Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet

Sunset Coast Assisted Living

Small home·Licensed for 6·San Diego, California

Licensed since 2020Licence #374604347Medi-Cal ALW
  • Care approvals on fileWheelchair · Dementia · Hospice · BedriddenState licensing record · September 27, 2026
  • Estimated starting rate$4,450 a monthCovelight estimate · likely $3,650–$5,450
  • Home sizeLicensed for 6Small care home · a licensed care home (RCFE)
  • Room at the last state visit6 of 6 beds occupiedMarch 18, 2026 · not a current opening
  • Ways to payMedi-Cal ALW acceptedDHCS participant list · August 9, 2026
  • Last state visitJuly 6, 2026CDSS inspection record

Sunset Coast Assisted Living is a small care home in San Diego — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 6 residents since 2020.

Built from CDSS public records · September 27, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.

Quick answers and the state record

A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.

Quick answers about Sunset Coast Assisted Living

Is Sunset Coast Assisted Living licensed?

The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.

How many residents is Sunset Coast Assisted Living licensed for?

6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.

Has Sunset Coast Assisted Living been cited?

0 Type A and 4 Type B citations since 2020, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. Those records count 15 state visits over the same years.

Is Sunset Coast Assisted Living still open?

This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.

What does Sunset Coast Assisted Living cost?

$4,450 a month to start is a Covelight estimate, likely $3,650–$5,450. This home’s own rate is not on file. Ask: “What is the all-in monthly rate, and what would push it higher?”

Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 9 small homes and similar homes within 5 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.

Among 49 other homes of a similar licensed size in San Diego that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $3,950 to $6,000 a month, and the middle figure is $5,000 (n = 49 other homes publishing a starting rate).

Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.

A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.

The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.

A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.

Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out. What Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver covers in a care home.

Does Sunset Coast Assisted Living take Medi-Cal?

On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home appears on the DHCS participation list, August 9, 2026. Confirm eligibility and current participation with the program. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.

Who holds the license?

The license is held by Sunset Coast Assisted Living Inc., per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.

Is there a hospital nearby?

Scripps Mercy Hospital Chula Vista is 3.7 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.

Can Sunset Coast Assisted Living keep a resident on hospice?

Hospice care is approved on this license, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.

Sunset Coast Assisted Living license and inspection record

  • Name on the license: “SUNSET COAST ASSISTED LIVING”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
  • License #374604347. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • Licensed for 6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • Licensed to Sunset Coast Assisted Living Inc., per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • First licensed in 2020, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • 15 state inspection visits since 2020, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
  • 0 Type A and 4 Type B citations on file since 2020, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. The same records count 15 state visits in that period.
  • 6 complaints and 4 substantiated allegations on file since 2020, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
  • The most recent state visit on file is July 6, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 27, 2026.
Type A citationa violation that poses an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights if it is not correctedType B citationa violation that could become a risk if not corrected, or one involving records, resources or required services

California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗

See the state’s own record

Can they support the care needed?

California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.

  • Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved by the state
  • Dementia / memory careApproved by the state
  • Hospice careApproved by the state
  • BedriddenApproved · covers up to 1 resident

State licensing record · September 27, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.

Read the state’s own wording
THE FACILITY SERVES SIX ELDERLY RESIDENTS; AGES 60 AND ABOVE; ALL OF WHOM MAY BE NON-AMBULATORY; ONE OF WHICH MAY BE BEDRIDDEN; HOSPICE WAIVER APPROVED FOR FOUR RESIDENTS.

983 - RCFE / DEMENTIA

CDSS record, verbatim · September 27, 2026

As needs change

  • Staying through hospice

    Hospice waiver on file — care may continue at the end of life

    Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”

    State licensing record · September 27, 2026

  • If memory loss develops

    Dementia-care designation on file

    Ask: “Can we read the dementia care disclosure and discuss how daily support works?”

    State licensing record · September 27, 2026

3 more questions to ask the home
  • Two-person transfers or a lift

    Not on file

    Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”

  • Someone awake overnight

    Not on file

    Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”

  • Medicines

    Not on file

    Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”

What it costs here

Covelight estimate

$4,450a month to start

Likely $3,650–$5,450

From 9 nearby homes that publish rates · this home’s rate is not on file

Likely monthly total

$4,450a month

Likely $3,650–$5,650

With a shared room and basic help.

An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.

See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · how this estimate works
Room
Daily care
Sharing the room
  • Starting monthly rate$4,450likely $3,650–$5,450

    Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 9 small homes and similar homes within 5 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.

  • Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600

    Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).

  • One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000

    Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.

Likely monthly totalLikely $3,650–$5,650
$4,450
First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $4,250–$8,800
$6,450
How people payOn the Medi-Cal waiver list · private pay, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
  • Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
  • Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home appears on the DHCS participation list, August 9, 2026. Confirm eligibility and current participation with the program. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board. For a resident on SSI/SSP, California’s 2026 standard sends $1,444.07 a month to the home for room and board.
  • SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
  • VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
  • Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
  • MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
If the money runs out, what Medi-Cal covers
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
  • The care level

    Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.

  • What is billed separately

    Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.

  • Move-in costs

    A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.

  • Increases

    California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.

  • What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
  • What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
  • What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
  • Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWithin 25% for 7 in 10 homes in testing

Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 9 small homes and similar homes within 5 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.

9 homes like this within 5 miles publish starting rates mostly between $2,900–$5,650.

  • Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
  • Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
  • Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
  • Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
  • We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
  • It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 9 nearby homes behind this estimate
  • Golden Heart Home CareSan Diego · 0.7 mi · Small home
    $4,000Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
  • Sun and Sea Assisted LivingImperial Beach · 1.2 mi · Mid-size home
    $4,000Listed on Seniorly · memory care shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026. We don’t have this home’s dementia-care disclosure. California requires a home that advertises dementia care to describe that care in writing when you ask.
  • Liwag's Residential Care HomeSan Diego · 2.8 mi · Small home
    $2,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
  • Chula Vista Home CareChula Vista · 3.1 mi · Small home
    $5,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
  • Faith VillaChula Vista · 3.6 mi · Small home
    $4,000Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
  • Amariah Home CareChula Vista · 3.8 mi · Small home
    $5,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living studio · seen September 9, 2026
  • Royal Garden Guest HomeChula Vista · 4.4 mi · Small home
    $4,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
  • A Caring Heart ResidenceChula Vista · 4.5 mi · Small home
    $6,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living private room · seen September 9, 2026
  • Berland Home CareChula Vista · 4.8 mi · Small home
    $6,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living private room · seen September 9, 2026

Where it is

  • 808 Thermal Ave, San Diego, CA 92154Address from the public record · September 27, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.

Opening the neighborhood map…

The state record

California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.

Since 2021, the state has filed 15 documents for this home, and its records count 15 visits since 2020. The most recent is a facility evaluation report, dated July 6, 2026.

On file since
2021
State visits
15
Most recent visit
July 6, 2026
Occupied · March 18, 2026 visit
6 of 6 bedsa count on that day, not an opening

We hold 6 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated June 28, 2022 to March 18, 2026. 6 of the 6 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Substantiated” (2), “Unsubstantiated” (4). 6 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 6 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.

Beside homes the same size

  • Type A citations0typical 0
  • Type B citations4typical 0
  • Substantiated allegations4typical 0
  • Total complaints6typical 0

“Typical” is the statewide median across the 6,808 licensed small board-and-care homes (6 or fewer beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 2020.

Year by year
YearVisitsDocumentsSubstantiated202622020253402024110202344120221212021220

The last 36 months — 8 of 15 documents

20262 state visits · 2 documents
Jul 6, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Other

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) conducted an unannounced visit in response to a request of change in capacity for one bedridden resident. LPA disclosed the purpose of the visit with Licensee Patricia Tapia. LPA toured the facility and reviewed facility records. Lay out reviewed by LPA correspond to the one sent to the department. No deficiencies were cited in accordance with the California Code of Regulations. An exit interview was conducted with Licensee Patricia Tapia, to whom a copy of this report, and the Licensee/Appeal Rights (LIC 9058 03/22) were provided to. The signature below confirms the documents were received.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Jul 6, 2026
Mar 18, 2026Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated

Allegation investigated: Facility staff hit resident.

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Marisela Garcia-Centeno conducted an unannounced visit to the facility to deliver the findings regarding the above-referenced allegation. Upon arrival, LPA was granted entry by caregiver Betty Valdez. LPA met with Licensee, Patricia Tapia, via telephone to whom the purpose of the visit was disclosed. The investigation included facility observations, records reviews, and interviews with staff, residents, and outside sources. On December 23, 2024, Community Care Licensing (CCL) received a complaint alleging that facility staff hit Resident 1 (R1). It was alleged that on or about December 19, 2024, a staff member hit R1 on the arm, causing a bruise on the right upper arm and left hip. No additional details regarding the alleged abuse were available during the investigation, including the identity of the alleged perpetrator. (Continue at LIC9099C) Unsubstantiated (Continue from LIC9099) Review of R1’s admission agreement indicated that R1 was admitted to the facility on December 9, 2024. Review of R1’s medical records indicated that R1 was diagnosed with dementia and had previously suffered a stroke affecting speech and mobility. Records also disclosed that R1 had a documented history of aggressive and self-injurious behavior and had previously reported alleged physical abuse at prior placements. Interviews with external sources confirmed that R1 had reported physical abuse at previous placements. Review of facility documentation, including daily progress notes, medical records related to hospital visits, and incident reports submitted to CCL, indicated that R1 experienced multiple behavioral crises requiring transportation to the hospital via 911 emergency personnel. Documentation described incidents in which R1 threw themselves against a wall or onto the bed. Records also indicated that R1 had limited mobility due to the prior stroke and experienced difficulty moving the right arm. In addition, records documented episodes in which R1 expressed suicidal ideation and required transportation to receive a higher level of care. Records further indicated that R1 frequently refused staff assistance with activities of daily living, including eating, changing, and transfers. Review of incident reports submitted to CCL did not disclose any violations in the manner staff responded to or handled these incidents. During multiple interviews conducted during the investigation, R1 denied that staff at the facility had hit or otherwise harmed them and stated that any abuse referenced had occurred prior to moving into the facility. R1 reported that facility staff treated them with respect. During staff interviews, staff and external sources reported that due to R1’s medical condition, R1 often displayed aggressive behaviors toward both staff and themselves. During site visits conducted on November 17, 2025, and December 6, 2025, R1 was observed with no visible signs of abuse or neglect. R1 reported that the bruises referenced in the complaint had resolved months earlier. (Continue at LIC9099C) (continue from LIC9099C) Interviews with staff, external sources and residents did not disclose any corroborating information to support the allegation. Based on observations, interviews, and a review of records, there was insufficient evidence to corroborate the allegation. Although the allegation may have occurred, the investigation did not produce a preponderance of evidence to support that staff hit R1. Therefore, the allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted with Patricia Tapia via telephone. A copy of this report, the LIC 811 Confidential Names List, and the Licensee Rights (LIC 9058 03/22) were provided at the conclusion of the visit.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 18, 2026 · control 08-AS-20241223102735
20253 state visits · 4 documents
Nov 17, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Marisela Garcia-Centeno conducted an unannounced Required Annual Inspection. The facility file was reviewed prior to the visit. Upon arrival, LPA identified herself and was granted entry by Caregiver Lizbeth Caudillo. LPA met with Administrator Karina Lopez and explained the purpose of the visit. It was noted that Caregiver Caudillo had a current criminal record clearance; however, she was not associated with this facility. According to the facility license, the facility is approved for a maximum capacity of six (6) elderly residents ages 60 and above, all of whom may be non-ambulatory, and has a hospice waiver for up to four (4) residents. During today’s inspection, six (6) residents were in care, all non-ambulatory. The facility does not have a secured perimeter or delayed-egress doors. LPA Garcia-Centeno, accompanied by Caregiver Caudillo, toured the interior and exterior of the facility, including resident bedrooms. The facility was clean, well-maintained, and free of obstruction or slip hazards. Resident bedrooms contained required furnishings, and all doors, toilets, and showers were operational. Adequate linens and hygiene supplies were available. The facility provided sufficient space and equipment for dining, laundry, visitation, meetings, and activities. The facility’s internal temperature, refrigerator, and freezer were within regulatory ranges. Hot water temperature in the resident-accessible kitchen faucet measured 110 degrees, which is within regulatory limits. The facility maintained at least two (2) days of perishable food and seven (7) days of non-perishable food, all properly stored. Cooking and dining equipment were present. No sharp objects, toxic chemicals, fireplaces, or open-faced heaters were accessible to residents. (continue at LIC809C) (continue from LIC809) Medications were properly labeled and stored in locked areas. Confidential resident and staff records were secured. No pools or bodies of water were observed. Per the Administrator, no firearms or ammunition are kept on the premises. Smoke alarms, carbon monoxide detectors, emergency lighting, and the facility telephone were operational. Fire extinguishers were serviced within the last 12 months on October 22, 2025. The first aid kit was complete and accessible. Required licensing postings were observed. Emergency drills were conducted in August 2025 and again this morning, November 17, 2025. LPA interviewed staff and residents and reviewed staff and resident files. No licensing concerns were identified through interviews. Resident files contained required documentation. Staff files included proof of current first aid training. The Administrator provided proof of current business liability insurance. Civil penalties in the amount of $900 were assessed for violations and are documented on the attached LIC 421. A plan of correction was developed in coordination with Administrator Karina Lopez. An exit interview was conducted with Administrator Karina Lopez. She was provided copies of this report, LIC 809D Deficiencies, LIC 421 Civil Penalty, and Licensee/Appeal Rights (LIC 9058, 03/22).the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 17, 2025
Nov 17, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Other

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Marisela Garcia-Centeno conducted an unannounced case management visit at the facility. LPA was greeted at the front entrance by Caregiver, Lizbeth Caudillo and granted entry after identifying herself. LPA explained the purpose of the visit to Administrator, Karina Lopez. During the visit, LPA Garcia-Centeno discuss the Title 22 regulation requirement for background checks and association of individuals to the facility prior to first day of work. During the annual inspection a caregiver was associated to the facility. An exit interview was conducted with Administrator, Lopez a copy of this report, and Licensee/Appeals Rights (LIC 9058 01/16) was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 17, 2025
Nov 10, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated

Allegation investigated: Neglect/Lack of Supervision resulting in serious bodily injury Licensee did not provide night supervision

On 11/10/2025, LPA Grace Donato conducted a telephone interview with the facility to deliver findings. LPA spoke with Administrator Vanessa Nunez and explained the purpose of the call. Regarding the allegation of neglect/Lack of Supervision resulting in serious bodily injury, based on the records provided, resident (R1) was sent to the hospital by facility staff on 12/22/2024 after an unwitnessed fall. Due to R1s neuro cognitive issue, R1 could not recall details about the fall. For the allegation of Licensee did not provide night supervision, the department reviewed facility notes, and it showed that staff are observing R1 all throughout R1s stay in the facility. Staff observations about R1s behaviors are noted at different times of day and night shift. According to interviews, facility has live-in staff who do the night shift. Based on interviews and records review, the department has determined that although the allegations may have happened or are valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove the alleged violations did or did not occur, therefore the allegations are UNSUBSTANTIATED. Report is reviewed and a copy is provided. Unsubstantiatedthe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 10, 2025 · control 08-AS-20241223152834
Aug 18, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated

Allegation investigated: Licensee did not meet incontinence needs

On August 18, 2025, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Marisela Garcia-Centeno conducted a telephone conference with Licensee, Patricia Tapia and Administrator, Vanessa Nunez to present investigative findings. The Department’s investigation included a facility tour, record review, and interviews with staff and external sources. Allegation: Licensee did not meet incontinence needs On August 29, 2023, Community Care Licensing (CCL) received a complaint alleging that the licensee did not to meet a resident’s (R1) incontinence needs. Specifically, it was alleged that on or about August 25, 2023, R1 arrived at an outside agency soaked in urine, marking the third such occurrence. (Continue at LIC9099C) Unsubstantiated (Continue from LIC9099) Review of R1’s records confirmed that R1 required assistance with all activities of daily living, including bathing, grooming, and incontinence care. R1’s care plan indicated that staff were to provide incontinence care every two (2) hours or more frequently as needed. Interviews with staff and outside sources revealed that Monday through Friday, staff assisted R1 at approximately 7:00 a.m. with incontinence care, grooming, and changing clothes before R1 ate breakfast and was transported to the outside agency. Facility records confirmed that R1 attended the outside agency daily, Monday through Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Staff reported that R1 may have experienced an incontinence episode during transport, which could explain R1’s condition upon arrival at the agency. Interviews with outside sources further indicated that during weekly visits to the facility, R1 was consistently observed clean and without signs of hygiene neglect. No odors were reported at the facility. In addition, interviews with other residents’ responsible parties revealed no concerns regarding incontinence care or staff meeting residents’ needs. The investigation did not yield evidence to support the allegation. Records also showed that during prior visits on June 28, 2022; May 18, 2023; September 7, 2023; and December 5, 2024, the facility was consistently observed to be clean, organized, and free of odors, with no concerns regarding incontinence care. Conclusion Based on the investigation—including record reviews and interviews with staff and external sources—there was insufficient evidence to substantiate the allegation. Therefore, the allegation is deemed unsubstantiated. An exit interview was conducted with Licensee Tapia and Administrator, Nunez. A copy of this report and the Licensee Appeal Rights (LIC 9058 03/22) were provided via email at SUNSETCOASTLIVING@GMAIL.COM , an electronic email receipt confirmed receipt of report.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Aug 18, 2025 · control 08-AS-20230829084110
20241 state visit · 1 document
Dec 5, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Marisela Garcia-Centeno conducted an unannounced Required Annual Inspection. The facility file was reviewed before the visit. LPA identified herself and was granted entry by Caregiver, Erika Hernandez to whom she disclosed the purpose of the visit. LPA spoke with Administrator, Karina Lopez during the visit. The administrator certificate is current through September 2026. Administrator, Patricia Tapia arrived at the facility during the visit. According to the facility’s license, the facility has a maximum capacity of six (6) elderly residents ages 60 and above; all of whom may be non-ambulatory; a hospice waiver approved for four (4) residents. During today’s inspection, there were a total of five (5) residents in care, of which five (5) were non-ambulatory. The facility does not feature a secured perimeter or delayed egress doors. LPA Garcia-Centeno was accompanied by Caregiver, Hernandez while touring the interior and exterior of the facility. In addition, the residents’ rooms were inspected. The facility was clean and in good repair. Pathways were free of obstruction and slip hazards. The residents’ bedrooms contained the required furnishings. The doors, toilet, and shower were in working order. Extra linens and hygiene supplies were present. The facility had sufficient space and equipment to facilitate dining, laundry, visitation, meetings, and activities for the residents in care. The facility’s internal temperature and refrigerator and freezer temperatures were within the regulatory range. During today’s visit, LPA observed, via measurement with a thermometer, that the hot water temperature from the kitchen faucet accessible to residents was within regulatory range. There were at least 2 days of perishable food, and at least 7 days of non-perishable food present, all safely stored. Cooking/dining equipment and utensils were present. There were no sharp objects, toxic chemicals/poisons, fireplaces, or open-faced heaters accessible to residents. (continue at LIC809C) (continue from LIC809) Medications were labeled, as required and stored in locked areas. Confidential residents and staff records were appropriately stored. No pools or bodies of water were observed on the premises. Per the administrator, no firearms or ammunition are kept at the facility. Smoke alarms, carbon monoxide detectors, emergency lighting, and facility telephone were all working. The fire extinguishers were serviced within the last 12 months. The first aid kit was complete and readily accessible. Required licensing postings were observed in visible areas of the facility. LPA interviewed staff and residents present during the visit and reviewed staff and residents' records. LPA interviews did not raise any licensing concerns. The residents' files that LPA reviewed contained the required documents. Staff records contained proof of current first aid training. The administrator presented proof of current/active business liability insurance and surety bond as required by Title 22 regulations. No deficiencies were cited or observed on this date. The Licensee was provided a copy of her appeal rights (LIC9058 03/22). An exit interview was conducted with Caregiver, Erika Hernandez, and a copy of this report was provided at the end of the visit.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Dec 5, 2024
20231 state visit · 1 document
Dec 8, 2023Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Marisela Garcia-Centeno conducted an unannounced Required Annual Inspection. The facility file was reviewed before the visit. LPA identified herself and was granted entry by Caregiver, Anna Perez Ocampo to whom she disclosed the purpose of the visit. Administrator, Patricia Tapia arrived at the facility later during the visit. According to the facility’s license, the facility has a maximum capacity of six (6) elderly residents ages 60 and above; all of whom may be non-ambulatory; a hospice waiver approved for four (4) residents. During today’s inspection, there were a total of four (4) residents in care, of which four (4) were non-ambulatory. The facility does not feature a secured perimeter or delayed egress doors. LPA Garcia-Centeno was accompanied by Caregiver, Ocampo while touring the interior and exterior of the facility. In addition, the residents’ rooms were inspected. The facility was clean and in good repair. Pathways were free of obstruction and slip hazards. The residents’ bedrooms contained the required furnishings. The doors, toilet, and shower were in working order. Extra linens and hygiene supplies were present. The facility had sufficient space and equipment to facilitate dining, laundry, visitation, meetings, and activities for the residents in care. The facility’s internal temperature and refrigerator and freezer temperatures were within the regulatory range. During today’s visit, LPA observed, via measurement with a thermometer, that the hot water temperature from the kitchen faucet accessible to residents was within regulatory range. There were at least 2 days of perishable food, and at least 7 days of non-perishable food present, all safely stored. Cooking/dining equipment and utensils were present. There were no sharp objects, toxic chemicals/poisons, fireplaces, or open-faced heaters accessible to residents. (continue at LIC809C) Continue from LIC809 Medications were labeled, as required and stored in locked areas. Confidential residents and staff records were appropriately stored. No pools or bodies of water were observed on the premises. Per the administrator, no firearms or ammunition are kept at the facility. Smoke alarms, carbon monoxide detectors, emergency lighting, and facility telephone were all working. The fire extinguishers were serviced within the last 12 months. The first aid kit was complete and readily accessible. Required licensing postings were observed in visible areas of the facility. LPA interviewed staff and residents present during the visit and reviewed staff and residents' records. LPA interviews did not raise any licensing concerns. The residents' files that LPA reviewed contained the required documents. Staff records contained proof of current first aid training. The administrator presented proof of current/active business liability insurance and surety bond as required by Title 22 regulations. No deficiencies were cited or observed on this date. The Licensee was provided a copy of her appeal rights (LIC9058 01/16). An exit interview was conducted with Administrator, Patricia Tapia, and a copy of this report was provided at the end of the visit.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Dec 8, 2023
What the state’s words mean
Substantiatedthe state found the allegation more likely true than notUnsubstantiatedthere was not enough evidence to prove a violation occurred — not a finding of wrongdoingUnfoundedthe evidence showed the allegation was false, could not have happened, or had no reasonable basisType A citationa violation that poses an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights if it is not correctedType B citationa violation that could become a risk if not corrected, or one involving records, resources or required services

CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗

An “unsubstantiated” complaint is not a finding of wrongdoing — it means the state investigated and could not confirm the allegation. Outcome words are the state’s own; we never grade, score, or color a record, and we publish no reviews — the state’s dated documents and the questions below stand in their place.

Life here

Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.

The home has not described daily life anywhere we have reviewed yet — that is the case for most small homes, and it says nothing about the home. These questions fill in the picture; keep the ones that matter to you.

Before you call

Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.

  1. What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
  2. Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
  3. Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
  4. What could change whether someone can stay here?
  5. Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?

Other homes nearby

The nearest licensed homes in San Diego County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.

Explore San Diego County