Illustration — no photo of this home on file yet
American Senior Living
Small home·Licensed for 6·Bakersfield, California
- Care approvals on fileWheelchair · Dementia · Hospice · BedriddenState licensing record · September 13, 2026
- Estimated starting rate$4,050 a monthCovelight estimate · likely $3,300–$5,000
- Home sizeLicensed for 6Small care home · a licensed care home (RCFE)
- Room at the last state visit5 of 6 beds occupiedDecember 22, 2025 · not a current opening
- Ways to payMedi-Cal ALW acceptedDHCS participant list · August 9, 2026
- Last state visitMarch 10, 2026CDSS inspection record
American Senior Living is a small care home in Bakersfield — a licensed residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), the licence category behind “assisted living” and “board and care.” It is licensed for 6 residents since 2024.
Built from CDSS public records · September 13, 2026. Every fact below names its source and date.
Quick answers and the state record
A citation does not make a home unsafe, and an empty file does not make a home good.
Quick answers about American Senior Living
Is American Senior Living licensed?
The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
How many residents is American Senior Living licensed for?
6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Has American Senior Living been cited?
1 Type A and 0 Type B citation since 2024, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. Those records count 9 state visits over the same years.
Is American Senior Living still open?
This license was on the CDSS roster as of September 28, 2026.
What does American Senior Living cost?
$4,050 a month to start is a Covelight estimate, likely $3,300–$5,000. This home’s own rate is not on file. Ask: “What is the all-in monthly rate, and what would push it higher?”
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 17 small homes and similar homes within 9 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
Among 17 other homes of a similar licensed size in Bakersfield that publish a starting rate, the middle half runs $3,000 to $4,050 a month, and the middle figure is $3,500 (n = 17 other homes publishing a starting rate).
Each of those is a home’s own published figure, gathered on its own date in September 2026 — not an average of ours, and not a survey. Similar size means small and mid-size homes counted together, and large communities counted on their own, because they are different markets.
A home outside the band is not overcharging or underpricing: a starting rate covers different things in different homes, which is the first thing to ask about.
The price is made in the phone call. Nothing here is a quote, an offer or a discount.
A starting rate is the room and the base care. California homes commonly bill care levels, medication management, supplies, transport and a second person in the room as extras. Many also charge a one-time fee at move-in. Ask for that list in writing before anything is signed.
Only prices a home put out itself count here: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price a listing site says the home confirmed. Prices a site shows without saying where they came from are left out. What Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver covers in a care home.
Does American Senior Living take Medi-Cal?
On Medi-Cal’s Assisted Living Waiver: this home appears on the DHCS participation list, August 9, 2026. Confirm eligibility and current participation with the program. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board.
Who holds the license?
The license is held by American Senior Living LLC, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
Is there a hospital nearby?
Mercy Southwest Hospital is 4.5 miles away in a straight line, per the CDPH licensed-hospital list dated September 16, 2026. See licensed care homes near it.
Can American Senior Living keep a resident on hospice?
Hospice care is approved on this license, covering up to 2 residents, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
American Senior Living license and inspection record
- Name on the license: “AMERICAN SENIOR LIVING”, per the CDSS roster as of May 25, 2025.
- License #157209425. The state lists this license as “Licensed,” per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- Licensed for 6 residents — a small home, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- Licensed to American Senior Living LLC, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- First licensed in 2024, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- 9 state inspection visits since 2024, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
- 1 Type A and 0 Type B citation on file since 2024, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. The same records count 9 state visits in that period.
- 2 complaints and 1 substantiated allegation on file since 2024, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026. One complaint can carry several allegations.
- The most recent state visit on file is March 10, 2026, per CDSS records as of September 13, 2026.
California writes these definitions for every licensed home, not for this one. CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗
Can they support the care needed?
California licenses a home for specific kinds of care. The state’s record lists what this home is approved for; the home’s own answers fill in what changes as needs change.
- Wheelchair / non-ambulatoryApproved · covers up to 3 residents
- Dementia / memory careApproved by the state
- Hospice careApproved · covers up to 2 residents
- BedriddenApproved by the state
State licensing record · September 13, 2026. An approval may cover specific rooms or residents; it does not establish an opening.
Read the state’s own wording
AGE RANGE 60 AND OVER. HOSPICE WAIVER FOR TWO (2). THREE (3) BEDRIDDEN CLIENTS IN ROOMS 1 AND 5. THREE NON-AMBULATORY CLIENTS IN ROOMS 2, 3, AND 4.
983 - RCFE / DEMENTIA
CDSS record, verbatim · September 13, 2026
As needs change
- Staying through hospice
Hospice waiver on file · covers up to 2 — care may continue at the end of life
Ask: “If hospice is needed, can care continue here until the end?”
State licensing record · September 13, 2026
- If memory loss develops
Dementia-care designation on file
Ask: “Can we read the dementia care disclosure and discuss how daily support works?”
State licensing record · September 13, 2026
3 more questions to ask the home
- Two-person transfers or a lift
Not on file
Ask: “If two people or a lift are needed to transfer, can the person stay?”
- Someone awake overnight
Not on file
Ask: “Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?”
- Medicines
Not on file
Ask: “Who manages the medicines, and what happens when a dose is missed?”
What it costs here
Covelight estimate
$4,050a month to start
Likely $3,300–$5,000
From 17 nearby homes that publish rates · this home’s rate is not on file
Likely monthly total
$4,050a month
Likely $3,300–$5,200
With a shared room and basic help.
An estimate for planning, not a quote. The price is made in the phone call.
See the full cost breakdownRoom, care and fees · how people pay · how this estimate works
Starting monthly rate$4,050likely $3,300–$5,000
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 17 small homes and similar homes within 9 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
Basic help with daily careUsually includedup to $600
Basic help is usually part of the starting rate. Homes that price care by level start around $600 a month (45 California homes publish a care-level range, seen in September 2026).
One-time move-in fee$2,000one time · likely $0–$4,000
Homes that list a one-time entry or community fee charge a median of $2,000 (134 California listings; middle half $1,000–$4,000). Many homes list none — ask.
- Likely monthly totalLikely $3,300–$5,200
- $4,050
- First monthWith a one-time move-in fee · likely $3,900–$8,350
- $6,050
How people payOn the Medi-Cal waiver list · private pay, SSI/SSP, veterans, insurance
- Private payMost residents pay from savings, a home sale or family help. Ask for the rate and what it includes in writing.
- Medi-Cal Assisted Living WaiverThis home appears on the DHCS participation list, August 9, 2026. Confirm eligibility and current participation with the program. The waiver pays for care services, not room and board. For a resident on SSI/SSP, California’s 2026 standard sends $1,444.07 a month to the home for room and board.
- SSI/SSPCalifornia’s 2026 standard is $1,626.07 a month; $1,444.07 of it goes to the home and $182 stays with the resident. Whether this home accepts it is not on file — ask.
- VeteransVA Aid & Attendance can add to a veteran’s or surviving spouse’s pension. Ask whether residents here have used it.
- Long-term care insuranceMost policies pay for licensed care homes. Ask what paperwork the home provides for claims.
- MedicareDoes not pay for room and board in a care home. It can still cover hospice or home-health visits inside one.
Avoid surprises on the billWhat changes the price, and what to ask
- The care level
Some homes charge one all-inclusive rate. Others add levels or points as needs grow. Ask how the level is set, who decides, and what the next level costs.
- What is billed separately
Medication management, incontinence supplies, transportation and a second person in the room are often extra. Ask for the list in writing.
- Move-in costs
A one-time community fee or deposit is common. Ask what it covers and whether any of it comes back if the stay is short.
- Increases
California requires at least 90 days’ written notice, with reasons, before a rate rises (Health & Safety Code §1569.655). A change in the resident’s care level is the section’s own exception and can be billed sooner.
- What is the full monthly cost for the room and care we need, and what does it include?
- What would the next care level cost, and who decides when it changes?
- What is billed separately, and is there a one-time fee or deposit at move-in?
- Is any private-pay period required before another payment program can begin?
How this estimate worksWithin 25% for 7 in 10 homes in testing
Covelight’s estimate starts from the rates 17 small homes and similar homes within 9 miles publish, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices. In testing, the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 homes. This home’s own rate is not on file.
17 homes like this within 9 miles publish starting rates mostly between $3,000–$4,150.
- Only prices a home put out itself count: its own website, a listing it supplied, or a price Seniorly says the home confirmed. Prices a listing site shows without saying where they came from are left out.
- Nearby homes are the nearest of the same size that publish a rate, widening from 3 to 40 miles until at least 8 do. The estimate starts from what they charge, then adjusts for this home’s size, state care approvals, Medi-Cal waiver participation, years licensed and the area’s prices.
- Room, care-level, second-person and move-in lines come from what California homes publish on listing sites. Memory care uses Covelight’s researched premium over assisted living.
- Totals add each line’s figure and combine the lines’ ranges as separate charges, because a home is rarely at the top, or the bottom, of every line at once.
- We tested this estimate on 1,546 California homes that publish their own starting rate. It was within 10% of the real rate for 3 in 10 homes and within 25% for 7 in 10; the likely range held the real rate for 6 in 10 (September 12, 2026).
- It cannot see this home’s specials, how it assesses care, or which rooms are open.
Show the 17 nearby homes behind this estimate
- Alondra HomeBakersfield · 0.6 mi · Small home$3,800Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Blue Pearl Home Care IIBakersfield · 1.6 mi · Small home$3,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Summer Springs Board & CareBakersfield · 2.3 mi · Small home$3,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Central Valley Residential CareBakersfield · 2.4 mi · Small home$3,000Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Cobble Stone Residential Home CareBakersfield · 2.5 mi · Small home$3,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Riverstone Terrace Senior Living Memory CareBakersfield · 2.7 mi · Mid-size home$3,500Listed on Seniorly · memory care shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026. We don’t have this home’s dementia-care disclosure. California requires a home that advertises dementia care to describe that care in writing when you ask.
- Brighton ManorBakersfield · 5.0 mi · Small home$5,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Tlc Home Care 1Bakersfield · 5.5 mi · Small home$3,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Bella Vita at StoningtonBakersfield · 5.5 mi · Small home$4,200Listed on Seniorly · seen September 9, 2026
- Your Loved Ones MatterBakersfield · 5.6 mi · Small home$3,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Windcreek Senior CareBakersfield · 5.8 mi · Small home$3,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Village GardensBakersfield · 5.9 mi · Small home$4,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Garnsey GardenBakersfield · 5.9 mi · Small home$3,800Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- The TrinityBakersfield · 6.8 mi · Mid-size home$4,200Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- Redwood Senior Living BakersfieldBakersfield · 6.9 mi · Mid-size home$2,000Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- The Westchester Home on SpruceBakersfield · 7.8 mi · Small home$5,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
- A & A Bakersfield Care HomeBakersfield · 8.3 mi · Small home$3,500Listed on Seniorly · assisted living shared bedroom · seen September 9, 2026
Where it is
- 9003 Drovers Run Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93311Address from the public record · September 13, 2026. Confirm the entrance with the home before visiting.
Opening the neighborhood map…
The state record
California inspects every licensed home and publishes what it found. Here are the dated documents and the state’s own words, beside what is typical for homes this size.
Since 2024, the state has filed 8 documents for this home, and its records count 9 visits since 2024. The most recent is a facility evaluation report, dated March 10, 2026.
- On file since
- 2024
- State visits
- 9
- Most recent visit
- March 10, 2026
- Occupied · December 22, 2025 visit
- 5 of 6 bedsa count on that day, not an opening
We hold 2 complaint reports the state published for this home, dated November 4, 2025 to December 22, 2025. 2 of the 2 carry the state's recorded outcome word: “Substantiated” (1), “Unsubstantiated” (1). 2 include the transcribed allegation the state investigated, word for word. Summary composed by computer from the 2 complaint reports below — every count derives from them, and the documents themselves are the state's records, verbatim. We never grade, score, or color a record.
Beside homes the same size
- Type A citations1typical 0
- Type B citations0typical 0
- Substantiated allegations1typical 0
- Total complaints2typical 0
“Typical” is the statewide median across the 6,808 licensed small board-and-care homes (6 or fewer beds) in the state record — larger, longer-licensed homes accumulate more visits and reports, so compare like with like. One complaint can contain several allegations. Counts cover this licence since 2024.
Year by year
The last 36 months — 8 of 8 documents
Mar 10, 2026Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
On 03/10/26, Licensing Program Analysts (LPA) M. Yang arrived unannounced to conduct an annual visit. LPA introduce self, stated the purpose of the visit and met with staff Roxanne Chavez. All three residents were present during inspection. Licensee/Administrator (L1) Lina Juarez was called and arrived shortly during visit. LPA toured facility with L1. The facility was observed to be at a comfortable temperature, clean, in good repair, and no passageway obstructions or fire hazards were observed inside or outside. Fire extinguisher was observed with a service date of 02/24/26. Temperature maintained for refrigerator at 33 degrees F and freezer at -4 degrees F. Medications observed locked in kitchen shelf. MAR was reviewed. An adequate supply of perishable and non-perishable food was observed. Cleaning supplies observed stored under kitchen sink, under bathroom sink, in laundry room cabinet and garage cabinet locked. Extra linens observed in garage cabinets. All bedrooms were observed to have required furnishings and with adequate lighting. All bathrooms are observed with securely fastened grab bars and non-skid mats. Hot water tested maintained at 106.3 and 107.2 degrees F in vacant master bathroom and at 110.2 degrees F in hall bathroom. Outside of facility toured and observed to be free of debris. Adequate outdoor seating observed for residents. Side gate was observed free of debris. Carbon monoxide and smoke detectors were tested and observed to be operational during visit. All residents’ and sample of staff files were reviewed to have all required documents. A deficiency is being cited on the attached Lic 809D in accordance to California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 6. Exit Interview conducted. LPA received copies of Lic 308, Lic 500, Lic 610E, Lic 9020, current Administrator Certificate, and current liability insurance during visit. A copy of this report and appeal rights was provided to the Licensee, whose signature on this form confirms receipt of this report.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 10, 2026
The state marks this report as 5 pages; the online copy we transcribed has 4. You can request the full file from the county licensing office.
Dec 22, 2025Complaint investigation reportUnsubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Staff spoke to resident in an inappropriate manner. Staff did not assist resident for an extended period of time.
On this date 12/22/25, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) M. Yang conducted initial complaint investigation. LPA introduce self, stated the purpose of the visit, and met with Licensee/Administrator (A1) Lina Juarez and Licensee (L1) Shervin Mohammadi arrived shortly. LPA discussed complaint and delivered complaint findings to Licensees. During the course of the investigation, the Department conducted interviews and reviewed records. Staff and residents confirm staff did not speak to resident in an appropriate manner. Staff attended to resident needs when requested. Based on interviews conducted, staff alleged spoke to the resident in an appropriate manner and did not assist resident for an extended period of time, the preponderance of evidence has not been met. Therefore, the above allegations are found to be UNSUBSTANTIATED. An exit interview was conducted. A copy of this report was provided to Licensee/Administrator, whose signature on this form confirms receipt of this report. Unsubstantiatedthe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Dec 22, 2025 · control 24-AS-20251219150428
Nov 4, 2025Complaint investigation reportSubstantiated
Allegation investigated: Staff did not treat resident with respect
On this date, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) M. Yang conducted initial complaint investigation. LPA introduce self, stated the purpose of the visit, and met with Licensee/Administrator (L1) Lina Juarez. Licensee (L2) Shervin Mohammadi arrived shortly. LPA discussed complaint and delivered complaint findings to Licensees. During the course of the investigation, the Department conducted interviews and reviewed records. L1 confirmed making comments regarding R1. Based on interviews conducted, staff alleged not treating resident with respect, the preponderance of evidences has been met. Therefore, the above allegation is found to be SUBSTANTIATED. An exit interview was conducted. A copy of this report and appeal rights were provided to Licensee/Administrator, whose signature on this form confirms receipt of this report. Substantiatedthe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 4, 2025 · control 24-AS-20251029100138
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type A · Section cited: CCR 87468.1(a)(3) · Plan of correction due date: Nov 5, 2025
87468.1 (a)(3) To be free from punishment, humiliation, intimidation, abuse, or other actions of a punitive nature, such as withholding residents’ money or interfering with daily living functions such as eating, sleeping, or elimination. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on interviews conducted, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above Licensee/ Administrator confirmed making comments regarding R1 of R1’s behavior, which poses/posed an immediate health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 4, 2025
Plan of correction: Licensee will review Personal Rights regulation and submit a written statement of understanding and ensuring residents’ personal rights will be met. Written statement will be submitted to the Fresno CCL office by POC due date 11/05/25.
Nov 4, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Deficiencies
On 11/04/25, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) M. Yang conduct an unannounced case management-deficiency visit. LPA met with Licensee/Administrator (L1) Lina Juarez and Licensee (L2) Shervin Mohammadi. This case management visit is being conducted due to during complaint visit, staff and residents’ files were reviewed and staff training was not observed for S1. L1 informed LPA, R1 had a fall incident on 10/25/25 and was not reported to the department. A deficiency is being cited on the attached 809D in accordance to California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 6.An exit interview was conducted. A copy of this report and appeal rights was provided to L1, whose signature on this form confirms receipt of this report.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 4, 2025
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87412(c) · Plan of correction due date: Nov 21, 2025
87412 (c) Licensees shall maintain in the personnel records verification of required staff training and orientation. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on record review and interview, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above when LPA reviewed S1’s file and observed S1 have not received the required initial staff training and orientation, which poses/posed a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 4, 2025
Plan of correction: Licensee shall ensure that all staff have required trainings and continued trainings recorded. Licensee will submit S1’s required training including trainer’s full name, subject covered in the training, date of the training, number of hours of training per subject to the Fresno CCL office by POC due date 11/21/25.
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR87211(a)(1)(D) · Plan of correction due date: Nov 7, 2025
87211 (a)(1)(D) A written report shall be submitted to the licensing agency and to the person responsible for the resident within seven days of the occurrence of any of the events…(D) Any incident which threatens the welfare, safety or health of any resident, such as psychological abuse of a resident by staff or other residents, or unexplained absence of any resident. This requirement was not met as evidenced by: Based on record review and interview conducted, Licensee did not submit a written report to the department within 7 days of incident when R1 had a fall on 10/25/25, this poses a potential health and safety risk to residents in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 4, 2025
Plan of correction: Licensee will submit review Reporting Requirements regulation 87211 and submit a plan detailing steps the facility will take to ensure Reporting requirements are met by the POC due date 11/07/25.
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87506(b)(17) · Plan of correction due date: Nov 10, 2025
87506 (b)(17) Documents and information required… This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on record review, residents’ file were reviewed and observed R1 do not have an appraisal (Lic 603) and needs and services plan (Lic 625) on file, which poses/posed a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Nov 4, 2025
Plan of correction: Licensee shall ensure that all residents have the required records on file. R1’s Lic 603 and Lic 625 will completed and submitted the Fresno CCL office by POC due date 11/10/25.
Mar 18, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Required - 1 Year
On 03/18/25, Licensing Program Analysts (LPA) M. Yang arrived unannounced to conduct an annual visit. LPA introduce self, stated the purpose of the visit and met with Licensee/Administrator Lina Juarez and staff Shervin Mohammadi. All four residents were present during inspection. LPA observed three hospice residents and one non ambulatory resident. The facility was observed to be at a comfortable temperature, clean, in good repair, and no passageway obstructions or fire hazards were observed inside or outside. Fire extinguisher was observed with a service date of 02/24/25. Temperature maintained for refrigerator at 37 degrees F and freezer at -4 degrees F. Medications observed locked in kitchen shelf. Medications checked and MAR was reviewed. An adequate supply of perishable and non-perishable food was observed. Cleaning supplies observed stored under kitchen sink, in laundry room cabinet and garage cabinet locked. All bedrooms were observed to have required furnishings and with adequate lightening. Bathrooms were properly equipped and operational. All bathrooms are observed with securely fastened grab bars and non-skid mat. Extra linens observed in garage cabinets.Outside of facility toured and observed to be free of debris. Adequate outdoor seatings observed for residents. Side gate observed free of debris. Carbon monoxide and smoke detectors were tested and observed to be operational. All residents’ and sample of staff files were reviewed to have all required documents. No deficiencies issued during this inspection. Exit Interview conducted. The following documents are requested and submitted to Fresno CCL by: 03/24/25. Forms requested: Lic 308, Lic 500, Lic 610E, and current liability insurance. A copy of this report were provided to the Licensee, whose signature on this form confirms receipt of this report.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 18, 2025
Mar 18, 2025Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Case Management - Deficiencies
On 03/19/25, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) M. Yang arrived to conduct a case management-deficiency visit. LPA met with Licensee/Administrator (L1) Lina Juarez and staff(S1) Shervin Mohammadi. During the annual inspection on 03/18/25, LPA reviewed residents record and conducted interviews. L1 and S1 stated R1 had went to the hospital on 02/13/25 and 02/25/25 and was not reported to the department Records were reviewed and confirmed resident to the hospital. Deficiency is being cited on the attached 809D in accordance to California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 6. An exit interview was conducted. A copy of this report and appeal rights was provided to Licensee, whose signature confirms receipt of this report.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 18, 2025
From the deficiency page — Deficiency type: Type B · Section cited: CCR 87211(a)(1) · Plan of correction due date: Mar 21, 2025
87211(a)(1) Reporting Requirements (a) Each licensee shall furnish to the licensing agency such reports as the Department may require… (1) A written report shall be submitted to the licensing agency and to the person responsible for the resident within seven days of the occurrence of any of the events... This requirement was not met as evidenced by: Based on record review and interviews, the Licensee did not ensure a written incident report was submitted to the department within 7 days of occurrence when R1 went to the hospital on 02/13/25 and 02/25/25, this poses/posed a potential health and safety risk to residents in care.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 18, 2025
Plan of correction: Licensee agrees to submit a plan detailing steps the facility will take to ensure the requirements of Reporting requirements are met by the POC due date 03/21/25.
Apr 19, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Prelicensing
On 04/19/24, Licensing Program Analyst (LPA) Yang arrived to the facility announced to conduct the Pre licensing visit. LPA Yang met with Licensee Lina Diaz Juarez and Licensee’s spouse Shervin Mohammadi who granted LPA entry into the facility. The facility is a 5 bedroom, and 3 bathroom home and fire clearance were granted for 3 Ambulatory and 3 Bedridden for a total capacity of 6. A fire extinguisher was observed with a service date of 01/17/24. There are no clients present during this inspection. LPA toured the facility with Licensee. Facility was free from ground obstructions and odor free. Common areas were observed to have adequate seating and lighting available. Kitchen was toured and observed to have dishes, plates, and utensils. Knives kept locked in kitchen drawer. Refrigerator temperature maintained at 39.2 degrees F and freezer temperature maintained at 0 degrees F. Medications will be kept locked in kitchen shelf. Cleaning supplies and chemicals was locked in a garage cabinet. LPA observed an extra supply of bed linens and personal hygiene products. Bedrooms were observed to have the required furnishing and are ready for occupancy. Bathroom 1 hot water temperature tested at 109.6 degrees F, ranged between 107.4 to 108.1 degrees F in master bathroom, and 110.7 in private bathroom. Outside of facility toured. Exits were open and free of obstructions with self-closing side gate. Adequate outdoor seatings available for residents. LPA observed side gate to be self-latching and free of debris. First aid kit was observed and contained all required items. Smoke detectors and carbon monoxide were observed to be operational during this inspection. Facility phone number will be (661) 493-8209. Component III was conducted during pre-licensing visit with Applicants. I have found that applicant has met all pre licensing requirements. LPA will submit documentation to CAB in Sacramento for final review prior to license being issued.the state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Apr 19, 2024
Mar 21, 2024Facility evaluation reportReport on file
Type of visit: Office
Facility Type: RCFE Application Type: Initial Capacity: 6 Census (if any clients in care): 0 COMP II Participants: JUAREZ, LINA F DIAZ - Applicant/Administrator Interview Method: Virtual interview (Skype, Go To Meeting, etc) On 03/21/2024, applicant/administrator participated in COMP II. Identification of the applicant and administrator was verified through interview questions based on photo ID and other identifying personal information. During COMP II, applicant and administrator confirmed that they have read and understand community care facility licensing laws included in the Health and Safety Codes and the California Code of Regulations Title 22. Signed LIC 809 with copy of photo ID have been obtained. During COMP II, CAB analyst confirmed Applicant/Administrator’s understanding of following areas: 1. Facility operation: License type, client/resident populations, and program 2. Admission Policies 3. Staffing requirements & Training 4. Restrictive/Prohibited Health Conditions 5. General provisions 6. Emergency Preparedness 7. Complaints & Reporting 8. Pre-licensing readinessthe state’s words, verbatim · CDSS document, Mar 21, 2024
What the state’s words mean
CDSS citation definitions (PDF) ↗ · CDSS complaint outcomes ↗
Life here
Rooms, meals, the rhythm of a day, faith and language, pets and house rules — as the home describes them. Tap any detail for its source and date; nothing here is graded.
The home has not described daily life anywhere we have reviewed yet — that is the case for most small homes, and it says nothing about the home. These questions fill in the picture; keep the ones that matter to you.
Before you call
Ask every home the same questions — the state’s record does not answer these. Keep the ones that matter and they travel with your saved homes.
- What is included in the monthly rate, and what costs extra?
- Who is awake overnight, and how do residents ask for help?
- Which rooms does the non-ambulatory approval cover, and what transfer support is provided?
- What could change whether someone can stay here?
- Can we see a bedroom and share a meal during a visit?
Other homes nearby
The nearest licensed homes in Kern County, closest first. Every listed home appears on the same terms.
Alondra Home
Bakersfield · Small home · 0.6 mi away
$3,800 a month to start · Listed by the home
Savanna Assisted Living
Bakersfield · Small home · 0.8 mi away
$3,800 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Heritage Living II
Bakersfield · Mid-size home · 1.2 mi away
$3,550 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Devoted Hearts Senior Care Home LLC #2
Bakersfield · Small home · 1.3 mi away
$4,050 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Golden Senior Living
Bakersfield · Small home · 1.3 mi away
$4,150 a month to start · Covelight estimate
Balance Residential Care
Bakersfield · Small home · 1.5 mi away
$3,750 a month to start · Covelight estimate