Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet

Summer Springs Board & Care

Small home·Licensed for 6·Bakersfield, California

Licensed since 2009Licence #157204221Medi-Cal ALW
  • Care approvals on fileWheelchair · Hospice · BedriddenState licensing record · September 13, 2026
  • Starting rate$3,000 a monthListed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026
  • Home sizeLicensed for 6Small care home · a licensed care home (RCFE)
  • Room at the last state visit5 of 6 beds occupiedNovember 22, 2024 · not a current opening
  • Ways to payMedi-Cal ALW acceptedDHCS participant list · August 9, 2026
  • Last state visitMarch 20, 2026CDSS inspection record

Summer Springs Board & Care is a small care home in Bakersfield — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 6 residents since 2009. Dementia care is not on file.

Built from CDSS public records · September 13, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.

Quick answers and the state record

A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.

Quick answers about Summer Springs Board & Care

Is Summer Springs Board & Care licensed?

The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.

How many residents is Summer Springs Board & Care licensed for?

6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.

Has Summer Springs Board & Care been cited?

0 Type A and 1 Type B citation since 2009, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. Those records count 11 state visits over the same years.

Is Summer Springs Board & Care still open?

This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.

What does Summer Springs Board & Care cost?

$3,000 a month to start — listed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026.

The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living shared bedroom, seen September 9, 2026.

Among 16 other homes of a similar licensed size in Bakersfield that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $3,250 to $4,100 a month, and the middle figure is $3,500 (n = 16 other homes publishing a starting rate).

Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.

A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.

The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.

A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.

Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out. What Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver covers in a care home.

Does Summer Springs Board & Care take Medi-Cal?

On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home appears on the DHCS participation list, August 9, 2026. Confirm eligibility and current participation with the program. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.

Who holds the license?

The license is held by Summer Springs Board & Care, LLC, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. See the homes licensed to Summer Springs Board and Care LLC — at least 4 on the state roster.

Is there a hospital nearby?

Mercy Southwest Hospital is 4.4 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.

Can Summer Springs Board & Care keep a resident on hospice?

Hospice care is approved on this license, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.

Summer Springs Board & Care license and inspection record

  • Name on the license: “SUMMER SPRINGS BOARD & CARE”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
  • License #157204221. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • Licensed for 6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • Licensed to Summer Springs Board & Care, LLC, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • First licensed in 2009, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • 11 state inspection visits since 2009, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
  • 0 Type A and 1 Type B citation on file since 2009, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. The same records count 11 state visits in that period.
  • 2 complaints and 1 substantiated allegation on file since 2009, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
  • The most recent state visit on file is March 20, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Type A citationa violation that poses an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights if it is not correctedType B citationa violation that could become a risk if not corrected, or one involving records, resources or required services

California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗

See the state’s own record

Can they support the care needed?

California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.

  • Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved · covers up to 6 residents
  • Dementia / memory careNot on file · ask the home
  • Hospice careApproved by the state
  • BedriddenApproved · covers up to 3 residents

State licensing record · September 13, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.

Read the state’s own wording
ALL MAY BE NON-AMBULATORY. FIRE CLEARED FOR THREE (3) BEDRIDDEN RESIDENTS. HOSPICE WAIVER APPROVED FOR TWO(2) RESIDENTS.

935 - ELDERLY

CDSS record, verbatim · September 13, 2026

As needs change

  • Staying through hospice

    Hospice waiver on file — care may continue at the end of life

    Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”

    State licensing record · September 13, 2026

4 more questions to ask the home
  • Two-person transfers or a lift

    Not on file

    Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”

  • Someone awake overnight

    Not on file

    Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”

  • Medicines

    Not on file

    Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”

  • If memory loss develops

    Dementia-care designation not on file

    Ask: “If memory loss develops, what would change — and when would a move be needed?”

Care & day-to-day support

These are the home’s own statements about its day-to-day practice — they are not part of the state licensing record, and the state has not approved or reviewed them.

What it costs here

This home’s starting rate

$3,000a month to start

Listed by the home on Seniorly · September 9, 2026 · See listing

Likely monthly total

$3,000a month

Likely $3,000–$3,600

With a shared room and basic help.

An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.

See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · where the price comes from
Room
Daily care
Sharing the room

Memory care is not priced here: a dementia-care designation is not on file for this home. Ask the home.

  • Starting monthly rate$3,000this home

    The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living shared bedroom, seen September 9, 2026.

  • Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600

    Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).

  • One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000

    Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.

Likely monthly totalLikely $3,000–$3,600
$3,000
First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $3,000–$7,100
$5,000
How people payOn the Medi-Cal waiver list · private pay, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
  • Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
  • Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home appears on the DHCS participation list, August 9, 2026. Confirm eligibility and current participation with the program. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board. For a resident on SSI/SSP, California’s 2026 standard sends $1,444.07 a month to the home for room and board.
  • SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
  • VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
  • Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
  • MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
If the money runs out, what Medi-Cal covers
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
  • The care level

    Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.

  • What is billed separately

    Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.

  • Move-in costs

    A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.

  • Increases

    California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.

  • What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
  • What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
  • What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
  • Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWhere this price comes from

The home lists this starting rate on Seniorly for assisted living shared bedroom, seen September 9, 2026.

10 homes like this within 5 miles publish starting rates mostly between $3,000–$3,800.

  • Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
  • Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
  • Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
  • Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
  • We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
  • It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 10 nearby homes behind this estimate

Where it is

  • 6112 Summer Springs Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93313Address from the public record · September 13, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.

Opening the neighborhood map…

The state record

California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.

Since 2022, the state has filed 11 documents for this home, and its records count 11 visits since 2009. The most recent is a facility evaluation report, dated March 20, 2026.

On file since
2022
State visits
11
Most recent visit
March 20, 2026
Occupied · November 22, 2024 visit
5 of 6 bedsa count on that day, not an opening

We hold 2 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated May 12, 2022 to November 22, 2024. 2 of the 2 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Substantiated” (1), “Unsubstantiated” (1). 2 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 2 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.

Beside homes the same size

  • Type A citations0typical 0
  • Type B citations1typical 0
  • Substantiated allegations1typical 0
  • Total complaints2typical 0

“Typical” is the statewide median across the 6,808 licensed small board-and-care homes (6 or fewer beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 2009.

Year by year
YearVisitsDocumentsSubstantiated20262302025110202433020231102022231

The last 36 months — 7 of 11 documents

20262 state visits · 3 documents
Mar 20, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

On 03/20/2026 Licensing Program Analyst arrived at the facility to complete an unannounced annual visit. LPA met with Administrator, Soccorro "Ann" Telmo, explained reason for visit and was permitted entry into the facility. LPA completed a tour of the facility inside and out. A health and safety check was completed on residents in care. 6 residents present during todays visit. There are currently no residents who receive hospice services or are bedridden. Pathways and doors were clear and free from obstruction. Facility was without odor. Common areas were adequately furnished, and adequately lit. Smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors were present and operational at time of visit. Fire extinguisher observed fully charged and last purchased 01/2026. Last fire drill on conducted on 3/5/26. 5 of 6 resident rooms observed to have the required furnishings and with adequate lighting. Sharps, chemicals and medications were located in locked cabinets/closets and cupboards. LPA observed sufficient seating under covered patio areas. The following issues were observed during today’s visit: Roach baits were observed under kitchen counter stored with food. Food observed in facility freezer in the garage was not stored properly and undated. Food in the kitchen refrigerator/freezer was not stored properly and with out dates. Medications are being pre-poured for the day. Medications are being kept in a container in the kitchen cabinet. Facility has a "facility account" where all resident funds go into. Facility is not properly safeguarding resident cash. Facility is not completing functional capabilities for residents in care. Pre-admission appraisals are not being completed. Deficiencies cited per California Code of Regulations, Title 22, deficiencies are being cited on the attached 809D. If not corrected, the violation with have a direct risk to the health, safety and/or personal rights of residents in care. LPA requested the following documents to be submitted to CCL by 3/27/26: current copy of Administrator’s Certificate, Administrator Organization (LIC 309), Designation of Administrative Responsibility (LIC 308), Emergency Disaster Plan (LIC 610-E), Affidavit regarding Resident Cash Resources (LIC 400), Personnel Report (LIC 500), Register of Facility Clients/Residents (LIC 9020), a current copy of liability/surety insurance in order to update the facility file. Exit interview was conducted with Administrator, Ann. A plan of correction was developed by Administrator and reviewed by LPA. A copy of this report, deficiencies, and appeal rights were discussed and provided to Administrator.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 20, 2026
Mar 20, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Deficiencies

On 03/20/2026 Licensing Program Analyst arrived at the facility to complete an unannounced Case Management visit. LPA met with Administrator, Soccorro "Ann" Telmo, explained reason for visit and was permitted entry into the facility. LPA completed a tour of the facility inside and out. A health and safety check was completed on residents in care. 6 residents present during todays visit. There are currently no residents who receive hospice services or are bedridden. This case management is being conducted from a complaint visit occurring on 2/21/26. During this visit LPA observed a conversation between R1 and S1. S1 was informed by R1 that they "overdosed" on medication. Interview with S1 disclosed that family of R1 picked up a prescription (Metformin 500 mg tablet 2x daily by mouth) from the pharmacy and provided the medication to R1. S1 stated they were unaware family already provided the medication to R1. S1 provided R1 the medication a second time. R1 received 1000 mg in am instead of 2x's daily as prescribed. Review of incident reports for the facility does not disclose there was a medication error on this date for R1. During the annual visit being conducted on 3/20/26, a medication audit was completed. The audit disclosed that R2 also has medication errors. Review of medication record disclosed R2 has prescription for the following medications: 1) Carvedilol 3.125 mg tablets 2x daily. Prescription states that medication is to be held if BP is<110/HR<60. Review of record does not show that R2 had their BP taken on 3/8/26 and 3/12/26. 2) Sertraline 25 mg tablets 1x daily. Medication started on 3/7/26. Review of records/medication show the prescription is missing 1 tablet. S1 and Administrator is unaware what occurred. 3) Tramadol HCL 50 mg tablet as needed for pain 3x daily. Medication started on 2/26/26. Review of record/medication shows 3 tablets are missing. 4) Lisinopril 2.5 mg tablets 1x daily. Medication started 2/16/26. Medication audit show medication ran out on 3/17/26 and was not provided to R2 on 3/19/26 and 3/20/26 and a refill has not been received. Deficiencies cited per California Code of Regulations, Title 22, deficiencies are being cited on the attached 809D. If not corrected, the violation with have a direct risk to the health, safety and/or personal rights of residents in care. Exit interview was conducted with Administrator, Ann. A plan of correction was developed by Administrator and reviewed by LPA. A copy of this report, deficiencies, and appeal rights were discussed and provided to Administrator.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 20, 2026

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type A · Section cited: CCR 87465(a)(4) · Plan of correction due date: Mar 23, 2026

87465 Incidental Medical and Dental Care (a) A plan for incidental medical and dental care shall be developed by each facility. The plan shall encourage routine medical and dental care and provide for assistance in obtaining such care, by compliance with the following: (4) The licensee shall assist residents with self-administered medications as needed. This requirement was not met as evidence by: records reviewed and interviews completed. The licensee did not comply with the section cited above in that R1 was provided medication 2x in the am instead of 2x daily as prescribed and medication audit for R2 disclosed 4 medication errors. This poses an immediate health safety and or personal rights risk to residents in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 20, 2026

Plan of correction: Administrator stated they will provide training to all staff on medication administration and documentation. In-service sign in sheet and training material will be provided to CCL by POC date.

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR87211(a)(1) · Plan of correction due date: Mar 27, 2026

87211 Reporting Requirements(a) Each licensee shall furnish to the licensing agency such reports as the Department may require, including, but not limited to, the following:(1) A written report shall be submitted to the licensing agency and to the person responsible for the resident within seven days of the occurrence of any of the events specified in (A) through (D) below... This requirement was not met as evidence by: record review of special incident reports submitted to the Department. Incident reports were not reported for medication errors with R1 and R2. This poses a potential health safety and or person rights risk to residents in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 20, 2026

Plan of correction: Administrator stated they will be providing In-service training to all staff on reporting requirements. In-service sign in sheets and training material will be provided to CCL by POC date as proof of correction.

Feb 21, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Deficiencies

On 2/21/26 Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) M. Garza arrived at the facility for an unannounced case management visit. LPA met with Maria Agatep and Elmer Agatep, explained reason for visit and was permitted entry into the facility. Administrator, Soccorro Telmo was contacted and arrived some time later. LPA completed a tour of the facility was completed inside and out. A health and safety check was completed on residents in care. This case management visit is being completed to address issues observed during a complaint (#24-AS-20260218162333) visit on todays date. During review of records LPA observed the facility did not have a complete resident file for R1. File was missing documentation (Identification and Emergency Information (LIC 601), Pre-Placement Appraisal (LIC 603), updated Needs and Services Plan (LIC 625) , Release of Client/Resident Medical Information (LIC 605A), valid Admission Agreement. This poses a potential health safety and or personal rights risk to residents in care. Deficiencies issues per California Code of Regulations, Title 22. Deficiencies cited on attached 809D. Exit interview completed with Administrator, Socorro "Ann". A plan of correction was developed by Administrator and reviewed by LPA. A copy of this report, deficiencies and appeal rights provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Feb 21, 2026

From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87506 · Plan of correction due date: Mar 6, 2026

87506 Resident Records (b)Each resident’s record shall contain at least the following information:... This requirement was not met as evidence by: records reviewed and interviews conducted. The licensee did not comply with the section cited above in that R1's file was reviewed and missing a Identification and Emergency Information (LIC 601), Pre-Placement Appraisal (LIC 603), updated Needs and Services Plan (LIC 625) , Release of Client/Resident Medical Information (LIC 605A), valid Admission Agreement. This poses a potential health safety and or personal rights risk to residents in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Feb 21, 2026

Plan of correction: Administrator stated they have been updating records as needed. Administrator stated that since accepting R1 TSP has been provided 2x. Administrator stated they will update files and provide a sample file to CCL as proof of correction.

20251 state visit · 1 document
Apr 15, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

On 04/15/25, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) M. Yang arrived unannounced to conduct an Annual Inspection. LPA introduced self, stated the purpose of the visit, and met with Licensee/ Administrator Socorro “Ann” Telmo. LPA toured facility with A1. All six residents were present during the inspection. The facility was observed to be at a comfortable temperature, clean, in good repair, and no passageway obstructions or fire hazards were observed inside. Medications were observed locked in kitchen shelf. Residents’ MARS and Centrally Stored Medication Records were reviewed. Medications were checked. Fire extinguisher was observed with a service date of: 03/18/25. Chemicals observed locked under kitchen sink. An adequate supply of perishable and non-perishable food was observed. Freezer temperature maintained at -16 degree F and refrigerator temperature maintained at 40 degrees F. Knives observed locked in kitchen drawer. Residents' bedrooms were toured and observed to be adequately furnished with bed, dresser, and adequate lighting. All bathrooms are observed with securely fastened grab bars and non-skid mat. Hot water temperature was tested range at 116.3 degrees F in hall bathroom and 117.1 degrees F in master bathroom. Extra linens were observed. Outside of facility toured and observed free of debris. Side gate was self-closing and self-latching. Carbon monoxide and smoke detectors were tested and observed to be operational. A sample of staff files were reviewed to have all required documents. A deficiency is being cited on the attached 809D in accordance to California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 6. Exit Interview conducted. The following documents are requested and submitted to Fresno CCL by: 04/21/25. The following updated forms were requested: Lic 308, Lic 500, Lic 610D, current liability insurance, and current Administrator Certificate. A copy of this report and appeal rights was provided to Licensee, whose signature on this form confirms receipt of this report.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Apr 15, 2025
20243 state visits · 3 documents
Nov 22, 2024Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated

Allegation investigated: Staff did not ensure resident received assistance with going to medical appointments Staff did not ensure resident received meal service Staff did not ensure activities were provided for residents Staff did not ensure incontinence care needs of residents were being met

Licensing Program Analysts (LPA) Shawna Doucette arrived at the facility unannounced to commence a complaint investigation. LPA identified herself and explained the purpose of the visit with Staff Maria Edna Agatep. Administrator Socorro Telmo responded to the facility to assist with the visit. Based on interviews and records review R1 was on Hospice and Hospice was ensuring medical care. Based on interviews, it is unknown if there was a time R1 did not receive meal service. Per interviews, residents are fed all meals. Based on interviews, facility provides activities to residents in care. It is undetermined if there was a time residents were not offered activities. Based on interviews, residents recieve incontinence care. It is undetermined if there was a time R1 did not recieve incontinence care. Unsubstantiated Based on record reviews and interviews, Although the allegation may have happened or is valid, there is not a preponderance of evidence to prove the alleged violation did or did not occur, therefore the allegation is UNSUBSTANTIATED. An exit interview was conducted and a copy of this report was provided.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 22, 2024 · control 24-AS-20240717161359
Apr 17, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Case Management - Annual Continuation

Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Shawna Doucette arrived at the facility unannounced to conduct the Required Annual Inspection. LPA met with Administrator Socorro Telmo. During yesterday's visit LPA's toured the facility. LPA Doucette observed 4 bedrooms in the facility. While touring the facility, LPA observed an added staff bedroom/office/garage which was not on the facility sketch and was not fire cleared. Facility had two different facility sketches posted in the facility. The first sketch did not identify a caregiver room. The second sketch identified the caregiver room as bedroom 1 where residents reside. LPA pulled the sketch from licensing file which does not identify a caregiver room. The staff bedroom/office/ garage contained a fully made bed with sheets and blanket, a recliner and filing cabinets. Facility did not have plan of operation at the facility. Hot water temperature was measured 115 F. Bathroom did not have skid mats but had grab bars. Facility staff purchased skid mats during visit. Kitchen toured, supply of food observed. Carrots were expired October 2023. Knives were locked in kitchen drawer. Medications were stored in a Medication cart which was found to be unlocked in the dining room. Refrigerator for medications were found to be unlocked containing morphine and insulin in the dining room. LPA's took photos. Cleaning supplies were in a locked cabinet under the kitchen and bathroom sinks. Smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors were checked and operating. Resident, medication, and staff records were reviewed. R3's centrally stored log was reviewed and errors were observed. One of R3's narcotic medications was not logged. R1's records were reviewed and it was found that R1 self administers injections. R1 had a sharps container in a shared room with R2, which made sharps accessible to R2. Facility does not have a Home Health Care Plan for R2. Facility did not have a Hospice Care Plan for R4. Staff have current first aid and CPR training. Staff did not have training logged correctly. Training was missing hours and dates. Facility staff did not have training from Hospice for R4. Administrator was not able to provide intial staff training for staff. During today's visit Administrator was able to provide plan of operation and plan of operation for dementia. LPA rechecked the medication cart and two drawers were unlocked with medication. LPA took photos. LPA educated Licensee/Administrator on where to locate care tool to assist Licensee/Administrator in becoming compliant. Refer to 809D for deficiencies. Civil Penalties were issued for repeat violations. An exit interview was conducted with the Administrator. A copy of this report, plan of correction and appeal rights were discussed and left with the Administrator, Socorro Telmo, whose signature on this form confirms receipt of these documents.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Apr 17, 2024

The state marks this report as 20 pages; the online copy we transcribed has 10. You can request the full file from the county licensing office.

Apr 16, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file

Type of visit: Required - 1 Year

Licensing Program Analysts (LPA)'s Shawna Doucette and Sarah Hurt arrived at the facility unannounced to conduct the Required Annual Inspection. LPA met with Administrator Socorro Telmo. LPA disclosed the purpose of the visit and was granted entry into the facility by Staff Teofila Vipug. A tour of the facility was conducted. LPA's checked the food. LPA's took photos. LPA's reviewed staff and resident records. LPA's reviewed medications. LPA's took photos. Due to time constraints, LPA's will return at a later date to complete the inspection and issue any deficiencies or civil penalties. An exit interview was conducted with the Administrator. A copy of this report was provided via email.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Apr 16, 2024
What the state’s words mean
Substantiatedthe state found the allegation more likely true than notUnsubstantiatedthere was not enough evidence to prove a violation occurred — not a finding of wrongdoingUnfoundedthe evidence showed the allegation was false, could not have happened, or had no reasonable basisType A citationa violation that poses an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights if it is not correctedType B citationa violation that could become a risk if not corrected, or one involving records, resources or required services

CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗

An “unsubstantiated” complaint is not a finding of wrongdoing — it means the state investigated and could not confirm the allegation. Outcome words are the state’s own; we never grade, score, or color a record, and we publish no reviews — the state’s dated documents and the questions below stand in their place.

Life here

Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.

Find a detail about life at this home.

Rooms & the spaces they will use

  • Outdoor spaceOutdoor Common Areas

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Common areasIndoor Common Areas

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Visitor parking

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Meals, preferences & familiar food

Activities & the rhythm of a day

  • Activity types offeredActivities On-site

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Trips outside the home

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

  • Religious services off site

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Faith, culture & language

  • Languages spoken by caregiversChinese

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Visiting & staying involved

  • Transportation costs extraReported no

    Reported on aplaceformom.com · seen September 9, 2026.

Before you call

Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.

  1. What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
  2. Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
  3. Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
  4. What could change whether someone can stay here?
  5. Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?

Other homes nearby

The nearest licensed homes in Kern County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.

Explore Kern County