Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet
Tlc Guest Home II
Small home·Licensed for 6·Rancho Palos Verdes, California
- Care approvals on fileWheelchair · Dementia · HospiceState licensing record · September 13, 2026
- Starting rate$5,500 a monthListed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026
- Home sizeLicensed for 6Small care home · a licensed care home (RCFE)
- Room at the last state visit3 of 6 beds occupiedMay 5, 2026 · not a current opening
- Ways to payAsk the homeMedi-Cal ALW participation not on file
- Last state visitMay 5, 2026CDSS inspection record
Tlc Guest Home II is a small care home in Rancho Palos Verdes — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 6 residents since 2003. Bedridden care is not on file.
Built from CDSS public records · September 13, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.
Quick answers and the state record
A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.
Quick answers about Tlc Guest Home II
Is Tlc Guest Home II licensed?
The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
How many residents is Tlc Guest Home II licensed for?
6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Has Tlc Guest Home II been cited?
1 Type A and 1 Type B citations since 2003, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. Those records count 9 state visits over the same years.
Is Tlc Guest Home II still open?
This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.
What does Tlc Guest Home II cost?
$5,500 a month to start — listed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026.
The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living shared bedroom, seen September 9, 2026.
Among 10 other homes of a similar licensed size in Rancho Palos Verdes that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $4,500 to $6,000 a month, and the middle figure is $5,000 (n = 10 other homes publishing a starting rate).
Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.
A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.
The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.
A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.
Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
Does Tlc Guest Home II take Medi-Cal?
On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
Who holds the license?
The license is held by Castaneda, Teresita & Daabhoy, Muqeet, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Is there a hospital nearby?
Providence Little Company of Mary Medical Center San Pedro is 2 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.
Can Tlc Guest Home II keep a resident on hospice?
Hospice care is approved on this license, covering up to 2 residents, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Tlc Guest Home II license and inspection record
- Name on the license: “TLC GUEST HOME II”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
- License #198203919. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- Licensed for 6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- Licensed to Castaneda, Teresita & Daabhoy, Muqeet, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- First licensed in 2003, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- 9 state inspection visits since 2003, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- 1 Type A and 1 Type B citations on file since 2003, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. The same records count 9 state visits in that period.
- 3 complaints and 1 substantiated allegation on file since 2003, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
- The most recent state visit on file is May 5, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗
Can they support the care needed?
California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.
- Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved · covers up to 6 residents
- Dementia / memory careApproved by the state
- Hospice careApproved · covers up to 2 residents
- BedriddenNot on file · ask the home
State licensing record · September 13, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.
Read the state’s own wording
FACILITY IS LICENSED TO SERVE 6 NON-AMBULATORY RESIDENTS AGE 60 AND ABOVE. FACILITY MAY RETAIN TWO HOSPICE RESIDENTS.
983 - RCFE / DEMENTIA
CDSS record, verbatim · September 13, 2026
As needs change
- Staying through hospice
Hospice waiver on file · covers up to 2 — care may continue at the end of life
Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”
State licensing record · September 13, 2026
- If memory loss develops
Dementia-care designation on file
Ask: “Can we read the dementia care disclosure and discuss how daily support works?”
State licensing record · September 13, 2026
3 more questions to ask the home
- Two-person transfers or a lift
Not on file
Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”
- Someone awake overnight
Not on file
Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”
- Medicines
Not on file
Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”
What it costs here
This home’s starting rate
$5,500a month to start
Listed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026 · See listing
Likely monthly total
$5,500a month
Likely $5,500–$6,100
With a shared room and basic help.
An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.
See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · where the price comes from
Starting monthly rate$5,500this home
The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living shared bedroom, seen September 9, 2026.
Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600
Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).
One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000
Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.
- Likely monthly totalLikely $5,500–$6,100
- $5,500
- First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $5,500–$9,600
- $7,500
How people payPrivate pay, Medi-Cal waiver, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
- Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
- Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
- SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
- VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
- Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
- MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
- The care level
Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.
- What is billed separately
Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.
- Move-in costs
A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.
- Increases
California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.
- What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
- What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
- What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
- Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWhere this price comes from
The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living shared bedroom, seen September 9, 2026.
10 homes like this within 3 miles publish starting rates mostly between $4,200–$6,650.
- Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
- Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
- Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
- Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
- We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
- It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 10 nearby homes behind this estimate
- Velez Care HomeRancho Palos Verdes · 0.2 mi · Small home$7,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Avenida VillaRancho Palos Verdes · 0.4 mi · Small home$4,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- TarrasaRancho Palos Verdes · 0.5 mi · Small home$5,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Home of the AmazingRancho Palos Verdes · 0.7 mi · Small home$6,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Palos Verdes Care CottageRancho Palos Verdes · 0.9 mi · Small home$5,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Ocean Breeze Care Home IILomita · 1.1 mi · Small home$6,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living private room · seen September 9, 2026
- Ethel's Guest HomeSan Pedro · 1.5 mi · Small home$4,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Americare Assisted Living of WalteriaTorrance · 2.0 mi · Small home$6,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living private room · seen September 9, 2026
- Global Elderly Care FacilityLomita · 2.0 mi · Small home$4,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- St Anthony's Care Home IILomita · 2.0 mi · Small home$4,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
Where it is
- 28024 Calzada Dr., Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275Address from the public record · September 13, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.
Opening the neighborhood map…
The state record
California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.
Since 2021, the state has filed 10 documents for this home, and its records count 9 visits since 2003. The most recent — a complaint investigation report on May 5, 2026 — closed with the state’s outcome word: “Substantiated.”
- On file since
- 2021
- State visits
- 9
- Most recent visit
- May 5, 2026
- Occupied at that visit
- 3 of 6 bedsa count on that day, not an opening
We hold 5 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated December 13, 2021 to May 5, 2026. 5 of the 5 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Substantiated” (2), “Unsubstantiated” (3). 5 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 5 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.
Beside homes the same size
- Type A citations1typical 0
- Type B citations1typical 0
- Substantiated allegations1typical 0
- Total complaints3typical 0
“Typical” is the statewide median across the 6,808 licensed small board-and-care homes (6 or fewer beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 2003.
Year by year
The last 36 months — 6 of 10 documents
May 5, 2026Complaint investigation reportSubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Staff do not provide adequate food service
On 04/05/25 Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Mario Leon conducted a subsequent unannounced complaint visit at the facility. California Department of Social Services (CDSS) was met by staff one, Rino Santos - House Manager (S1) and the reason for the visit was explained. The investigation consisted of the following: On 11/14/25 CDSS collected documents listed as follows: Increase in rent for three (3) residents (dated 11/03/25), admission agreements for one (1) resident (dated 05/07/25), physician's report for one resident (dated 05/05/25) and internal notes between facility and one resident (dated 11/03/25) (Party A). CDSS interviewed four (4) residents (R1-R4) and three (3) staff (S1-S3). On 05/05/26 CDSS collected further documents. The investigation revealed the following: Report continues, please see LIC9099-C. Substantiated Interviews revealed that three (3) out of four (4) residents (R2-R4) and all three (3) staff (S1-S3) have denied the allegation has taken place. On 11/14/25 CDSS collected an immediate resolution between party A and the facility (party B), dated 11/03/25. Record reviews have revealed that party B has informed party A of party B's responsibility to care for party A. This document has been signed by both parties. Furthermore, party A has signed the addendum for managed care program participants, dated 05/07/25. This document is an agreement between both parties, which is broken down into five segments, which explains the fee process. Based on record reviews and interviews conducted, the preponderance of evidence standard has not been met. Although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove that the alleged violation occurred. Therefore, the above allegation has been Unsubstantiated. Regarding the allegation, “Illegal eviction”, it is being alleged that if party A does not agree with it, they can consider it a 60-day eviction notice, from party B. Interviews revealed that all four (4) residents (R1-R4) and all three (3) staff (S1-S3) have denied the allegation has taken place. Record reviews have revealed that party B has informed party A of party B's responsibility to care for party A. This document has been signed by both parties. Furthermore, party A has signed the addendum for managed care program participants, dated 05/07/25. This document is an agreement between both parties, which is broken down into five segments, which explains the fee process. CDSS was not provided any eviction notice. Based on record reviews and interviews conducted, the preponderance of evidence standard has not been met. Although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove that the alleged violation occurred. Therefore, the above allegation has been Unsubstantiated. Regarding the allegation, “Staff do not treat resident with dignity and respect”, it is being alleged that the staff turn the water off while party A is showering. Interviews have revealed that two (2) out of four (4) residents (R2-R3) and all three (3) staff (S1-S3) have denied the allegation has taken place. Based on interviews conducted, the preponderance of evidence standard has not been met. Although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove that the alleged violation occurred. Therefore, the above allegation has been Unsubstantiated. There have been zero (0) deficiencies cited during today's visit. An exit interview was held with Rino Santos and a copy of this report has been provided. Regarding the allegation, “Staff do not provide adequate food service”, it is being alleged that party B never serve fresh food. Record reviews revealed that food menu indicates a fresh food is provided daily. Interviews revealed that three (3) out of four (4) residents (R1, R2, R4) have agreed the allegation has taken place. On 11/14/25 R1 stated, "They don’t cook everyday. They cook for themselves every day, but it’s not for us. They provide us that later. Four (4) or five (5) days later.". On 11/14/25 S3 has stated, "For residents I will cook salmon and vegetables. The one I'm cooking now is for the staff.", which indicates that fresh food is not always provided to residents in care. Based on record reviews and interviews conducted, the preponderance of evidence standard has been met. Therefore, the above allegation is found to be Substantiated. California Code of Regulations, Title twenty-two (22), Division six (6) is being cited on the attached LIC 9099-D. There has been one (1) deficiency cited during today's visit. Please see LIC9099-D. An exit interview was held with Rino Santos (S1) and a Plan of Corrections (POC) has been developed. A copy of the facilities' appeal rights and this report has been provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 5, 2026 · control 11-AS-20251104083731
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87555(b)(5) · Plan of correction due date: May 12, 2026
87555(b)(5) General Food Service Requirements (b) The following food service requirements shall apply: (5) Meals shall consist of an appropriate variety of foods and shall be planned with consideration for cultural and religious background and food habits of residents. This has not been met as evidenced by: Based on record reviews and interviews conducted the licensee did not ensure that an appropriate variety of foods has been provided to three (3) residents, #1, #2, & #4 which poses a potential health risk to residents in carethe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 5, 2026
Plan of correction: CDSS and S1 have agreed that the facility will update their meal plan, with input from residents in care; on, or before, the POC due date. Facility will email updates to LPA at MARIO.LEON@DSS.CA.GOV
Oct 1, 2025Complaint investigation reportSubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Resident sustained a pressure injury due to staff neglect
*** The original LIC9099 report dated 05/01/2025 is being revised to include additional information not previously documented. The updated LIC9099 report, dated 10/01/2025, will supersede and replace the original document. *** On 05/01/2025, at 9:30 a.m., the Department conducted a subsequent visit to gather information regarding the above allegations and deliver findings. The Department met with staff #1 (S1) Caregiver Leo Sumalpong and explained the purpose of today's visit. LPA was granted entry to the facility. Investigation consisted of the following: On 05/01/2025, at 10:00 a.m., the department requested, reviewed and obtained copies of Resident Roster (Dated 03/18/2025), Personnel Report (Dated 03/15/2025), Admission Agreement (Dated 04/23/2024), Identification and Emergency Information (Dated 04/23/2024), Physician's Report (Dated 05/14/2024), Medical Assessment (Dated 03/05/2024), Medication Administration Records (MARs) (05/02/2024-08/19/2024), See continued LIC9099-C page 2 Substantiated Continued LIC9099-C page 2 **This report has been amended to clarify findings. It does not supersede the report delivered on 10/01/2025. ** Functional Capability Assessment (Dated 04/23/2024), Preplacement Appraisal Information (Dated 04/23/2024), Consent Forms (04/23/2024), 30-Day Notice from Resident (Dated 07/19/2024), and RN Sign-In Sheet (Dated 05/24/2024-07/10/2024). The Department also requested and received the following: Optum Health Service Medical Record for R1, Physicians Choice Home Health Medical records for R1, and Torrance Memorial Medical Center records for R1. On 10/24/2024 and 05/01/2025, the department toured the facility's buildings and grounds to observe and identify any signs of neglect, abuse, or other immediate health and safety threats. No signs of neglect or abuse were observed during today's visit. Interviews were conducted with Staff Members #1-5 (S1-S5) as well as residents #2-4 (R2-R4) and witness 1 (W1). Resident #1 (R1) is no longer residing at the facility. The Department was able to interview the resident by telephone. The investigation revealed the following: Allegation: Resident sustained a pressure injury due to staff neglect. It is being alleged that resident 1 (R1) sustained a pressure injury on the right heel while at the facility. On 05/01/2025, Resident #1’s (R1) records were requested and reviewed. R1 was admitted to the facility per the admissions agreement dated 05/01/2024. The Physician’s Report, signed on 05/01/2024, indicated no pressure injuries upon entry to the facility. Home Health records dated 04/23/2024 show that R1 was under the care of Optum Home Health. On 06/04/2024, notes from Physician’s Choice Home Health indicated that R1 had no pressure injuries at the time of that visit. On 06/26/2024, Optum Home Health documented notes show R1 had an unstageable pressure injury on R1’s right heel. R1 received wound treatments on 07/01/2024, 07/02/2024, and 07/03/2024, as documented in Physician’s Choice Home Health medical records. On 07/03/2024, R1 was admitted to Torrance Memorial Medical Center with the following diagnoses: Stage 2 pressure injury on the sacrum, suspected deep tissue injury on the left heel, and an unstageable right foot ulcer with suspected necrosis. See continued LIC9099-C page 3 Continued LIC9099-C page 3 The Department interviewed five staff members #1-5 (S1–S5) and one witness (W1) regarding concerns about Resident #1’s (R1) foot wound. • S1 stated that R1 had a wound care nurse, but did not know the details of the wound care. • S2 reported that R1 had their own nurse who treated a foot wound. S2 was unaware of the wound’s staging and alleged that R1 had the wound upon arrival at the facility. • S3 stated that he observed a pressure injury on R1’s foot and informed R1. S3 also alleged that the wound was present when R1 arrived at the facility. • S4 confirmed that R1 had a wound on the right foot upon arrival and was seen by a nurse, but did not know which home health agency provided care. • S5 stated that R1 had their own nurse and was unaware of the wound’s staging. • W1 reported that the Clinical Coordinator from Physician's Choice Home Health noted R1 developed a pressure injury on the right heel during their time at the facility, as documented on 06/26/2024. All staff interviewed acknowledged that the resident had a pressure injury; however, none were aware of the wound’s staging or which home health agency was providing care. When a resident presents with a pressure injury, staff should receive training on appropriate wound site management and any necessary repositioning protocols. Based on the information gathered, it appears that such training may not have occurred in this instance. See continued LIC9099-C page 4 Continued LIC9099-C page 4 On 05/01/2025, between 2:00 p.m. and 2:30 p.m., on the same day, the Department conducted interviews with three residents #2-4 (R2–R4) regarding the allegation, and 3 out of 3 residents stated they did not observe any resident who appeared to require wound care. 3 out of 3 residents stated that the facility is fully staffed, they were happy living here, and confirmed they are receiving the necessary care and supervision. All three residents (3 out of 3) denied the allegation and stated that their daily care needs were being met. Regarding the allegation “Resident sustained a pressure injury due to staff neglect,” based on record reviews and interviews, the preponderance of evidence has been met; therefore, the allegation is Substantiated. California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 6, and Chapter 8 are being cited on the attached LIC9099-D, and an immediate $500 Civil Penalty is assessed. At this time, an enhanced civil penalty determination is pending in reference to Health & Safety Code 1569.49(e)(1)(A) “Serious Bodily Injury” as defined in Section 243 of the Penal Code that states, a serious physical condition, including, but not limited to, the following: loss of consciousness; concussion; bone fracture; protracted loss or impairment of any bodily member or organ; a wound requiring extensive suturing; and serious disfigurement. An exit interview was conducted, appeal rights were discussed, and a copy of this report was provided to facility staff.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Oct 1, 2025 · control 11-AS-20241008101957
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type A · Section cited: CCR 87466 · Plan of correction due date: Oct 22, 2025
87466 Observation of the Resident The licensee shall ensure that residents are regularly observed for changes in physical, mental, emotional and social functioning and that appropriate assistance is provided when such observation reveals unmet needs. This requirement is not met as evidenced by:Resident #1 (R1) sustained a pressure injury on the right heel while residing at the facility. This violation poses an immediate health and safety risk to residents in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Oct 1, 2025
Plan of correction: The licensee agrees to ensure that staff receive training on Observation of the Resident and will submit documentation verifying that staff have been re-trained by the Plan of Correction (POC) due date of 10/22/2025.
Sep 10, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
On 09/10/25, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Mario Leon conducted an unannounced annual required visit using the CARE Inspection Tool. LPA met with staff one, Rino Santos - house manager (S1). LPA explained the purpose of today’s visit. The facility is licensed to operate for (6) non-ambulatory elderly adults ages 60 and above. The facility is approved for (2) hospice residents and the facility currently has (2) hospice residents in care. The facility is a single-story structure, located in a residential neighborhood. It consists of the following: (4) residents' rooms, (2) bathrooms, (1) staff bedroom, a living area, a dining area, a kitchen, a shaded outside seating area, with an attached garage. LPA toured the physical plant. There were no bodies of water on the premises. All rooms were inspected. Beds and bedding supplies were in operational condition, adequate lighting was provided, and storage for the resident's personal belongings was observed. During LPA's inspection, LPA noticed food items left on the stove, out of the refrigerator. LPA also observed the facility needing repairs of the wall in bedroom number three (#3). Bed linens, comforters, and bath towels were adequately stocked during today's visit. Bathrooms were operational and no mold was observed in bathroom numbers one (#1) and two (#2) showers. Bathroom #1 and #2 are in need of repair, as the maximum water temperature was measured at ninety-six point eight (96.8)°F (Degrees Fahrenheit), which is below title 22 regulation. LPA observed cleaning detergents stored properly and out of reach to residents in care. Water temperature was measured at 107.6°F (degrees Fahrenheit) in the kitchen and a comfortable temperature of 73.4 degrees F was maintained in the facility. Report continues, see LIC809C. LPA observed the facility to be fully furnished at the time of the visit. Storage areas for personal hygiene and sharp objects were observed to be appropriately stored and not accessible to residents. The kitchen was inspected, and sufficient perishable and non-perishable food was adequately maintained. LPA observed two pots of food, one (1) for clients and the other for staff. Neither item is being stored appropriately as they are outside of the refrigerator. A fire extinguisher was fully charged, with mandated yearly maintenance tag dated as 04/29/2025. LPAs observed First Aid Kit was maintained. A working landline phone was operational. The facility had operational smoke and carbon monoxide in bedrooms and common areas. There have been three (3) deficiencies cited during today's visit, see LIC809D. An exit interview was held with Rino Santos, House Manager, and a copy of the facilities' appeal rights and this report were provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 10, 2025
May 1, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Resident sustained a pressure injury due to staff neglect
** The original LIC9099 report dated 05/01/2025 was revised to include additional information not previously documented. The updated LIC9099 report, dated 10/01/2025, will supersede and replace the original document shown below. *** On 05/01/2025 at 9:30 a.m., the Department conducted an initial visit to gather information regarding the above allegations. The Department met with staff 1 (S1) Caregiver Leo Sumalpong and explained the purpose of today's visit. LPA was granted entry to the facility. Investigation consisted of the following: On 05/01/2025, at 10:00 a.m., the department requested, reviewed and obtained copies of Resident Roster (Dated 03/18/2025), Personnel Report (Dated 03/15/2025), Admission Agreement (Dated 04/23/2024), Identification and Emergency Information (Dated 04/23/2024), Physician's Report (Dated 05/14/2024), Medical Assessment (Dated 03/05/2024), See continued LIC9099-C page 2 Unsubstantiated Continued LIC9099-C page 2 Medication Administration Records (MARs) (05/02/2024-08/19/2024), Functional Capability Assessment (Dated 04/23/2024), Preplacement Appraisal Information (Dated 04/23/2024), Consent Forms (04/23/2024), 30-Day Notice from Resident (Dated 07/19/2024), and RN Sign In-Sheet (Dated 05/24/2024-07/10/2024). Interviews were conducted with Staff Members #1-2 (S1-S2) as well as residents #2-4 (R2-R4). Resident #1 (R1) is no longer residing at the facility. The Department was able to interview the resident by telephone. On 10/24/2024 and 05/01/2025, the department toured the facility's buildings and grounds to observe and identify any signs of neglect, abuse, or other immediate health and safety threats. No signs of neglect or abuse were observed during today's visit. The investigation revealed the following: It was reported to the Department that resident sustained a pressure injury on the right heel while at this facility. The resident didn’t notice the injury until mid-June 2024. The CNA, who assists the resident and provides showers, stated it was difficult to see the area and assumed the resident was aware of the injury, saying, "I thought you knew." It was report that the resident visited a podiatrist (name not provided), who advised the resident to go to the emergency room. The resident went to the ER (hospital name not provided) on 07/03/2024, where they were given a medication ball containing antibiotics. the resident reportedly remained on antibiotics for six weeks and received wound care three times a week. It was also reported that due to presence of a “big black thing” covering the resident's heel, the doctors were unable to determine the stage of the wound, as they could not see beneath it. The condition reportedly did not improve, and the resident recently had to return to the ER. The name of the hospital was not disclosed, and no hospital records or discharge documents were provided. S1 and S2 stated the resident did not sustain a pressure injury due to staff neglect. 2 out of 2 stated the resident had his own private nurse and denied the allegation. See continued LIC9099-C page 3 Continued LIC9099-C page 3 Allegation: Resident sustained a pressure injury due to staff neglect It was alleged resident sustained a pressure injury as a result of staff neglect. On 05/01/2025, between 10:00 a.m. and 12:45 p.m., the Department interviewed two staff members #1 and #2 (S1-S2), regarding the allegation. S2 stated the resident submitted a 30-day notice on 07/19/2024, indicating their intention to move out and actively looking for other accommodation. During that time, the facility did not observe any signs of discomfort or concerns related to the resident's care or needs. S2 also reported that the resident had a private nurse who visited three times a week to treat a wound on the resident's right heel. The documentation did not specify the stage of the wound. Both staff members interviewed (2 out of 2) confirmed that the facility does not admit or retain residents with pressure injuries above Stage 2, in accordance with Title 22 regulations. S2 stated they have been in business for over 30 years and strictly adhere to wound care regulations. S1 and S2 denied the allegation. On 05/01/2025, between 2:00 p.m. and 2:30 p.m., on the same day, the Department conducted interviews with three residents #2-4 (R2–R4) regarding the allegation, and 3 out of 3 residents stated they did not observe any resident who appeared to require wound care. 3 out of 3 residents stated that the facility is fully staffed, they were happy living here, and confirmed they are receiving the necessary care and supervision. Residents (3 out of 3) denied the allegation and stated that their daily care needs were being met. Based on interviews, available evidence, observation, information received, and records reviewed there was not enough sufficient evidence to support the allegations. Although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove the alleged violation did or did not occur, therefore the allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. There were no deficiencies cited. An exit interview was conducted.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, May 1, 2025 · control 11-AS-20241008101957
Oct 24, 2024Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Staff are not properly cleaning the floors Staff did not ensure the facility was free of pests
On 10/24/24, the Department conducted a subsequent unannounced visit to the facility listed above. The Department met with House Manager, Rino Santos, and the purpose of today’s visit was explained. During today’s visit the Department toured the facility, and interviewed Resident R4. On 10/09/24, the Department conducted an initial unannounced complaint visit to the facility listed above. The Department met with House Manager, Rino Santos, and the purpose of the visit was explained. During the initial visit, the Department toured the facility, interviewed Staff S1-S3, interviewed Residents R1 and R2, interviewed Residents R3’s Responsible Person (W1), and received documents pertinent to the investigation. The following documents were received and reviewed Resident Roster, Staff Roster, Terminix receipts, and staff training. The investigation revealed the following: Unsubstantiated Allegation: Staff are not properly cleaning the floors The complaint allegation alleges that staff spray the floors with cleaning product and then uses a dust mop to wipe, the floors are cleaned once a week, and resident contracted bacteria on foot due to floors not being cleaned. During the facility inspection, the Department observed the facility to be clean and sanitary. All floors and walls were observed clean and in good repair. During interviews with Staff S1-S3, were asked how often the floors are cleaned, three (3) out of three (3) stated the floors are cleaned daily and multiple times if needed. Additionally, during interviews with Staff S1-S3, were asked how they clean the floor, three (3) out of three (3) stated they use a mop and a cleaning solution with bleach. During interviews with Residents R1, R2, and R4, where asked if the floors in the facility are kept clean, three (3) out of three (3) stated yes, the floors and the facility are clean. During an interview with a Resident R3's Responsible Party (W1), was asked if the floors in the facility are kept clean, they stated the whole facility is clean. Allegation: Staff did not ensure the facility is free of pests The complaint allegation alleges that the facility has cockroaches. During the facility inspection, the Department did not observe any insects or residue of insects in the facility. During record review, the Department received and reviewed copies of receipts from pests control company dated on 03/25/24, 05/04/24, 07/16/24, 07/23/24, and 08/17/24. The report indicates they are treating for ants, roaches, and spiders. The most current report indicated there were only dead roaches found. During interviews with Staff S1-S3, were asked if they have seen cockroaches inside the facility, one (1) out of three (3) stated they have seen a cockroach inside the facility. Additionally, during interviews Staff S1-S3, were asked how they keep the facility free of pests and insects, three (3) out of three (3) stated they make sure it is cleaned and a pest control company comes out twice a month to treat. During interviews with Residents R1, R2, and R4, were asked if the facility is kept free of insects, three (3) out of three (3) stated they have not seen insects inside the facility. During an interview with a Resident R3's Responsible Party (W1), was asked if the facility is kept free of insects, they stated they have not seen any insects in the facility. During the course of the investigation, LPA was unable to find evidence to support the allegation. Although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is no preponderance of evidence to prove the alleged violation(s) did or did not occur, therefore the allegation is unsubstantiated. An exit interview was was conducted with House Manager, Rino Santos, and a copy of this report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Oct 24, 2024 · control 11-AS-20241002100204
Aug 1, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
On 08/01/24, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Mario Leon conducted an unannounced annual required visit using the CARE Inspection Tool. LPA met with house manager, Rino Santos. LPA explained the purpose of today’s visit. The facility is licensed to operate for (6) non-ambulatory elderly adults ages 60 and above. The facility is approved for (2) hospice residents and the facility currently has (2) hospice residents in care. The facility is a single-story structure, located in a residential neighborhood. It consists of the following: (4) residents' rooms, (2) bathrooms, (1) staff bedroom, a living area, a dining area, a kitchen, a shaded outside seating area, with an attached garage. LPA toured the physical plant. There were no bodies of water on the premises. All rooms were inspected. Beds and bedding supplies were in operational condition, adequate lighting was provided, and storage for the resident's personal belongings was observed. During LPA's inspection, room #1 needs the window sill cleaned and sections of the blinds were observed to need repairs. Room #4's window screen, closest to the TV, needs to be re-screened and sections of the blinds were also observed to need repairs. Bed linens, comforters, and bath towels were adequately stocked during today's visit. Bathrooms were operational and no mold was observed in bathroom numbers one (#1) and two (#2) showers. Bathroom #1's screen is in need of cleaning/disinfection, as the screen was observed dirty. LPA observed cleaning solutions below the sink in bathroom #2. Water temperature was measured at 111.0 degrees F in the kitchen, 108.0 degrees F in bathroom #1 and 106.5 degrees F in bathroom #2. A comfortable temperature of 73.4 degrees F was maintained in the facility. LPA observed the facility to be fully furnished at the time of the visit. Storage areas for personal hygiene and sharp objects were observed to be appropriately stored and not accessible to residents. The kitchen was inspected, and sufficient perishable and non-perishable food was adequately maintained. A fire extinguisher was fully charged, with mandated yearly maintenance tag dated as 10/20/2023. LPA observed screening protocols for visitors, staff, and residents, and sanitizing stations in common areas and restrooms were available for use and all mandated posters and files were posted. Report continues, see LIC809C. LPAs observed First Aid Kit was maintained. A working landline phone was operational. The facility had operational smoke and carbon monoxide in bedrooms and common areas. An audit of residents #1-#5 (R1-R5) service files and staff #1-#3 (S1-S3) personnel files appeared to be complete. There have been four (4) deficiencies cited during today's visit, see LIC809D. There has been one advisory note provided, see LIC9102TV. An exit interview was held with Rino Santos, House Manager, and a copy of the facilities' appeal rights and this report were provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Aug 1, 2024
The state marks this report as 6 pages; the online copy we transcribed has 5. You can request the full file from the county licensing office.
What the state’s words mean
CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗
Life here
Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.
The home has not described daily life anywhere we have reviewed yet — that is the case for most small homes, and it says nothing about the home. These questions fill in the picture; keep the ones that matter to you.
Before you call
Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.
- What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
- Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
- Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
- What could change whether someone can stay here?
- Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?
Other homes nearby
The nearest licensed homes in Los Angeles County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.
Emerald Isle Assisted Living #2
Rancho Palos Verdes · Small home · 0.0 mi away
$4,800 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Velez Care Home
Rancho Palos Verdes · Small home · 0.2 mi away
$7,000 a month to start · Listed by the home
Golden Care Living
Rancho Palos Verdes · Small home · 0.2 mi away
$5,000 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Pv Living
Rancho Palos Verdes · Small home · 0.2 mi away
$5,750 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Senior Manor Care
Rancho Palos Verdes · Small home · 0.3 mi away
$5,200 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Aunt Mona's Care Home
Rancho Palos Verdes · Small home · 0.3 mi away
$5,450 a month to start · Covelight estimate