a starting rate).
Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.
A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.
The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.
A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.
Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
Does Casa De Castro II take Medi-Cal?
On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
Who holds the license?
The license is held by Cheryl Montemayor Castro, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. See the homes licensed to Cheryl Montemayor Castro — at least 2 on the state roster.
Is there a hospital nearby?
Paradise Valley Hospital is 3.3 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.
Can Casa De Castro II keep a resident on hospice?
Not on file — the state’s record does not list hospice care on this license. Ask: “Can a resident stay here on hospice, and under what conditions?”
Casa De Castro II license and inspection record
- Name on the license: “CASA DE CASTRO II”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
- License #374600980. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- Licensed for 6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- Licensed to Cheryl Montemayor Castro, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- First licensed in 2000, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- 9 state inspection visits since 2000, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- 0 Type A and 0 Type B citations on file since 2000, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. The same records count 9 state visits in that period.
- 4 complaints and 0 substantiated allegations on file since 2000, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
- The most recent state visit on file is April 28, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗
Can they support the care needed?
California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.
- Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved by the state
- Dementia / memory careApproved by the state
- Hospice careNot on file · ask the home
- BedriddenNot on file · ask the home
State licensing record · September 27, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.
Read the state’s own wording
FACILITY SERVES SIX (6) ELDERLY RESIDENTS AGES 60 YEARS AND ABOVE, ALLOF WHOM MAY BE NON-AMBULATORY. FACILITY HAS DEMENTIA WAIVER.
935 - ELDERLY
CDSS record, verbatim · September 27, 2026
As needs change
- If memory loss develops
Dementia-care designation on file
Ask: “Can we read the dementia care disclosure and discuss how daily support works?”
State licensing record · September 27, 2026
4 more questions to ask the home
- Two-person transfers or a lift
Not on file
Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”
- Someone awake overnight
Not on file
Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”
- Medicines
Not on file
Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”
- Staying through hospice
Hospice waiver not on file
Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”
What it costs here
Covelight estimate
$3,950a month to start
Likely $3,250–$4,900
From 10 nearby homes that publish rates · this home’s rate is not on file
Likely monthly total
$3,950a month
Likely $3,250–$5,100
With a shared room and basic help.
An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.
See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · how this estimate works
Starting monthly rate$3,950likely $3,250–$4,900
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 10 small homes within 3 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600
Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).
One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000
Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.
- Likely monthly totalLikely $3,250–$5,100
- $3,950
- First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $3,800–$8,250
- $5,950
How people payPrivate pay, Medi-Cal waiver, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
- Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
- Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
- SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
- VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
- Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
- MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
- The care level
Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.
- What is billed separately
Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.
- Move-in costs
A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.
- Increases
California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.
- What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
- What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
- What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
- Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWithin 25% for 7 in 10 homes in testing
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 10 small homes within 3 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
10 homes like this within 3 miles publish starting rates mostly between $3,600–$5,000.
- Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
- Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
- Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
- Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
- We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
- It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 10 nearby homes behind this estimate
- Archangel's Residential CareSan Diego · 0.8 mi · Small home$4,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Mayflower Home CareSan Diego · 0.8 mi · Small home$4,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Angel Genesis Guest HomeSpring Valley · 1.6 mi · Small home$4,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Chhina's Senior Guest HouseSpring Valley · 1.8 mi · Small home$5,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living private room · seen September 9, 2026
- Villa Victoria Care HomeSan Diego · 2.1 mi · Small home$3,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Warm Heart Senior LivingBonita · 2.6 mi · Small home$7,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living private room · seen September 9, 2026
- Morningside ManorSan Diego · 2.8 mi · Small home$4,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living private room · seen September 9, 2026
- Ideal Home CareNational City · 3.0 mi · Small home$5,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Seniors Dignity Home and CareSan Diego · 3.0 mi · Small home$3,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Daleina's Home CareNational City · 3.0 mi · Small home$4,000Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
Where it is
- 7766 Prairie Mound Way, San Diego, CA 92139Address from the public record · September 27, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.
Opening the neighborhood map…
The state record
California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.
Since 2021, the state has filed 9 documents for this home, and its records count 9 visits since 2000. The most recent is a facility evaluation report, dated September 26, 2025.
- On file since
- 2021
- State visits
- 9
- Most recent visit
- April 28, 2026
- Occupied · October 2, 2024 visit
- 6 of 6 bedsa count on that day, not an opening
We hold 4 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated March 3, 2022 to October 2, 2024. 4 of the 4 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Unfounded” (1), “Unsubstantiated” (3). 4 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 4 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.
Beside homes the same size
- Type A citations0typical 0
- Type B citations0typical 0
- Substantiated allegations0typical 0
- Total complaints4typical 0
“Typical” is the statewide median across the 6,808 licensed small board-and-care homes (6 or fewer beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 2000.
Year by year
The last 36 months — 4 of 9 documents
Sep 26, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Liliana Silveira conducted an unannounced Required Annual Inspection. The facility file was reviewed prior to the visit. LPA was welcomed by, identified herself to, and discussed the purpose of the visit with Caregiver Emelita Supnap. Administrator Cheryl Castro arrived shortly after. According to the facility’s license, the facility has a maximum capacity of six residents, of whom all may be non-ambulatory. LPA toured the interior and exterior of the facility and inspected each room. Pathways were free of obstruction and slip hazards. Resident bedrooms contained the required furnishings. Doors, windows, toilets, and showers were in working order. The facility had sufficient space and equipment to facilitate dining, laundry, visitation, meetings, and resident activities. All windows were checked and there was only one window screen that needed to be repaired. Cooking/dining equipment and utensils were present. There were no toxic chemicals/poisons accessible to residents. No pool or body of water is present. Per Administrators, no firearms or ammunition are kept at the facility. The smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, as well as the fire extinguisher, were inspected by the local Fire Department in February 2025. The facility telephone was tested and is working. Emergency lighting and first aid kits were observed and accessible to staff. Water temperatures for bathrooms accessible to residents were in compliance.. The facility’s ambient internal temperature was comfortable. Medications were labeled, as required, and stored in inaccessible areas. Resident records reviewed had required documentation. (CONTINUED ON LIC 809C, NEXT PAGE) (CONITNUED FROM FIRST PAGE, LIC 809) Resident and staff records reviewed had required documentation. The First Aid training cards for the Care Staff were expired and staff require completion of the training. Residents and staff were interviewed, there were no health and safety concerns from the interviews. All records were stored in a locked area. No citations were issued during this visit. A technical violation was issued. An exit interview was conducted with Cheryl, to whom a copy of this report, LIC 9099-D, LIC9102 and the Licensee/Appeal Rights (LIC 9058 03/22) were provided to Cheryl. ***NOTE: LPA left the facility for a 1 hour lunch break and returned to complete the inspection.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 26, 2025
Oct 2, 2024Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Licensee did not give resident medication as prescribed
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Marisela Garcia-Centeno conducted an unannounced complaint visit to deliver investigative findings. LPA was greeted by Caregiver, Melanie Supnet to whom she explained the reason for the visit and delivered findings. The Department investigated the above-listed complaint allegations. The investigation consisted of observations, a review of relevant records, and interviews with facility staff and outside sources. On September 13, 2024, Community Care Licensing (CCL) received a complaint alleging that the licensee did not give resident (R1) medication as prescribed [a LIC811 Confidential Name List was provided to staff to identify R1]. It was specifically alleged that a “nurse” (Note: the facility did not employ nursing staff and the identity of the individual was not disclosed during the investigation) who worked at the facility administered the Seroquel medication four (4) times a day instead of the prescribed dose of 2x per day during August 2024. (Continue at LIC9099C) Unsubstantiated Continue from LIC 9099 The exact days, times or any other details of when this occurred were not provided. A detailed review of R1's relevant records indicated that R1 lived at the facility from April 30, 2024, to July 31, 2024. In addition, during a visit conducted on September 18, 2024, a detailed review of medications on hand for the residents in care did not disclose any violations of Title 22 regulations. During interviews, staff consistently indicated that all medications including the medication in question were administered to R1 as prescribed. In addition, R1 moved out on July 31, 2024, and the alleged violation occurred after R1 moved out. Despite numerous attempts, R1 and R1’s responsible party were not available for an interview. The Department has investigated the above-mentioned allegation and based on interviews conducted and records reviewed we were unable to confirm or deny if medications were given as prescribed. The information obtained during the investigation did not present a preponderance of evidence to support or corroborate the allegation. Therefore, this allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted and a copy of this report along with Licensee Rights (LIC 9058 03/22) was provided to Caregiver, Melanie Supnet at the conclusion of the visit.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Oct 2, 2024 · control 08-AS-20240913084352
Sep 23, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
Licensing Program Analysts (LPA) Iby Strong and Hannah Rodgers conducted an unannounced Required Annual Inspection. The facility file was reviewed prior to the visit. LPAs were welcomed by, identified themselves to, and discussed the purpose of the visit with Caregiver Emelita Supnet. Administrator Cheryl Castro and Celeste Castro arrived shortly after. According to the facility’s license, the facility has a maximum capacity of six residents, of whom all may be non-ambulatory. LPA toured the interior and exterior of the facility and inspected each room. The facility main shower floor and shower chair were not clean. Pathways were free of obstruction and slip hazards. Resident bedrooms contained the required furnishings. Doors, windows, toilets, and showers were in working order. The facility had sufficient space and equipment to facilitate dining, laundry, visitation, meetings, and resident activities. Cooking/dining equipment and utensils were present. There were no toxic chemicals/poisons accessible to residents. Medications were labeled, as required, and stored in inaccessible areas. No pool or body of water is present. Per Administrators, no firearms or ammunition are kept at the facility. Carbon monoxide detectors, emergency lighting, and facility telephone were all working. Fire extinguisher(s) were present. First aid kit were observes and readily accessible. Water temperature was measured at 107.1 degrees, ambient room temperature was 81 degrees. Resident records reviewed had required documentation. Staff records reviewed contained required documentation. One resident was present who requires oxygen, no oxygen sign was present. One dementia resident was present, no working auditory alarm was observed. One deficiency and two technical violations, are being cited per California Code of Regulations, Title 22 (refer to the attached LIC 9099-D) An exit interview was conducted with Administrators, to whom a copy of this report,LIC 9099-D, LIC9102 and the Licensee/Appeal Rights (LIC 9058 03/22) were provided to.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 23, 2024
Apr 19, 2024Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Resident's toileting needs are not being met
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Ruiz conducted an unannounced complaint visit to conduct follow up and deliver findings regarding the above mentioned allegation. LPA was greeted by, identified herself to, and explained the purpose of the visit with Caregiver Emelita Supnet. Administrator Celeste Castro and Licensee Cheryl Castro arrived during the visit. During today’s visit, LPA briefly toured the facility, observed residents in care, reviewed and obtained copies of facility records, and interviewed staff. LPA was away from the facility for approximately one hour between 12:15pm and 1:15pm. The Department’s investigation consisted of interviews with staff and outside sources, records review, and a virtual and physical tour of the facility. It was alleged that in 2020, residents’ toileting needs were not being met. Continued on LIC9099-C page... Unsubstantiated Review of medical and assessment records dated 2020 for Resident 1 (R1) revealed that R1 had a diagnosis of mild cognitive impairment, was not confused or disoriented, was able to communicate needs, required staff assistance for transferring, showering, and toileting care and did not have a bowel or bladder impairment. Interviews with staff and outside sources revealed that R1 required the use of a walker and wheelchair and used incontinence briefs. Interviews with multiple staff revealed that staff would check on residents who used incontinence briefs and change the residents' incontinence briefs multiple times a day. Staff stated that staff would occasionally check on residents overnight if the staff member woke up during the night but would not awaken residents for brief changes if the residents were sleeping. Staff stated that staff would be able to hear if residents called for assistance overnight and that some residents would occasionally call for assistance during the night. Outside sources voiced concerns during interviews that R1 would be left seated on the toilet for long periods of time but did not provide the Department with any description of the length of time. Additionally, an outside source provided information during an interview that R1 required additional time to finish using the toilet. Interviews with staff and outside sources provided conflicting information regarding R1’s ability and tendency to notify staff when R1 needed staff assistance to use the restroom, get up from the toilet, or needed R1’s incontinence briefs to be changed. Staff could not recall any complaints from residents, including R1, regarding not receiving incontinence care, not receiving incontinence care overnight, or being left in soiled briefs or clothing. The Department was unable to interview R1 due to R1 passing away prior to being interviewed. The Department has investigated the above-mentioned allegation and based on interviews and records review, the preponderance of the evidence has not been met, therefore, this allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted with Licensee Cheryl Castro, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 3/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Apr 19, 2024 · control 08-AS-20201203113659
What the state’s words mean
CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗
Who holds the licence
Cheryl Montemayor Castro, licensed since 2000, operates 2 licensed homes in California. Running more than one home is common and is neither good nor bad on its own.
- Casa De Castro III · San Diego
Life here
Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.
The home has not described daily life anywhere we have reviewed yet — that is the case for most small homes, and it says nothing about the home. These questions fill in the picture; keep the ones that matter to you.
Before you call
Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.
- What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
- Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
- Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
- What could change whether someone can stay here?
- Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?
Other homes nearby
The nearest licensed homes in San Diego County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.
Serra Mesa Guests Home II
San Diego · Small home · 0.3 mi away
$4,050 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Vista Senior Care
Spring Valley · Small home · 0.4 mi away
$4,800 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Great Golden Senior Living
San Diego · Small home · 0.5 mi away
$4,700 a month to start · Covelight estimate
P & P Homes
San Diego · Small home · 0.5 mi away
$4,650 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Paradise Hills Board and Care
San Diego · Small home · 0.6 mi away
$4,700 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Groveview Board and Care
San Diego · Small home · 0.7 mi away
$4,000 a month to start · Covelight estimate