Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet
Everest at Oceanside
Large community·Licensed for 175·Oceanside, California
- Care approvals on fileWheelchair · Dementia · Hospice · BedriddenState licensing record · September 27, 2026
- Starting rate$3,500 a monthListed by the home on A Place for Mom · September 9, 2026
- Home sizeLicensed for 175Large care community · a licensed care home (RCFE)
- Room at the last state visit111 of 175 beds occupiedSeptember 11, 2026 · not a current opening
- Ways to payAsk the homeMedi-Cal ALW participation not on file
- Last state visitSeptember 11, 2026CDSS inspection record
Everest at Oceanside is a large care community in Oceanside — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 175 residents since 2024.
Built from CDSS public records · September 27, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.
Quick answers and the state record
A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.
Quick answers about Everest at Oceanside
Is Everest at Oceanside licensed?
The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
How many residents is Everest at Oceanside licensed for?
175 residents — a large community, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
Has Everest at Oceanside been cited?
0 Type A and 2 Type B citations since 2024, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. Those records count 15 state visits over the same years.
Is Everest at Oceanside still open?
This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.
What does Everest at Oceanside cost?
$3,500 a month to start — listed by the home on A Place for Mom · September 9, 2026.
The home lists this starting rate on A Place for Mom, seen September 9, 2026.
Among 5 other homes of a similar licensed size in Oceanside that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $3,899 to $5,653 a month, and the middle figure is $4,495 (n = 5 other homes publishing a starting rate).
Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.
A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.
The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.
A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.
Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
Does Everest at Oceanside take Medi-Cal?
On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
Who holds the license?
The license is held by Everest Oceanside Blessing Star, LLC;Everest Sr. L, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
Is there a hospital nearby?
Sharp Tri-City Medical Center is 0.4 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.
Can Everest at Oceanside keep a resident on hospice?
Hospice care is approved on this license, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
Everest at Oceanside license and inspection record
- Name on the license: “EVEREST AT OCEANSIDE”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
- License #374604806. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- Licensed for 175 residents — a large community, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- Licensed to Everest Oceanside Blessing Star, LLC;Everest Sr. L, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- First licensed in 2024, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- 15 state inspection visits since 2024, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
- 0 Type A and 2 Type B citations on file since 2024, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. The same records count 15 state visits in that period.
- 6 complaints and 2 substantiated allegations on file since 2024, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
- The most recent state visit on file is September 11, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗
Can they support the care needed?
California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.
- Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved · covers up to 175 residents
- Dementia / memory careApproved by the state
- Hospice careApproved by the state
- BedriddenApproved · covers up to 48 residents
State licensing record · September 27, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.
Read the state’s own wording
AGE RANGE 60 AND OVER. 175 NON-AMBULATORY, OF WHICH 48 MAY BE BEDRIDDEN. SEPARATE MEMORY CARE BUIDLINGS APPROVED FOR DELAYED EGRESS. HOSPICE WAIVER GRANTED FOR (50).
983 - RCFE / DEMENTIA
CDSS record, verbatim · September 27, 2026
As needs change
- Staying through hospice
Hospice waiver on file — care may continue at the end of life
Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”
State licensing record · September 27, 2026
- If memory loss develops
Dementia-care designation on file
Ask: “Can we read the dementia care disclosure and discuss how daily support works?”
State licensing record · September 27, 2026
3 more questions to ask the home
- Two-person transfers or a lift
Not on file
Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”
- Someone awake overnight
Not on file
Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”
- Medicines
Not on file
Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”
Care & day-to-day support
These are the home’s own statements about its day-to-day practice — they are not part of the state licensing record, and the state has not approved or reviewed them.
Assisted living
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Building is wheelchair accessible
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Medication management
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Diabetes care
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Incontinence care
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Independent living
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Respite / short-term stays
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
What it costs here
This home’s starting rate
$3,500a month to start
Listed by the home on A Place for Mom · September 9, 2026 · See listing
Likely monthly total
$3,500a month
Likely $3,500–$4,100
With a studio and basic help.
An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.
See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · where the price comes from
Starting monthly rate$3,500this home
The home lists this starting rate on A Place for Mom, seen September 9, 2026.
Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600
Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).
One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000
Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.
- Likely monthly totalLikely $3,500–$4,100
- $3,500
- First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $3,500–$7,600
- $5,500
How people payPrivate pay, Medi-Cal waiver, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
- Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
- Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home is not on the DHCS participation list dated September 23, 2026. Ask the program about current options. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
- SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
- VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
- Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
- MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
- The care level
Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.
- What is billed separately
Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.
- Move-in costs
A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.
- Increases
California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.
- What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
- What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
- What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
- Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWhere this price comes from
The home lists this starting rate on A Place for Mom, seen September 9, 2026.
11 homes like this within 5 miles publish starting rates mostly between $2,750–$6,200.
- Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
- Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
- Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
- Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
- We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
- It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 11 nearby homes behind this estimate
- Alta Vista Senior LivingVista · 0.3 mi · Large community$2,500Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Ocean Hills Assisted Living & Memory CareOceanside · 1.6 mi · Large community$3,900Listed on Seniorly · independent living studio · seen September 9, 2026
- Bayshire CarlsbadCarlsbad · 2.1 mi · Large community$3,700Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Heritage HillsOceanside · 2.4 mi · Large community$5,500Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- La Marea Senior LivingCarlsbad · 2.8 mi · Large community$6,370Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Fairwinds - Ivey RanchOceanside · 2.8 mi · Large community$3,895Listed on Seniorly · assisted living studio · seen September 9, 2026
- Sunrise of OceansideOceanside · 3.2 mi · Large community$6,110Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- The Hacienda Mission San Luis ReyOceanside · 3.7 mi · Large community$4,495Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Shadowridge Senior LivingVista · 3.9 mi · Large community$4,200Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Rancho Vista Senior LivingVista · 4.1 mi · Large community$2,995Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Activcare at Bressi RanchCarlsbad · 4.2 mi · Large community$7,600Listed on Seniorly · memory care shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026. We don’t have this home’s dementia-care disclosure. California requires a home that advertises dementia care to describe that care in writing when you ask.
Where it is
- 3500 Lake Blvd., Oceanside, CA 92056Address from the public record · September 27, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.
Opening the neighborhood map…
The state record
California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.
Since 2024, the state has filed 13 documents for this home, and its records count 15 visits since 2024. The most recent — a complaint investigation report on September 11, 2026 — closed with the state’s outcome word: “Substantiated.”
- On file since
- 2024
- State visits
- 15
- Most recent visit
- September 11, 2026
- Occupied at that visit
- 111 of 175 bedsa count on that day, not an opening
We hold 6 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated June 10, 2025 to September 11, 2026. 6 of the 6 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Substantiated” (2), “Unsubstantiated” (4). 6 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 6 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.
Beside homes the same size
- Type A citations0typical 0
- Type B citations2typical 1
- Substantiated allegations2typical 2
- Total complaints6typical 6
“Typical” is the statewide median across the 1,354 licensed larger communities (16+ beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 2024.
Year by year
The last 36 months — 13 of 13 documents
Sep 11, 2026Complaint investigation reportSubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Facility did not follow procedures to protect food items.
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Iby Strong conducted an unannounced visit to initiate a complaint investigation on the above allegation. LPA identified herself and discussed the purpose of the visit with Executive Director Brandon Cho and Matia Grochowiak Assistant Executive Director. On September 2, 2026, Community Care Licensing (CCL) receas a complaint alleging facility is not following procedures to protect food items. During investigation, LPA Strong conducted interviews and made observations. According to allegation, facility staff were collecting resident specimens and storing it in refrigerators meant for medication/resident snacks. Photographic evidence collected shows a filled urine sample in a medical cup within a plastic bag stored in a refrigerator with fruit cups, protein shakes and pudding. Interview with multiple staff revealed that at times, resident samples may be stored in these refrigerators. Interviews also revealed that there is no specific refrigeration system meant for storage of human specimen. Substantiated Based on interviews, and observations, a preponderance of evidence exists to support the allegation. Deficiencies are being cited by the California Code of Regulations, Title 22 (refer to the attached LIC 9099-D). An exit interview was conducted with Executive Director Brandon Cho and Matia Grochowiak Assistant Executive Director. to whom a copy of this report, LIC 9099-C, LIC 9099-D, and the Licensee/Appeal Rights (LIC 9058 03/22) were provided to.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 11, 2026 · control 08-AS-20260902123632
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87555(b)(9) · Plan of correction due date: Sep 18, 2026
87555 General Food Service Requirements b) The following food service requirements shall apply: (9) Procedures which protect the safety, acceptability ... of food shall be observed in food storage... This requirement was not met, as evidenced by: Based on interviews and records the licensee did not have procedures in place to protect the safety of resident food which posed a potential Safety risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Sep 11, 2026
Plan of correction: Licensee agrees to establish a system for human specimen storage that does not affect food storage by POC date and provide proof to LPA via email.
Jun 26, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Deficiencies
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Arian Golbakhsh conducted an unannounced Case Management visit to follow up on an incident reported to Community Care Licensing. LPA was welcomed by, identified themselves to, and discussed the purpose of the visit to Assistant Executive Director Matia Grochowiak . Community Care Licensing received an Incident Report on 6/19/26 in which it was reported that on 6/18/26, a Resident (identified as R1) was being assisted by a staff member with a transfer from their bed to their wheelchair when R1 experienced a sudden loss of leg strength and the staff member assisted the resident to the floor. A second staff member arrived and both assisted the resident from the floor to their wheelchair and the resident reported a dull pain to the right knee. About 30 minutes later staff conducted a follow up check with R1 and no pain was reported and R1 was observed to be participating in activities. Three hours later, the resident reported severe pain to their right knee and emergency services were contacted and R1 was taken to the hospital where a right femur fracture was discovered. During today's visit, LPA conducted file review and consulted with Assistant Executive Director Grochowiak and Business Office Manager Recce about R1's care/supervision needs and the facility's plan moving forward. R1 was not in the community and is receiving services at a nearby SNF (Skilled Nursing Facility). Per review of R1's file, it was noted in both R1's assessment (dated for April 2026) and service plan (dated for May 2026) that R1 required a two (2) assist for all transfers. R1 is additionally labeled as a fall risk in their file. Per review of the incident report and staff charting notes, only one (1) staff member was present assisting R1 with a transfer at the time of incident. [Continued on LIC 809-C] [Continued from LIC 809] A type A deficiency was cited per Title 22 regulations and is noted on the attached LIC 809D. The citation is issued for facility neglect in following R1's care plan and assessment outlining a need for two (2) person transfers. As this is a violation that resulted in an injury to an individual in care, a Zero Tolerance Violation Civil Penalty is being assessed in the total amount of $500.00 and details are noted on the attached LIC 421IM. Additional Civil Penalties are under review by the Community Care Licensing (CCL) Department and may be assessed at a later date. One deficiency was cited during today's visit. An exit interview was conducted with Business Office Manager Sydney-Ann Recce to whom a copy of this report, the LIC 421IM form, and the Licensee/Appeal Rights (LIC 9058) were provided. Their signature below confirms receipt of these documents.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jun 26, 2026
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type A · Section cited: CCR 87468.2(a)(8) · Plan of correction due date: Jul 9, 2026
87468.2: In addition to the rights listed in Section 87468.1 [...] residents in privately operated residential care facilities for the elderly shall have all of the following personal rights: (8)To be free from neglect [...] This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on file review and interviews, the Licensee did not ensure R1 was receiving transfer assistance as indicated in ther care plan, resulting in serious bodily injury to R1, posing an immediate health and safety risk to 1 out of 113 residents in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jun 26, 2026
Plan of correction: R1 was transfered to a SNF (Skilled Nursing Facility) to meet current care needs. Licensee will conduct an in-service training with staff on care plans and transfer assisrtance. Licensee will submit this to LPA by POC due date.
Jun 4, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Incident
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Arian Golbakhsh conducted an unannounced Case Management visit to follow up on an incident reported to Community Care Licensing. LPA was welcomed by, identified themselves to, and discussed the purpose of the visit to Receptionist Betty Oyanguren and Business Office Manager Sydney-Ann Recce. Community Care Licensing received an Incident Report on 6/4/26 in which it was reported that on 6/2/26, a Resident (identified as R1) had made multiple sexual advances on a housekeeper who was attending to R1's unit. Per the report, the facility held a meeting with the resident to address the behavior, along with notifying R1's primary care physician for request of a reassessment in order to see if the Assisted Living unit remains appropriate for R1's level of care. Additionally, housekeeping protocols have been temporarily modified for R1's unit in order to aid in staff safety. During today's visit, LPA consulted with Business Office Manager Recce about R1's care/supervision needs and the facility's plan moving forward. At this time, LPA observed no health and/or safety concerns and no deficiencies were cited during today's visit. An exit interview was conducted with Business Office Manager Recce to whom a copy of this report and the Licensee/Appeal Rights (LIC 9058) were provided. Their signature below confirms receipt of these documents.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jun 4, 2026
Apr 23, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Incident
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Angelica Boyles conducted an unannounced Case Management visit to follow up on a resident death reported to Community Care Licensing. LPA was welcomed by, identified herself to, and discussed the purpose of the visit to Sydney Recce, Business Office Director. Community Care Licensing received a Death Report on 4/22/26 in which it was reported that Resident #1 (R1) had passed away on 4/19/26 at the facility, following a hospitalization from a fall at the facility on 4/15/26. Per the report, R1 had an unwitnessed fall and was found by care staff and promptly called for emergency services. Per the report, R1 sustained a laceration to bridge of nose and forehead which required stitches in addition to needing a blood transfusion. Upon being discharged back to the facility, R1 was admitted to hospice services. [See LIC811 Confidential Name List for a description of select person identifiers used in this report.] During today's visit, LPA conducted a file review. The facility is currently awaiting the death certificate and will forward to the Department once received. Per LPA file review and interviews, the facility responded appropriately by arranging for prompt medical attention for R1 upon notification of incident. At this time, LPA observed no immediate health or safety concerns and no deficiencies were cited during today's visit. Additional visits and follow-up may be necessary for complete review of this incident based on additional information from the Death Certificate once obtained. An exit interview was conducted with Sydney Recce, Business Office Director to whom a copy of this report and the Licensee/Appeal Rights (LIC 9058) were provided. Their signature below confirms receipt of these documents.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Apr 23, 2026
Mar 24, 2026Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Facility was not kept in good repair
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Borunda conducted an unannounced complaint visit to conduct follow-up and deliver findings regarding the above-mentioned allegation. LPA identified herself to, was greeted by, and explained the purpose of the visit to Community Relations Director (CDR) Yadi Moreno. During today’s visit, LPA observed residents in care and interviewed staff. The Department’s investigation consisted of interviews with staff, records review, and a tour of the facility. It was alleged that the facility was not kept in good repair, specific to a water leak in the facility’s memory care building. Interviews and records review revealed that on 2/7/2026, a pipe burst in one of the facility’s memory care buildings at approximately 3:00am during the night shift. Interviews revealed that the water from the burst pipe leaked into the hallway of the memory care and into several resident rooms. Continued on LIC9099-C page... Unsubstantiated Evidence collected during interviews with facility management revealed that the Maintenance Director and Executive Director responded to the incident and were present at the facility within one hour of the plumbing leak occurring. Staff turned off the water and used water extractors, vacuums designed to handle water, and industrial fans to remove the water from the carpet and flooring. Additionally, interviews confirmed that a majority of the water had been removed from the memory care within a few hours of the leak and fans were used to continue the drying process for the carpet. Interviews with maintenance staff revealed that the water was turned back on for the memory care building within a few hours and industrial strength equipment was brought to the facility within a few days to dry to the carpet and remove any smells caused by the water leak. Interviews with memory care staff revealed that a couple of resident rooms were affected by the water leak, which resulted in residents being relocated to the common areas of the memory care while staff addressed the water leak. Staff stated that residents were encouraged to stay in common areas during the day to encourage socialization and participate in activities, which was supported by LPA observations during an on-site visit on 2/13/2026, and residents were able to return to normal use of their rooms by the end of the day on 2/7/2026. During an on-site visit on 2/13/2026, LPA Borunda conducted a tour of the memory care and did not detect any mild or strong odors of wet carpet, mildew, or any other offensive smells in the common areas, hallways, or the majority of resident rooms. One resident room did have a mild odor of wet carpet, however, interviews with the Executive Director during the tour revealed that the resident did not wish to keep their window or door open to allow for proper air flow or the use of fans, which was supported by observation. The carpet in the hallway, directly outside of where the water leak occurred, felt dry to the touch with no noticeable dampness. A couple of resident rooms had plank flooring which was slightly tacky when stepped on but was not determined to be a hazard. The Department has investigated the above-mentioned allegation and based on interviews and observation, the preponderance of the evidence has not been met, therefore, this allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted with CDR Yadi Moreno, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 03/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 24, 2026 · control 08-AS-20260211083346
Mar 24, 2026Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Licensee did not ensure resident records were kept in secure storage
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Borunda conducted an unannounced complaint visit to conduct follow-up and deliver findings regarding the above-mentioned allegation. LPA identified herself to, was greeted by, and explained the purpose of the visit to Community Relations Director (CDR) Yadi Moreno. During today’s visit, LPA observed residents in care and briefly toured the facility. The Department’s investigation consisted of interviews with staff, records review, and a tour of the facility. It was alleged that the Licensee did not ensure resident records were kept in secure storage. Interviews with outside sources alleged that resident records were left unattended in an area of the facility. Interviews with staff revealed that resident administrative records were stored in locked cabinets kept in the Business Office Manager’s (BOM’s) office and resident care records were kept in the locked medication room. Continued on LIC9099-C page... Unsubstantiated Generally, resident records were only removed for Department review, to make copies of documents for reporting purposes, or to update resident care charting. Staff stated that when resident records needed to be copied, they would be taken to the facility’s copy room. Staff denied any knowledge that resident records were ever left unattended in the facility’s copy room, however evidence collected during the investigation contradicted these claims. Interviews stated that the copy room is only accessible to facility staff, and LPA observations during on-site visits on 2/20/2026 and 3/24/2026 determined that the copy room could only be accessed through the CDR's office located behind the receptionist desk or via a locked door in a common hallway. Interviews with staff confirmed that the hallway door was locked and only accessible via a key and that all staff had a key to the copy room. The Department’s investigation did not reveal any evidence that resident records were left in areas commonly or easily accessible to residents, visitors, or any other individuals without the presence of facility staff. The Department has investigated the above-mentioned allegation and based on interviews and observation, the preponderance of the evidence has not been met, therefore, this allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted with CDR Yadi Moreno, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 03/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 24, 2026 · control 08-AS-20260213101823
Dec 15, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Licensee did not maintain the facility in good repair
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Borunda conducted an unannounced complaint visit to conduct follow up and deliver findings regarding the above mentioned allegation. LPA was greeted by, identified herself to, and explained the purpose of the visit with Activities Director Karie Winchester. Executive Director Jill McDonald arrived during the visit. During today's visit, LPA observed residents in care and interviewed staff. The Department’s investigation consisted of interviews with residents, staff, and outside sources, records review, and a tour of the facility. It was alleged that the Licensee did not maintain the facility in good repair, specific to mold. Interviews with staff and residents revealed that Resident 1 (R1) alleged that mold was present in their apartment due to a water leak. Interviews with R1 and staff revealed that R1 denied that any water present in R1’s bathroom was due to regular bathroom use. Continued on LIC9099-C page... Unsubstantiated Interviews revealed that R1 notified facility management of their concerns about the mold sometime in late July 2025 and management offered to relocate R1 to another apartment in the facility at no cost to R1. While interviews provided conflicting information for R1 not relocating to the other apartment, interviews and LPA observation during on-site visit on 8/12/2025 revealed that R1 was not relocated to an alternative apartment until 8/12/2025. Interviews with staff and R1 revealed that facility staff tested R1’s carpet using mold test kits purchased at a local retailer and those tests did not show any mold present in R1’s carpet. However, R1 insisted on having a professional company test R1’s apartment for mold, which was scheduled for 8/12/2025. Interviews with staff revealed that following the mold testing, the facility planned on removing R1’s carpet, sanitizing the foundation, and installing non-absorbent plank flooring. Facility management stated that R1 would be relocated to a different apartment on 8/12/2025 to allow for the construction. During the on-site visit on 8/12/2025, LPA Borunda was able to tour R1’s apartment and observe the mold testing conducted in R1’s apartment by the professional mold company. LPA did not observe any mild or strong odors to be present in R1’s kitchen, living room, bedroom, closet, or bathroom. Additionally, LPA did not observe any damp or wet flooring in R1’s apartment. LPA did observe multiple carpet discolorations in R1’s apartment, but, those discolorations did not have any odors, specific coloring, or a clear cause. Review of the inspection report from the mold company revealed that the testing revealed no evidence of mold contamination or water related damage in R1’s bedroom, bathroom, or closet. Additionally, the testing did not reveal any evidence of a leaking pipe or water in the foundation. The report did note that spore count inside R1’s apartment was higher than the outside spore count, which was uncommon, however, the report stated that there are no current state or federal regulations governing mold and indoor air quality. The report also stated that the higher levels could be due to a hidden source, older carpet, dust buildup, or the presence of a small pet. Interviews with staff revealed that the carpet was replaced and the foundation was cleaned and disinfected prior to R1 returning to their room sometime by end of September 2025. The Department has investigated the above-mentioned allegation and based on observation, interviews, and records review, the preponderance of the evidence has not been met, therefore, this allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted with Executive Director Jill McDonald, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 03/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Dec 15, 2025 · control 08-AS-20250805120350
Dec 15, 2025Complaint investigation reportSubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Staff handled resident(s) in a rough manner
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Borunda conducted an unannounced complaint visit to conduct follow up and deliver findings regarding the above mentioned allegation. LPA was greeted by, identified herself to, and explained the purpose of the visit and the basic elements of the complaint with Activities Director Karie Winchester. Executive Director Jill McDonald arrived during the visit. During today’s visit, LPA observed residents in care and interviewed residents and staff. The Department's investigation consisted of interviews with residents and staff, review of records, and a tour of the facility. It was alleged that staff handled resident(s) in a rough manner. Review of staff personnel records and interviews with staff revealed that in July 2025, Staff 1 (S1) attempted to redirect Resident 1 (R1) during an behavioral episode and was observed to physically force R1 into a seated position. Continued on LIC9099-C page... Substantiated Interviews with staff and review of staff personnel records revealed that S1 was temporarily placed on disciplinary leave while the facility conducted an internal investigation, and S1 ultimately received a written warning and retraining on abuse and providing incontinence care to residents. Interviews with staff and residents did not disclose any other incidents of rough handling by staff. The Department has investigated the above-mentioned allegation and based on interviews and records review, the preponderance of the evidence has been met, therefore, this allegation is deemed substantiated. The following deficiency is cited per CA Code of Regulations Title 22 and noted on the attached LIC9099-D page. An exit interview was conducted with Executive Director Jill McDonald, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 03/22). Residents stated that staff were pleasant, considerate, and helpful and did not disclose any concerns or complaints regarding staff interactions. Interviews with staff did not reveal any complaints of staff behaviors or any staff that received disciplinary action for yelling or cursing towards residents. The Department has investigated the above-mentioned allegation and based on interviews, the preponderance of the evidence has not been met, therefore, this allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted with Executive Director Jill McDonald, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 03/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Dec 15, 2025 · control 08-AS-20251105121404
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87468.1(a)(1) · Plan of correction due date: Dec 15, 2025
(a) Residents in all residential care facilities for the elderly shall have all of the following personal rights: (1) To be accorded dignity in their personal relationships with staff, residents, and other persons. This requirement has not been met as evidenced by: Based on interviews and records review, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above in that R1 was physically forced to sit down, which poses a potential personal rights risk to 115 of 115 residents.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Dec 15, 2025
Plan of correction: Executive Director stated that S1 received a written warning and retraining on personal rights and abuse. Executive Director provided LPA with a copy of S1's updated training transcript and written warning during the visit. DEFICIENCY CLEARED.
Nov 17, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Borunda conducted an unannounced Required 1-Year visit. The facility file was reviewed prior to the visit. LPA was greeted by, identified herself to, and explained the purpose of the visit with Activities Director Karie Winchester. Executive Director Jill McDonald arrived during the visit. During today's visit, LPA toured the facility, reviewed facility records, and observed residents in care. Due to time constraints, the annual inspection could not be completed and a return visit on a subsequent day is needed.LPA was away from the facility for approximately one hour between 12:15pm and 1:15pm. No deficiencies were cited on today's date. An exit interview was conducted with Executive Director Jill McDonald, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 3/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 17, 2025
Nov 13, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Licensee Initiated
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Borunda conducted an unannounced case management visit. LPA was greeted by, identified herself to, and explained the purpose of the visit with Chief Information Officer (CIO) Jane Owens. During today’s visit, LPA provided CIO Owens with guidance regarding the appeal rights, process, and timelines, and guidance regarding civil penalties payment. No deficiencies were cited on today’s date. An exit interview was conducted with CIO Jane Owens, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 3/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 13, 2025
Oct 20, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Incident
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Borunda conducted an unannounced case management visit regarding a self-reported incident. LPA was greeted by, identified herself to, and explained the purpose of the visit with Executive Director Jill McDonald. On 10/17/2025, the Department received a self-reported incident report from the licensee that described an incident that occurred between Resident 1 and Staff 1. [Executive Director was provided with LIC811 Confidential Names List to identify individuals] During today’s visit, LPA conducted a health and safety check, observed residents in care, and reviewed facility records. No deficiencies were cited on today’s date. An exit interview was conducted with Executive Director Jill McDonald, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 3/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Oct 20, 2025
Jun 10, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Staff did not mitigate the rodent infestation at the facility
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Borunda conducted an unannounced complaint visit to open an investigation and deliver findings regarding the above-mentioned allegation. LPA identified herself to, was greeted by, and explained the purpose of the visit to Executive Director Jill McDonald. During today’s visit, LPA toured the inside and outside of the facility, including the kitchen, laundry, and boiler rooms, interviewed staff, and reviewed facility records. The Department’s investigation consisted of interviews with staff and outside sources, review of facility records, and a tour of the facility. It was alleged that the facility did not mitigate the rodent infestation at the facility. Interviews with staff revealed that rodents and rodent droppings were first observed in the facility kitchen approximately one to two months ago. Interviews with staff and outside sources revealed that the facility had a contracted pest control company that provided pest control services twice a month. Continued on LIC9099-C page... Unsubstantiated Staff stated that the pest control company would check and replace traps during the visit and interviews did not reveal concerns with the quality of work done by the pest control company. Review of pest control service reports from April to June 2025 revealed evidence of rodent activity in the facility kitchen which was first observed by the pest control company on 4/21/2025. During the pest control service on 4/21/2025, multiple dead rodents were found in rodent traps located within the kitchen ceiling and the pest control technician recommended duct inspection and the closure of any holes located in the kitchen ceiling to prevent future rodent activity. The facility was reinspected by the pest control company on 5/2/2025 with no evidence of rodent activity. On 5/19/2025, one dead rodent was observed in a trap located in the kitchen ceiling and the pest control technician stated that the rodent might have entered the building prior to sealing the exterior holes. On 5/27/2025, staff complained to the pest control technician that there was a foul smell in the kitchen and observed multiple dead rodents in a trap placed in the kitchen ceiling. The technician located additional openings in the adjacent laundry and maintenance room that could allow rodent access to the kitchen and recommended sealing those holes as well. The technician also recommended increasing the pest control service to once a week to deal with the rodent activity. On 6/2/2025, the technician observed one dead rodent in a kitchen ceiling trap. Interviews with an outside source did not reveal any concerns with the facility’s response to the discovery of rodents in the facility. The outside source also stated that the facility was following through with the pest control company’s recommendations to mitigate and preventing future rodent activity. LPA toured the laundry room, boiler room, and the facility kitchen during today’s visit and did not observe any evidence of rodent activity or droppings on the floor or in food storage areas. Dry food items were stored within plastic bins and elevated off the floor. LPA also toured the outside of the building and observed multiple areas including outside of the kitchen, laundry, and boiler rooms that had foam insulation sprayed into pipe fittings, duct work, and other openings to prevent rodent entry. Staff stated that new food containers were purchased to protect food supplies, and dry food items were stored in hard plastic bins to prevent rodent access. Continued on LIC9099-C page... Staff admitted that the rodent activity took time to be properly discovered due to the rodents primarily being in the ceiling, but staff did not reveal concerns with the facility’s response to the rodent activity. Interviews revealed that the rodent activity had decreased in the last month and rodents were only being found in traps in the kitchen ceiling. The Department has investigated the above-mentioned allegation and based on interviews and records review, the preponderance of the evidence has not been met, therefore, this allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted with Executive Director Jill McDonald, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 3/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jun 10, 2025 · control 08-AS-20250604090126
Oct 25, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Prelicensing
Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Rebecca Ruiz conducted an announced Pre-Licensing visit. LPA was met by Applicant Ferlina McBride and was granted entry into the facility. The purpose of today's visit is to inspect the facility to ensure that it is in compliance with California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 6. The fire inspection was completed on 10/17/2024 and the facility is approved for a total of 175 residents, 127 may be non-ambulatory and 48 may be bedridden. The facility is has one main building and two separate memory care buildings, and the facility is approved for delayed egress in the two memory care buildings. The facility has an approved hospice waiver for 50 residents. During today's visit, LPA toured the facility and inspected each building, including common areas, main kitchen, dining areas, common bathrooms and a random sampling of resident apartments and private bathrooms. The facility was found to be clean, safe, and in good repair with no pathway obstructions and was kept at a comfortable temperature. Common and private bathrooms were observed to be clean and the toilets and showers were found to be in working order. The facility's water temperature was randomly sampled in common and private bathrooms in each building and the temperatures were measured between 105 to 120 degrees Fahrenheit. LPA observed locked storage areas where all hazardous and/or toxic chemicals were stored and secured. LPA observed locked storage for resident medications. Fire extinguishers were observed throughout the facility and found to be in compliance. Functioning carbon monoxide detectors and smoke detectors were observed in the facility. No bodies of water were observed on the premises. LPA observed a 7-day supply of non-perishable food and a 2-day supply of perishable food located in the facility's main kitchen. Required postings were observed in the lobby of the facility. LPA reviewed facility’s Infection Control Plan, Emergency Disaster Plan, and a random sampling of resident and staff files. Continued on LIC809-C page... LPA conducted Component III with the applicant. The topics discussed were continuing operation requirements, record keeping/reporting, and physical plant compliance. LPA was away from the facility for approximately one hour between 12:20pm and 1:20pm. Pre-licensing is complete, and this facility has no deficiencies. It is recommended that this facility be licensed pending final review and approval. An exit interview was conducted with the applicant, whose signature below confirms receipt of a copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC9058 3/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Oct 25, 2024
What the state’s words mean
CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗
Life here
Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.
Find a detail about life at this home.
Rooms & the spaces they will use
Shared / companion roomsReported no
Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.
LaundryDone by staff
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Wifi
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Room typesAll Private · One Bedroom Apartment · Two Bedroom Apartment · Studio
Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Visitor parking
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Roll-in / accessible shower
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
AmenitiesSpecial Dining Programs · Arts and Crafts Center · Billiards Lounge · Movie or Theater Room · Piano or Organ · Game Room · and 1 more
Special Dining Programs · Arts and Crafts Center · Billiards Lounge · Movie or Theater Room · Piano or Organ · Game Room · Beautician — reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Air conditioning in the room
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Housekeeping
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Cable or satellite TV
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Salon or barber
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Kitchenette in the unit
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Ground-floor units
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Meals, preferences & familiar food
Dining styleRestaurant style
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Vegetarian or vegan optionsVegetarian · Vegan
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
All-day or flexible dining
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Cultural cuisine regularly servedInternational
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Meals served in the room
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Family may eat with the resident
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Meals provided
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Professional chef
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Activities & the rhythm of a day
Activity types offeredLive Well Programs · Birthday Parties · Art Classes · Men's Club · Activities On-site · Cooking Classes · and 16 more
Live Well Programs · Birthday Parties · Art Classes · Men's Club · Activities On-site · Cooking Classes · Community Service Programs · Live Dance or Theater Performances · Live Musical Performances · Choir / Singing Club · Educational Speakers / Life Long Learning · Pet-focused Programs · BBQs or Picnics · Karaoke · Happy Hour · Gardening Club · Resident Band or Musicians · Trivia Games · Wine Tasting · Cards / Pinochle Club · Holiday Parties · Current Events Club — reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Trips outside the home
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Religious services at the home
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Religious services off site
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Intergenerational programs
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Faith, culture & language
Clergy or chaplain visits
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Pets, routines & independence
Residents may bring a pet
Reported on caring.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Pet types allowedDogs · Cats
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Pet weight limit
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Visiting & staying involved
Transportation costs extraReported no
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Public transit access claimed
Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.
Before you call
Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.
- What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
- Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
- Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
- What could change whether someone can stay here?
- Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?
Other homes nearby
The nearest licensed homes in San Diego County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.
Brookdale Oceanside
Oceanside · Large community · 0.3 mi away
$4,900 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Alta Vista Senior Living
Vista · Large community · 0.3 mi away
$2,500 a month to start · Listed by the home
Aging Gracefully Care of Tri-City
Oceanside · Small home · 0.7 mi away
$5,800 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Alta Vista Manor
Vista · Mid-size home · 1.0 mi away
$5,500 a month to start · Listed by the home
Villa Adriana
Vista · Small home · 1.3 mi away
$6,500 a month to start · Listed by the home
Breeze Hill Care
Vista · Small home · 1.5 mi away
$4,800 a month to start · Listed by the home